Opinion AFL 2025 Round 16 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

Things are heating up! The last of the multi bye rounds has been and gone, and now it's time for the run home to finals. Let's go wrapping...

Port v Blues, Thursday night: Horrendous. Ghastly. Harrowing. Inexplicable. No, these aren't words I'm using to describe the Blues. They are in fact just a few of the words that I've used to describe Port Adelaide throughout the year. Now let's reflect for a moment on JUST HOW ABYSMAL YOU HAVE TO BE TO BE WORSE THAN THAT. And they didn't just lose... oh no, that's far too kind a description. They were 12 goals down at one point. Another Thursday Night Footy fizzer from the AFL.

Swans v Dogs, Friday night: The footy media loves a good negative story, which means the headlines were all about the sand dune of a playing surface in this game (and rightly so). It's still a pity though, because the attention should have been on a great game of footy, Bont's 250th, Mini Bont's classy four goals and a great away win for the Bulldogs. This is an unpopular confession as a Swans supporter, but I have a soft spot for the Dogs. They're capable of going on a tear now with a bag of games coming up at Marvel, and I'm kind of glad we didn't ruin that since we have virtually nothing to play for ourselves.

1751174020415.jpeg

Suns v Demons, Saturday arvo: The Dees must have thought this was a continuation of their bye because they didn't turn up until it was too late. They looked like they had concrete in the legs and cobwebs between the ears in the first term, and were 6 goals down before the Gold Coast crowd had even taken their seats. Having got themselves back in the game at half time, they then went back into a state of languor in the third term before rattling home in the last quarter to only go down by 19 points. Puzzling footy team.

Hawks v Roos, Saturday twilight: We thought North were heading in the right direction after a great win last week. Turns out that win was only against Carlton and the form was an utterly false commodity. The Launceston Hawks ran rings around them all afternoon. I was going to say that Jack Gunston turned back the clock, but I swear even in the Hawthorn heyday he was never 7 goals good! Ageing like a marvellous brown and gold coloured wine.

Pies v Eagles, Saturday night: The Pies just keep trucking along. They weren't trying very hard early were given a decent scare in the first half but kept the Eagles at arm's length after that. Credit to 38,000 people for turning up on a winter's night, to a ground that most of them hate, and to see a result that was all but a foregone conclusion. Some other teams would kill for that sort of committed supporter base.

1751174045468.jpeg

Tigers v Crows, Sunday arvo: Another powerful performance from a hot footy team. Sure they were playing against a rebuilding side, but waltzing into Melbourne and plundering an 11 goal win at the home of football is never something to be sneezed at. They've got some good teams yapping at their heels but they're in the race for a top 4 spot up to their eyeballs. As for this game itself, the biggest thing to come out of it will be the impending tribunal case for Tom Lynch. No prizes for guessing what a lot of people's 'hated' will be this week.

Dockers v Saints, Sunday twilight: The Ross Lyon homecoming game! Pretty much every side has figured out how to dismantle his 2008-vintage game plan. Somehow the Dockers nearly fell to it for the second time in a row. There were some mature signs with the way they picked up their bundle and got the job done in the final term though; they certainly didn't do that in Round 8. Six wins on the trot now, and sneaking up on a few I reckon.

Don't forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below... along with any other thoughts you had about Round 16!

Liked: The endless weeks of byes are over. 1-2 weeks maximum next year thanks AFL.

Learnt: Critical mass of Vic teams not being good makes crowds very poor. Poor v Interstate and poor among themselves.
Carlton, Richmond, Essendon, NM, St.K and Melbourne all being degrees of poor may be good for the nationalised game but Melbourne crowds end up being poor.

Hated: Tom Lynch. Enough said.

Liked:
The Eagles' effort
Tauru looks a star already
Swans-Dogs was a great clash
More % - given the logjam between 2nd-9th, this is what could easily get us top 4
Curtin realising his talent. First of many B.O.G performances to come (hopefully)

Learnt:
Not much tbh

Hated:
The staggered bye rounds. Honestly, give me a week off of footy mid-season instead like they do in the ammos leagues. It's going back a while, but they did this in 2003.
Lynch thugging it up again.
North's "effort". These thumpings should really be behind them now.

Things are heating up! The last of the multi bye rounds has been and gone, and now it's time for the run home to finals. Let's go wrapping...

Port v Blues, Thursday night: Horrendous. Ghastly. Harrowing. Inexplicable. No, these aren't words I'm using to describe the Blues. They are in fact just a few of the words that I've used to describe Port Adelaide throughout the year. Now let's reflect for a moment on JUST HOW ABYSMAL YOU HAVE TO BE TO BE WORSE THAN THAT. And they didn't just lose... oh no, that's far too kind a description. They were 12 goals down at one point. Another Thursday Night Footy fizzer from the AFL.

Swans v Dogs, Friday night: The footy media loves a good negative story, which means the headlines were all about the sand dune of a playing surface in this game (and rightly so). It's still a pity though, because the attention should have been on a great game of footy, Bont's 250th, Mini Bont's classy four goals and a great away win for the Bulldogs. This is an unpopular confession as a Swans supporter, but I have a soft spot for the Dogs. They're capable of going on a tear now with a bag of games coming up at Marvel, and I'm kind of glad we didn't ruin that since we have virtually nothing to play for ourselves.

View attachment 2355049

Suns v Demons, Saturday arvo: The Dees must have thought this was a continuation of their bye because they didn't turn up until it was too late. They looked like they had concrete in the legs and cobwebs between the ears in the first term, and were 6 goals down before the Gold Coast crowd had even taken their seats. Having got themselves back in the game at half time, they then went back into a state of languor in the third term before rattling home in the last quarter to only go down by 19 points. Puzzling footy team.

Hawks v Roos, Saturday twilight: We thought North were heading in the right direction after a great win last week. Turns out that win was only against Carlton and the form was an utterly false commodity. The Launceston Hawks ran rings around them all afternoon. I was going to say that Jack Gunston turned back the clock, but I swear even in the Hawthorn heyday he was never 7 goals good! Ageing like a marvellous brown and gold coloured wine.

Pies v Eagles, Saturday night: The Pies just keep trucking along. They weren't trying very hard early were given a decent scare in the first half but kept the Eagles at arm's length after that. Credit to 38,000 people for turning up on a winter's night, to a ground that most of them hate, and to see a result that was all but a foregone conclusion. Some other teams would kill for that sort of committed supporter base.

View attachment 2355050

Tigers v Crows, Sunday arvo: Another powerful performance from a hot footy team. Sure they were playing against a rebuilding side, but waltzing into Melbourne and plundering an 11 goal win at the home of football is never something to be sneezed at. They've got some good teams yapping at their heels but they're in the race for a top 4 spot up to their eyeballs. As for this game itself, the biggest thing to come out of it will be the impending tribunal case for Tom Lynch. No prizes for guessing what a lot of people's 'hated' will be this week.

Dockers v Saints, Sunday twilight: The Ross Lyon homecoming game! Pretty much every side has figured out how to dismantle his 2008-vintage game plan. Somehow the Dockers nearly fell to it for the second time in a row. There were some mature signs with the way they picked up their bundle and got the job done in the final term though; they certainly didn't do that in Round 8. Six wins on the trot now, and sneaking up on a few I reckon.

Don't forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below... along with any other thoughts you had about Round 16!

lol the Eagles get crowds over 42k every home game..and we are dead last

Liked: The endless weeks of byes are over. 1-2 weeks maximum next year thanks AFL.

Learnt: Critical mass of Vic teams not being good makes crowds very poor. Poor v Interstate and poor among themselves.
Carlton, Richmond, Essendon, NM, St.K and Melbourne all being degrees of poor may be good for the nationalised game but Melbourne crowds end up being poor.

Lumping Carlton/Essendon crowds with the others there is quite humorous. Only 4.5K average difference between Carlton and Collingwood this year despite the Blues splitting home games at Marvel and the G as well as winning 7 fewer games.

lol the Eagles get crowds over 42k every home game..and we are dead last
Did the Eagles have a home game this week? Huh. Well maybe that’s why I didn’t mention their home crowd.

I said “some” other teams would kill for that sort of fan base, didn’t say all. Congrats to the Eagles for getting that many each week, albeit in a two team town.

Did the Eagles have a home game this week? Huh. Well maybe that’s why I didn’t mention their home crowd.

I said “some” other teams would kill for that sort of fan base, didn’t say all. Congrats to the Eagles for getting that many each week, albeit in a two team town.
You basically congratulated the Collingwood supporters for turning up to a game they were going to win. And 38k on a Sat night, under a roof, when you have a membership of 110k, is pretty piss poor tbh.

Liked a win. Sean Darcy 41 hit outs against good opposition.
Jordan Clark and Luke Jackson great with the big Kahuna kicking snags and tackling well.

Learnt that a week is a long time in football. Will the real North stand up?

Hated over officious and over officiated games. It’s telling when several players turn when the whistle goes and no one knows whose it is. One Bill Dellar, Glen James or Rowan Sawers is better than the cast of thousands of green turkeys who still can’t get calls right.

Liked: The BYES are over, the AFL must fix the opening round and BYE fiascos.

Learnt: Not really a big learning week.

Hated: No game of interest for me this week, the Gold Coast guernsey has to be the worst football strip i have ever seen, what unimaginative bozo came up with the all RED idea? The SCG surface.

You basically congratulated the Collingwood supporters for turning up to a game they were going to win. And 38k on a Sat night, under a roof, when you have a membership of 110k, is pretty piss poor tbh.
Lol on what planet is 38,000 to a game against a struggling interstate opponent “piss poor”? 😂 Plenty of Victorian clubs draw extremely poorly against interstate opponents; Collingwood love them or hate them buck the trend. Richmond, albeit at the opposite end of the ladder, only managed 23,000 to the MCG on the same weekend.

Credit where it’s due for goodness sake.

Liked: The BYES are over, the AFL must fix the opening round and BYE fiascos.

Learnt: Not really a big learning week.

Hated: No game of interest for me this week, the Gold Coast guernsey has to be the worst football strip i have ever seen, what unimaginative bozo came up with the all RED idea?
The GC marketing team seem to have taken over their geurnsey design. What, our colours are red, yellow and light blue?

Nah, we’ll just make them in all different colours so we can sell more. Doesn’t matter if they look like another team, no one cares anyway.

liked- The suns get closer to a finals appearance.
*dogs v Sydney was a cracker of a game

learnt- Crows are a shot at going deep in September

hate- Voss cops it, while Goody seems to go under the radar- Dees 1st quarter effort was just woeful

The GC marketing team seem to have taken over their geurnsey design. What, our colours are red, yellow and light blue?

Nah, we’ll just make them in all different colours so we can sell more. Doesn’t matter if they look like another team, no one cares anyway.
I wonder what identity Gold Coast are trying to create? I don't know why they didn't go with a tri colour of Green for the land, White for the sand and Blue for the water, but all RED is horrible! I have no interest in them anyway, i rarely watch any of their games.

LIKED Tauru deserves rising star nomination
LEARNT - we managed to overcome our “Kryptonite” Ross
HATED. - seeing the SCG surface, hope we escape with no injuries

I wonder what identity Gold Coast are trying to create? I don't know why they didn't go with a tri colour of Green for the land, White for the sand and Blue for the water, but all RED is horrible! I have no interest in them anyway, i rarely watch any of their games.
It was still better than their effort the other week that was like a Temu version of the WCE guernsey. I asked my wife, who is only semi-interested in football what team she thought was playing and she guessed West Coast straight away.

Loved Chols goal from the boundary, a fair way out too. When Chols on he is nearly perfect.
Gunner what can I say, champion.
Was disappointed disliking, how St Kilda failed to keep going against Freo with a 14 or 15 point lead
going onto the last quarter. Freo hit their straps and broke the lead in about 5 minutes. Saints tried but looked out classed lost. Like Carlton.
It brings me once again having a look at Carlton , North, Richmond? WCE put up a good fight but then faded.

My beef is I reckon the Saints could go another 60 years without a flag.
And many others with them.

It is so hard anyway to get to the top and finals, let alone reach the GF then win it.
Many clubs try and never do it. The Saints have had chances , but hell even the side that beat them yesterday, could be a long way off.
Even two thirds through the season, looking good, they will make the finals I would think.
But winning the lot is a whole different ball game.

Tasmania as said , should have been introduced 20 years ago.

Now the dilution will expand to harder.
And looking at some of these clubs and so-called elite triers, well for me, we got two divisions.

No one seems game enough to have a comment on that.

Our game is so hard to play full stop, and adapt to just junior leagues.

But AFL senior level, with a small population some of these guys don't stand up.

And what I did really dislike was the fact that I thought Carlton looked disinterested, and the skipper looked like his enthusiasm was a put on.

Some of them don't care. No names but just one little congratulation back pat, from one little piece of success with Carlton, I saw some false looking half baked smiles.

Vossy has got players with no purpose.

I have no idea what they can do, but coach sacking is a nonsense. Something wrong is bigger.

Too many Bic teams.

Opinion AFL 2025 Round 16 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated