Opinion AFL 2025 Round 15 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

Only one more bye round to go and then we’re into the really pointy end of the season folks! First we’ve got Round 15 to deal with. Let’s go wrapping…

Freo v Bombers, Thursday night: It’s an almighty struggle for the undermanned Dons at the moment. Thought they actually battled gamely in patches during this one, but they just didn’t have the cattle to stick with the Dockers for four quarters. Meanwhile Freo are riding the crest of a wave… that’s five wins on the trot now, two of which were away wins against strong opposition. I’m not completely sold yet but they’re trending upwards for sure.

Cats v Lions, Friday night: The Cats looked like a team coming off a soft win, while the Lions looked incredible! Great side to watch when they’re in that mood. Been saying it for a while, their best footy is better than anyone’s. Geelong barely had a fluent passage of play all night; Brisbane had dozens of them. Look out everyone if the Lions can find this level more consistently in the run home. Too good.

1750579194779.jpeg

Blues v North, Saturday arvo: Oh boy, all manner of pressure is going to heap down on Michael Voss this week. The Blues began brightly enough, then started to unravel, then the stuffing came out of them, then the bottom fell out altogether. Bravo North though; they’d have been forgiven for dropping their own bundle after a few very tight finishes that didn’t go their way. This time they weathered the early storm then looked brilliant in setting up the win during the middle two quarters.

Port v Swans, Saturday twilight: Port’s average losing margin in 2025 is about 18 goals (don’t check the stats, just trust me) and they would have lost this by something similar if not for the wayward Swans. Instead the game turned into an ugly snooze fest where Port never quite looked like winning but Sydney never quite looked like putting them away. The Swans have their best side on the park for a while now though - doubt they’ll make finals but they can make life uncomfortable for a few contenders in the run home.

Pies v Saints, Saturday night: St Kilda never gave up in this one, yet they still lost by more than 5 goals. To be fair that was down to how good the Pies were rather than how bad the Saints were. They were actually very good in patches, and this was a bright performance after a bad loss last week. Meanwhile the Magpies have a mortgage on the minor premiership now, and look set for a deep September campaign. Please somebody stop them. Please.

1750579339754.jpeg

Giants v Suns, Sunday arvo: Full confession, when the Giants were 5 goals behind early (with Whitfield out concussed let’s not forget) I thought it was going to be one of those games where they just couldn’t get the tsunami going all afternoon and they’d splutter to an unthreatening loss. I was WRONG. This turned into one of the games of the year! As tempting as it is to say the Suns choked up another away game, they were pretty darn good for most of the day and even when they fell behind in the last term they hung around. Also, can we get some love for Tom Green and Matty Rowell?? A lazy 28 clearances between those two weapons. Amazing.

Dogs v Tigers, Sunday twilight: The Dogs have destroyed St Kilda (twice), Port, Essendon, and now Richmond this year. I get in trouble whenever I use the term “downhill ski” with them, and yeah ok, credit for taking their opportunities and boosting percentage against sides they should be smashing. Still, the jury is out until they produce a signature win against one of the big boys. They’ve got all the ingredients, so I’d love to see them do it and really put their own name forward as one of the contenders.

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 15!

Liked:

Controversy free weekend of footy. Little in the way of MRO action. Good scoring and some good football.

Learnt:

The Carlton brainwashing goes all the way to the top... of this site. The Big Kahuna, The Grand Poobah - Big chief asserting that Curnow if he got better assistance from the umps would win multiple Coleman's. He's already a Lloyd-esque protected species as it is. Getting tiggy touch free kicks befitting his figjam strut.

hated:

Nothing. Even the weather was decent for footy this weekend.

LIKED: Darcy Moore playing like his old self again, Blues losing to North, GWS+Gold Coast game was a cracker
LEARNT: Sam Darcy is the next superstar power key forward , Essendon and Port have major forward line/scoring concerns , GWS are a genuine premiership threat
HATED: Patrick Dangerfield starting to show signs of father time catching up, umpiring is at an all-time low despite Dillion's insistence its "the best it's ever been" , Fremantle-Essendon was a shocking game

Liked
Cadman putting in back to back strong performances, starting to show signs after a limp start to his career.

Learnt
Brisbane are in cruise control, flag is theirs to lose.

Hated
Commentators frothing over Patrick Voss 1 goal 2 mark game like Essendon delisted a superstar. Meanwhile, at the other end a random guy we picked up in the mid season draft in his 2nd game in an average size kicked 2 and had 6 marks (Archer May). Commentators and journos are idiots.

Liked
Cadman putting in back to back strong performances, starting to show signs after a limp start to his career.

Learnt
Brisbane are in cruise control, flag is theirs to lose.

Hated
Commentators frothing over Patrick Voss 1 goal 2 mark game like Essendon delisted a superstar. Meanwhile, at the other end a random guy we picked up in the mid season draft in his 2nd game in an average size kicked 2 and had 6 marks (Archer May). Commentators and journos are idiots.
Brisbane will struggle without Payne

Liked: Nothing! Losing is not an option at any time.

Learnt: Cats need to get Bowes back in the side and also play Stevens! Geelong have lost a lot of their invincibility at the former fortress since the new stand was built. IMO their style of play doesn't suit the ground at all.

Hated: Maybe the Blue shorts are a jinx? The Gold Coast Eagles, Thursday night footy from Perth...U
mpiring as usual.

The Catters can't play the Lions. Still a level below them.

Gold Coast are in a slump. The Giants may be back.

Dogs smashed the Tiges as expected.

Brisbane will struggle without Payne
Starcevich is back . and he's twice as good. Up front is an issue with Charlie out of Form.

Liked : Brissie getting a win at Geelong after a couple of decades of trying

Learnt : The Bombers and Blues really are struggling . and the Roo's are on the improve for sure.

Hated : The GC Sun's getting a Darwin Hangover is a reality.

Bowes will not move the needle whatsoever. Bringing in two slow players like he and Stevens would be a negative on team balance.
B graders.

Duncan needs to come out of the team. His time has come and gone and if he's still in our best 22, we have bigger issues than previously thought.
Well, i was going to say we're not anywhere near the Lions or Pies, i can't see us getting closer if that's the case if their too slow. We've fallen behind the Dogs and are probably only on a par with The Hawks. Geelong will most likely finish somewhere between 3rd and 6th. They won't beat the Pies again and will not get close to the Lions either.

Liked - Sam Davidson is putting together a great first season

Learnt - Sydney and North Melbourne are set to play spoilers for finals contenders - beware Bulldogs this week & next

Hated - Sam Darcy not getting a fair go - gets held at almost every contest (Balta had him in a bear hug at times), yet the umpires just ignore it.

Well, i was going to say we're not anywhere near the Lions or Pies, i can't see us getting closer if that's the case if their too slow. We've fallen behind the Dogs and are probably only on a par with The Hawks. Geelong will most likely finish somewhere between 3rd and 6th. They won't beat the Pies again and will not get close to the Lions either.
To finish 6th Geelong will likely have to go 4-4 from here.

3rd-4th is likely. 6th is fanciful from you Jack.

Finals are a brand new ballgame. We won't learn much more about Geelong until then.

Definitely learnt that Brissie are actually the only team in the league with that extra gear. Only one game but I think there’s a little bit of mental damage there now for the Cats against them, Pies the obvious main challenger but Brissies best is a level above.

Cats still in the picture, more than capable with their finals experience of taking advantage of an oppo’s bad day.

Liked putting a line through that Kardinia hoodoo (and helping make all those commentariat pre prepared lines eulogising Clanger's game/life/career/inevitable destiny redundant)

Learned we still have it and hope we can do it when it matters

Hated that we have the bye next week (although it is great for the team so I will get over it!)

Liked:
GWS/Gold Coast game was great
Five in a row for Freo!

Learned:
There’s a lot of fight in a lot of teams still. Even if they aren’t contenting for finals, or on the cusp there is at least a lot of competitive outfits. Most games are not going to be easy

Hated:
The 15 metre rule is out of control. When in doubt there needs to be a default call to be made.

When in doubt call it not 15. End of.

Opinion AFL 2025 Round 15 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated