Society & Culture Addictions

• Thread starter Thread starter Lemma

Water.

I drink atleast 3 litres a day (two 1.5 Litre bottles)

One during the day while I work and the other while I'm home at night.

Close to 5 litres on Saturday when I play cricket...

Might be worth checking your BSL as you could have diabetes or diabetes insipidus?

I was drinking quite a large volume of water about six months ago and was actually really worried I might have diabetes (never had a fear of needles until I started dating my GF who has type 1 diabetes). My BSL was fine and for whatever reason I stopped drinking such excessive amounts of water. Now I only drink over 2.5 litres a day if I'm exercising at a high intensity.

Exercise!

I think about what else I can do, in between footy training, all the time. The days we haven't got training, I find time to do something of a physical nature.
I wish I had that addiction.

I go through phases like chocolate sometimes, but mine would be biting my goddam nails and I guess Internet. If I'm at home I've always got my iPad on me or if I'm out I'm usually checking something on my phone.

Everything I've ever read indicates that by the time you're thirsty you're already dehydrated.

I usually try drink about 2 or 3 litres a day. When I force myself to do that I feel a lot more energetic than if I only drink when thirsty.

Likewise, although I don't force myself to drink it as such.

I work (predominantly) in an office and am not a tea/coffee drinker so I have a glass of water at my desk for 8 hours a day. As soon as it's empty I fill it up and I drink when I want to. Will easily go through at least 1.5-2L in a working day, and I feel a lot better for it.

I didn't want to start a new thread, so I used an oldie, sorry.

I have a question I'd like feedback on. I'm having a bit of a debate with a couple of people, who are actually christians, and quite frankly, I think they're nutcases.

If you have an addiction, be it drugs/alcohol, cigarettes, pr0n, gambling. They seem to think you should remove all possible triggers to the addiction and cut all ties with the addiction. I hold the belief that in doing so you only end up running away from the problem. The only way you can beat the problem is to gain the strength to say no. You can set all the rules in place, all the locks, safeguards. But if you're desperate enough you'll do anything to get what you want.

They would say stuff like

No more going out to the pub, because the temptation is too high to smoke/drink/gamble.
If you have an addiction to pr0n, you should not watch tv/spend anytime on the internet, and one that I couldn't help but laugh at. "you would be best not to go the the gym, perhaps never again", no swimming, no going to the beach.

FFS are these people ******ed. The idea of overcoming an addiction, isn't to lock yourself away in a room, and eliminate every possible trigger. The only way you can conquer them, is to take them on, and beat them.

Any thoughts?

There is certainly at element of facing your addiction to overcome it, but there's something to be said for not putting yourself in a position where it's likely to be too easy to 'break'.

I don't buy weed anymore (well... sometimes I do) because when I have it in the house, I will smoke it every single night.. .without fail... If I managed to go a night without smoking it while it's in the house, I'll think it's some kind of achievement or some shit... which it's not... because I'll be definately rolling a joint the following night....

Cut down heaps in the past couple of months by not buying it. But if I come across it I'll smoke it for sure and not even feel guilty about it. My mates were over from Adelaide two weekends ago.. was blazed the entire weekend, it was fantastic... mostly because come Monday they were gone and I had no access to it again...

The other interesting thing I've been doing of late is trying to lay off alcohol. I've never considered myself to be addicted to booze and always thought it would be easy to not drink if I wanted to. About 6 or so weeks ago I decided to stop drinking for a month... and bloody hell it was harder than I thought. First Friday of my sober month and I cracked after going to the pub with my housemates..... Ended up drinking like 'normal' that weekend..

Come Monday I tried again, got through the week fine, weekend comes and damn, again I'm drinking...

So it started to piss me off, I thought it would be easy.. I didn't think I was addicted.

So after that I did manage to go a full two weeks without drinking at all... that was broken on the weekend I mentioned earlier when my Adelaide friends came to Melbourne... (and as some may have noticed on the main board, a certain Adelaide v Richmond game and a certain goal review :oops:and I was fine with that... and I haven't drank alcohol since then which is now over two weeks again, so that has been good to achieve...

I actually head back to Adelaide this weekend, so no doubt I'll drink and smoke this weekend, but that's fine because I'll give myself that...

This has gotten very long winded and a bit off from what RobbieGray17 was asking... I think dealing with addiction requires a bit of both tactics.. facing it head on, but not exposing yourself to being easily seduced by it....

A week? I had to stop buying those milky bar blocks because I'd eat an entire one within half an hour.

Well maybe in reality I would actually go thru one in 1-2 days (sometimes). But am back off white chocolate atm tho. And will be for the next year or so. Is quite strange...

There is certainly at element of facing your addiction to overcome it, but there's something to be said for not putting yourself in a position where it's likely to be too easy to 'break'.

I don't buy weed anymore (well... sometimes I do) because when I have it in the house, I will smoke it every single night.. .without fail... If I managed to go a night without smoking it while it's in the house, I'll think it's some kind of achievement or some shit... which it's not... because I'll be definately rolling a joint the following night....

Cut down heaps in the past couple of months by not buying it. But if I come across it I'll smoke it for sure and not even feel guilty about it. My mates were over from Adelaide two weekends ago.. was blazed the entire weekend, it was fantastic... mostly because come Monday they were gone and I had no access to it again...

The other interesting thing I've been doing of late is trying to lay off alcohol. I've never considered myself to be addicted to booze and always thought it would be easy to not drink if I wanted to. About 6 or so weeks ago I decided to stop drinking for a month... and bloody hell it was harder than I thought. First Friday of my sober month and I cracked after going to the pub with my housemates..... Ended up drinking like 'normal' that weekend..

Come Monday I tried again, got through the week fine, weekend comes and damn, again I'm drinking...

So it started to piss me off, I thought it would be easy.. I didn't think I was addicted.

So after that I did manage to go a full two weeks without drinking at all... that was broken on the weekend I mentioned earlier when my Adelaide friends came to Melbourne... (and as some may have noticed on the main board, a certain Adelaide v Richmond game and a certain goal review :oops:and I was fine with that... and I haven't drank alcohol since then which is now over two weeks again, so that has been good to achieve...

I actually head back to Adelaide this weekend, so no doubt I'll drink and smoke this weekend, but that's fine because I'll give myself that...

This has gotten very long winded and a bit off from what RobbieGray17 was asking... I think dealing with addiction requires a bit of both tactics.. facing it head on, but not exposing yourself to being easily seduced by it....
Some good points there.

The only area I could look at with some level of experience is pr0n and that kind of stuff (I'd say most guys would watch it or spent some periods watching it and may not admit it), as I have no problems with any of the other areas (alcohol/drugs/gambling etc)

But in that case, if my situation was really really bad I can't see the point in avoiding the things you enjoy doing (Going to the gym/swimming/beach etc) just to avoid some triggering moments. That just leads to isolation, and that makes things worse. If anything, for that particular situation. Getting out as much as possible is better.

Maybe its diff for alcohol/drugs etc, but you still need the strength to say no in the first place.

I think if the addiction is really bad then in the early stages of giving up avoiding triggers is a good idea. You need to give yourself some sort of chance. The classic is smoking, you might avoid going out for beers in th first week or so or hanging out with certain mates for a while.

But once you are on your way, you need to face those triggers, and each time a trigger is conquered you get that much stronger within your qest to kick the habit.

I've been through day rehab, CBT counselling etc to beat my multiple addictions. The Christians you mention are partly correct - if you have an addiction to the pokies, it's best not to go into a hotel that has pokies. If you have an addiction to heroin, it's best not to hang out with mates who do a lot of heroin.

But there's a lot more to it than that. If you're a f**ked up individual carrying a lot of hurt, you'll need some counselling. You have to able to surf the moods when you're jonesing for something.

Best advice I can give is find some interesting, fulfilling and rewarding and non-harmful activities to do to replace the harmful ones. Plan ahead each day so you're not stuck at a loose end. The longer periods you can go with breaking the habit, the easier it gets. It is easy to lapse as well, but don't beat up on yourself and throw all the good work you've done down the shitter. A lapse doesn't have to be a relapse. If you stuff up, seek help and start your good practices again.

It is a long road and I'm still on the cycle of change.

BTW I can't get into the 12 twelve step program. Even though it's not supposed to be about God - a lot of it is about God. Stuff that. CBT all the way for me.

I've been through day rehab, CBT counselling etc to beat my multiple addictions. The Christians you mention are partly correct - if you have an addiction to the pokies, it's best not to go into a hotel that has pokies. If you have an addiction to heroin, it's best not to hang out with mates who do a lot of heroin.

But there's a lot more to it than that. If you're a f**ked up individual carrying a lot of hurt, you'll need some counselling. You have to able to surf the moods when you're jonesing for something.

Best advice I can give is find some interesting, fulfilling and rewarding and non-harmful activities to do to replace the harmful ones. Plan ahead each day so you're not stuck at a loose end. The longer periods you can go with breaking the habit, the easier it gets. It is easy to lapse as well, but don't beat up on yourself and throw all the good work you've done down the shitter. A lapse doesn't have to be a relapse. If you stuff up, seek help and start your good practices again.

It is a long road and I'm still on the cycle of change.

BTW I can't get into the 12 twelve step program. Even though it's not supposed to be about God - a lot of it is about God. Stuff that. CBT all the way for me.

What do you say when those people tell you not to go to the gym anymore then? You know something you love.

I can't understand how going to the gym could be a harmful addiction. It's one of the things I put in place in my life to beat the other addictions. Maybe you could tell them to STFU and mind their own business?