Opinion AFL 2025 Round 18 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated

A round that had a bunch of finals-shaping games, mixed in with a few dead rubbers. It resulted in a logjam on the ladder, with only a game now separating fourth from ninth! Let’s go wrapping Round 18…

Blues v Lions, Thursday night: Just a miserable, miserable season for long suffering Blues fans. I honestly don’t think the team lacks effort, they just have no chemistry or ability to get a fluent passage of play going. Says a bit about the personnel and a lot about the coaching. Anyway, they did their best but were no match for a Lions side that I still reckon is the best in the business when their game is up and going.

Suns v Pies, Friday night: Not sure how switched on the Magpies were in the first half when they gave up a seven goal lead, although to be fair the Suns looked darn good. It was a different story after half time when the Pies were stung into action and nearly pulled off another crazy comeback. A big win for Gold Coast’s credentials but I don’t think Collingwood fans will have lost much confidence that they can win a potential rematch later in the year.

1752399042229.jpeg

Dogs v Crows, Saturday arvo: A finals shaping matchup that turned into a real shoot out! The margin was close in the end but it masks the fact that the Crows controlled this for most of the afternoon, while the Dogs fell short again against a top 8 opponent. I’ll put my hand up and say I thought they were primed to threaten, but that back six and midfield have a few holes. No such problems for the Crows; the sky’s the limit for them.

Giants v Cats, Saturday twilight: The Cats traveled to Giants Stadium for the first time in half a decade, to play a side they can’t even beat in Geelong! They started brightly enough in the first term but the orange team smoked them after that. Aaron Cadman is coming of age before our eyes.

Tigers v Bombers, Saturday night: The close finish saved this one… haha who am I kidding, NO IT DIDN’T. This game was absolute vomit. From quarter time to three quarter time there was one goal kicked. One. Hope the crowd was paid to watch that trash. Up there with the worst games you’ll ever see.

Dockers v Hawks, Saturday night: Fair play to the Dockers. Numerous times this year they’ve had a flaky feel to them, but this game was the definition of must-win and they stood up magnificently. They weathered the finals-like Hawthorn pressure for three quarters and then grabbed their chance in the fourth for a come-from-behind win. No point making finals if you can’t stand up when needed in a big game. They passed that test in spades.

1752399064718.jpeg

Demons v North, Sunday arvo: After 5 losses in a row, the Demons needed a win for some morale if nothing else. Lucky for them they’ve got Jake Melksham Tony Lockett in their forward line. He’s looked like a 100 goal forward the last two weeks.

Saints v Swans, Sunday arvo: Pretty entertaining affair for a game between two sides that are a long way out of it. Pulsating end-to-end stuff all afternoon with a bunch of momentum swings and lead changes. Effect on the finals race though? Zilch.

Port v Eagles, Sunday twilight: Dead rubber Sunday concluded with a game in which the Eagles gave a decent account of themselves, but the home side pulled clear in the last term. Didn’t watch this, so I’ve got no idea if anything happened. Tell me in the comments if I missed something good.

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 18!

what I liked

Crows win over dogs
Swans keeping season alive and winning close one against saints.
Dockers beating hawks
Gold Coast win over pies, and Pies comeback
Eagles had a dip.

what I didn't like
mostly the trash sides
Xerri knocking Sparrow out.
injuries - Setterfield, Martin and maybe Hobbs all done for the year.

Liked: The Pies losing was the only consolation

Learnt: My Cats are not good enough by a long way, they will win a few cheap games in the next 6 weeks to make finals, but won't go far against any of the good teams in September.

Hated: Finally wear blue shorts and completely play like the blue teletubbie!
Essendon v Richmond might be the worst game of football in AFL history!

The Bard does Hated on behalf of the Hawks. Actually let’s call it a lament.

Oh Sweet Weddle. Wherefore art thou?

We do yearn for thy run. We do yearn for thy carry. We do pine for thy mullet’s flowing locks. From the game’s first breath until the sounding of the final trumpet blast.

As surely as Day doth break (prithee tempt me not into discourse upon how lightly young Will Day doth shatter as well - another sorrow upon our benighted house) we cannot, in sooth, advance in this year’s finals whilst thou art yet absent.

Richard the Third in his final Josh Battle cried in despair ‘My Kingdom for a Horse!’ Equally doth Hawthorn plead for equine deliverance this finals season in the form of a unicorn named Weddle.

Liked: Fremantle has to be the flag favourites now; I can't see them losing another game. Suns win was epic, The mighty Swans beating Saints was immense.

Disliked: Xerri being a brute, deserves a lifetime ban!

Mark Ricciuto is a biased inbred flog

that is all

Liked:

Suns finally might be coming of age
Crows recruiting of recent years. Thilthorpe, Rachele and Curtin all have the makings of a great core group for the next decade.

Learned:

I should not be a recruiter. I had reservations about drafting Thilthorpe and, to a lesser degree, Curtin as I didn’t believe the hype around them. I’m a believer now.

Hated:

The scheduling. How Carlton, Essendon and Richmond keep getting prime time games while being as putrid as they are beggars belief!
Richmond v Essendon. Barely amateur standard.

Liked:
Our best win in years - on the road against a talented side. I'm finally starting to believe.
Eagles having a crack given the side they put out. The question is, why can't they perform like this at home? An effort like tonight's would've seen a win against Carlton and should beat Richmond next week.
Freo coming back and winning against a decent opponent - very unlike them.
I started having some doubts about Cadman, but he's starting to realise his potential and show why he was a #1 pick.

Learnt:
The Suns might have finally grown up
Curtin is putting his hand up for a late surge at the Rising Star

Hated:
What's the point of having a floating fixture when shit teams like Carlton and Essendon are getting prime time slots?
Sparrow's injury.
Martin's ACL.
Richmond-Essendon. It was never going to a game for the ages, but that was an abomination, and frankly an embarrassment. Thankfully, Freo-Hawks was a decent contest to tune into instead.

Liked: St. Kilda has many good kids.

Learnt: Hawthorn is overrated

Hated: Essendon and Carlton continually on thurs/fri when suns & pies proved you just need the better teams for a good game

Mark Ricciuto is a biased inbred flog

that is all
Tone suggests this is not a 'like'

Somehow doubt this is a new revelation for you so probably not a 'learned'

So going with 'hated'! 😎

I can’t get my head around how many neutral supporters watched the tigers v bombers game. Get a life.
It was on at the pub in the background. The sound wasn't on, and I glanced occasionally, but I got the gist of it.

images

liked- *great round, many top teams dropped the points
* Suns holding on for the big win- cracking finish to the game

learnt- Adelaide are the real deal with that monster Thilthorpe quickly turning into a superstar.

hated- Dan Butler and that elbow
* having Carlton again on a stand alone thur night- enough already!

Liked: The Tigers/Bombers game...

Learnt: Sicily has become a liability down back & We lack spark without Weedle and class without Will Day.

Hated: Not Much...

liked: Cadman’s second half, the nonvics getting up, Garry Lyon copping the Essendon-Richmond game, the Liam Baker goal (hurt my elbow cheering that), the Whitfield YNWA

learned: Willie Rioli fan but conspicuously didn’t look matchday fit, Bailey Williams as a link/kick-in target got exposed a bit sideways in marking contests, Taj Hotton looks fun, we need a fix-it-Gerard on deliberate contact with the players head on ground post-tackle (always a bad look and saw a couple instances on the weekend), the Eagles Q1 short kick game was something audaciously new that Port weren’t expecting

hated: derwayne flubbing the call of the Gulden winner (Heeney!)

liked: Cadman’s second half, the nonvics getting up, Garry Lyon copping the Essendon-Richmond game, the Liam Baker goal (hurt my elbow cheering that), the Whitfield YNWA

learned: Willie Rioli fan but conspicuously didn’t look matchday fit, Bailey Williams as a link/kick-in target got exposed a bit sideways in marking contests, Taj Hotton looks fun, we need a fix-it-Gerard on deliberate contact with the players head on ground post-tackle (always a bad look and saw a couple instances on the weekend), the Eagles Q1 short kick game was something audaciously new that Port weren’t expecting

hated: derwayne flubbing the call of the Gulden winner (Heeney!)
Indeed …. Htf does he as a swans man mistake I Zucchini for Errol

Opinion AFL 2025 Round 18 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated