Advice please people

Footscray Football Club
I have a mate who is taking an Essendon jumper to your club this week to get signed and will be framed and auctioned at a fundraiser for a chap who is battling cancer. He claims he can get any signatures, so being Essendon supporters my question to you is who do you consider would be the best signatures to get or who`s signatures would you want on a jumper. Personally my thoughts are either Sheedy`s or Matthew Llyod considering if he has an fairly injury free season, he will definately kick 100 goals in 2003.

Hird or Lloyd would be your first choices as they are probably our 2 biggest Franchise players, but I would be getting as many players (If Not ALL of them) to sign it.

Most players will sign the Jumper....Particularly if they Know the circumstances

Originally posted by dodgey
Hird or Lloyd would be your first choices as they are probably our 2 biggest Franchise players, but I would be getting as many players (If Not ALL of them) to sign it.

Most players will sign the Jumper....Particularly if they Know the circumstances

Thanks for the reply and good point dodgy, might try to get all players to sign if possible.
BTW i have just picked up the jumper which was donated by Sportspower (plug) and it has "three.com.au" all over it. There`s just something different about the jumper apart from the sponsor. This is obviously your major sponsor, is that right?

Get as many as you can, but I've heard James Hird sometimes won't sign things like that - apparently you have to pay. Well, a friend's friend won a jumper to be signed by all the boys, and Hird's management wouldn't allow James to sign it, anyway.

Originally posted by scoreboardend
I have a mate who is taking an Essendon jumper to your club this week to get signed and will be framed and auctioned at a fundraiser for a chap who is battling cancer. He claims he can get any signatures, so being Essendon supporters my question to you is who do you consider would be the best signatures to get or who`s signatures would you want on a jumper. Personally my thoughts are either Sheedy`s or Matthew Llyod considering if he has an fairly injury free season, he will definately kick 100 goals in 2003.

I would try for as many signatures as I could get as well...
Best of luck for the auction.... :)

Re: Re: Advice please people

Originally posted by Pornstar
Are you a graduate from the John the Don School of Apostrophe Typing?

hEy,, heY , hEY, careful big boy.
I would get Damian Cupido`s, would be worth plenty come the end of the season, pure gold that boy.

There`s just something different about the jumper apart from the sponsor.

Well, we switched from Fila to Puma this year. That would probably explain any minute superficial differences in the guernsey itself apart from the sponsor.

That ugly "3" thing is Hutchison telecoms, which owns Orange. So the sponsorship deal didn't change, they just decided to go up the corporate hierarchy and plaster the head company logo on it.

Originally posted by Stealth bomber
Well, we switched from Fila to Puma this year. That would probably explain any minute superficial differences in the guernsey itself apart from the sponsor.

That ugly "3" thing is Hutchison telecoms, which owns Orange. So the sponsorship deal didn't change, they just decided to go up the corporate hierarchy and plaster the head company logo on it.

Thanks for the advice guys & gals on the signatures. The jumper will be given to Mercuri today apparently who is a pretty good mate of the guy i dropped the jumper off to, and he reckons Mercuri said to get Sheedy and Hirds signatures.

That "3" looks strange on the front and when i laid the jumper flat, the sash seems to be more curved than normal.

Anyway thanks again and good luck for season. (look no apostrophe`s Pornstar, oh bugger). :D

Just thought i would let you know that i had the jumper back within a week with Sheedy, Hird and Lloyd`s signatures which was fantastic (we already have 2 bids for it). We also received a magnificent 1999 premiership team frame, signed by all players which will be auctioned on the day as well. All i can say is well done Essendon footy club, we are very appreciative and all money raised on the day will go entirely the chap battling cancer, a fantastic gesture.

That is such fantastic news :)

All the best of luck with everything especially for the guy having to battle cancer, I wish him all the best.

The EFC and Sheedy, Hirdy and Lloyd etc are tops!, they would do their very best for anyone who needs help.

Us Bomber fans have the best club! :D ;)

We also received a magnificent 1999 premiership team frame, signed by all players which will be auctioned on the day as well.
Pretty good effort, considering North won the flag that year. :confused: :(

Originally posted by Grogette
The EFC and Sheedy, Hirdy and Lloyd etc are tops!, they would do their very best for anyone who needs help.

Us Bomber fans have the best club! :D ;)
There was a story on the official club site recently about a boy suffering a rare genetic disorder who the club invited to meet the players and be in the team photo. I thought that was really nice and they mentioned there is a fund to help get the boy treatment he needs in America, so i donated some money. I think it is great that they help the needy and unfortunate.

Originally posted by Clackers69
Pretty good effort, considering North won the flag that year. :confused: :(

Ahh make that 2000, anyway very impressed with Essendon FC.

BTW for the day we have, wait for it, a Collingwood jumper signed by last years team (worth nothing IMO) but Collingwood supporters might think is worth something we hope and a Doug Hawkins record breaking 329 games Footscray jumper signed by the great man himself (priceless IMO) :D as well as boxing gloves signed by Lionel Rose, Lester Ellis, Barry Michael, and many other items for auction or raffle, all of which were donated.

Ahh make that 2000, anyway very impressed with Essendon FC.

BTW for the day we have, wait for it, a Collingwood jumper signed by last years team (worth nothing IMO) but Collingwood supporters might think is worth something we hope and a Doug Hawkins record breaking 329 games Footscray jumper signed by the great man himself (priceless IMO) :D as well as boxing gloves signed by Lionel Rose, Lester Ellis, Barry Michael, and many other items for auction or raffle, all of which were donated.
Ahh 2000 - that's better....what a great year. ;)

Some pretty good stuff there and quite a variety. Hopefully you'll raise a **** load of cash. Where's this auction taking place. You post an address or a URL (if over the 'net) in case some of the BF people want to get along and put a bid in. You may get a few and it may help bump up the price, if they are keen on their memorabilia.

Originally posted by Clackers69
Some pretty good stuff there and quite a variety. Hopefully you'll raise a **** load of cash. Where's this auction taking place.

The fundraiser is on this Sunday 23rd Feb. at the Newport Cricket Club, at Brian "skinny" Martyn Reserve in Market Street Newport for Williamstown legend Alex "nasty Al" Stevenson.
The cost is $ 25- entry with free beer, soft drinks, half price spirits and free barbeque lunch supplied between 2pm & 4pm including a 100 can door prize. We could not get the jumpers framed in time for Sunday which is a shame but still expect some interest. Cheers.

Great stuff and good luck with it all. A I said, hope you raise heaps of cash.

You should go to City Mirrors (Elizabeth Street City - don't know the number) and you might be able to pick up a few frames at a reasonable price that will do the trick. I go there when I want to buy frames for memorabilia / photos that I want to display (have never framed a jumper, though, so don't know if a "special" frame is required). The prices are pretty reasonalbe even for decent sized frames. And they usually have a few in stock.

May not be as professional as you could do with more time, but may be worth a visit, you never know what you might be able to pick up.

The day was a great success raising just under $10,000. The Collingwood jumper signed by all current players fetched $850 and the Essendon jumper signed by Sheedy, Hird and Lloyd got $ 1,000 both were unframed and the Essendon team frame got $550.

If you want something signed go down to the club and explain the circumstances im sure they will be happy to get the players to sign the jumper.

Good luck with it i hope you get all the players to sign the guernsey.