Zevon
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Sydney
- Other Teams
- Royals FC, West Indies
- Staff
Footy was back (for real this time) with nine games that all had something worth talking about. Early in the round the sense was that a non-round zero side had no hope of beating one that already had a game under its belt, but then the Crows and Demons entered the chat! Let’s wrap…
Blues v Tigers, Thursday night: One of those rare games where the losing team’s supporters probably went home happier than the winners. This was alarmingly similar to the same fixture last year, but this time the Blues held on. They seem to have one too many players that go missing when things get hard, and they’re going to need to do something - quickly - about those second halves. Still, a win’s a win I guess.
Bombers v Hawks, Friday night: This looked every bit like a game between a finals-quality side that had a hitout last week, versus a developing one that was underdone even by round one standards. The 62-point margin flattered the Bombers if anything; it was apparent from a long way out that they were nowhere near it. Strong win for Hawthorn but that midfield still looks a little thin to me.
Dogs v Giants, Saturday arvo: The Giants don’t beat the Dogs at the best of times, so with a bevy of senior players missing it was no surprise that they were never in this. Still, you have to question the merits of letting Marcus Bontempelli
run round doing as he pleased - a hard man to stop, but surely you have to try? He ripped GWS to shreds, and that made an already difficult assignment impossible. Sky’s the limit for the Bulldogs now. Could be anything.
Cats v Dockers, Saturday twilight: Never write off the Cats, and never put your trust in the Dockers. The (latest) one that got away for Fremantle, who looked to be absolutely running away with it early. I stopped watching this game for a quarter and when I came back EVERYTHING had changed. Games at the Cattery are like minding a toddler on red cordial… don’t turn your back on them for a second.
Swans v Lions, Saturday night: The Swans set up a big early lead and then cruised for the remainder of the evening. Not sure what else we can really read into this one; the Lions had too many key pieces missing and would have been vulnerable against most sides. Looks like the early bye has come along at just the right time. The win might have come at a cost for Sydney with a couple of key injuries of their own too.
Pies v Crows, Saturday night: The impressive Crows put their hands up and said don’t forget about us! They did finish the home and away season in top spot last year, and they played right up to it in an excellent away win. Jury still well and truly out on the Pies - their A-graders are outstanding but their bottom few are names you’d barely recognise. Wouldn’t want this to be the year that father time finally catches up with Sidebottom and Pendles either.
North v Port, Sunday arvo: Were North really good or were Port really really bad? Bit of both I fancy. North’s talent-laden kids look to be hitting their straps, amply supported by some of their more experienced brigade. Not a bad mix. Great chance to be 3-0 or even 4-0 looking at their next few opponents. Port are also likely to win their next few and paper over the cracks, but there are cracks aplenty I reckon.
Demons v Saints, Sunday arvo: Some ripping goals, mark of the year, a million lead changes, a key forward with 5 goals before half time, and an exciting debut from a cousin-of-a-gun… this game had a bit of everything. Plenty of errors too, but overall it was great to watch. Serious alarm bells for the highly-touted Saints now at 0-2 (sack the coach for goodness sake), but genuinely positive signs for the Dees with an exciting new brand of footy.
Suns v Eagles, Sunday night: This was slightly less ugly than expected. As close as you might get to a respectable margin given the gulf between these two sides. I’m still struggling to detect any obvious change in game plan from the Eagles though. That’s a worry.
Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 1!
Blues v Tigers, Thursday night: One of those rare games where the losing team’s supporters probably went home happier than the winners. This was alarmingly similar to the same fixture last year, but this time the Blues held on. They seem to have one too many players that go missing when things get hard, and they’re going to need to do something - quickly - about those second halves. Still, a win’s a win I guess.
Bombers v Hawks, Friday night: This looked every bit like a game between a finals-quality side that had a hitout last week, versus a developing one that was underdone even by round one standards. The 62-point margin flattered the Bombers if anything; it was apparent from a long way out that they were nowhere near it. Strong win for Hawthorn but that midfield still looks a little thin to me.
Dogs v Giants, Saturday arvo: The Giants don’t beat the Dogs at the best of times, so with a bevy of senior players missing it was no surprise that they were never in this. Still, you have to question the merits of letting Marcus Bontempelli
PLAYERCARDSTART
Marcus Bontempelli
- Ht
- 194cm
- Wt
- 96kg
- Pos.
- Mid
Career
Season
Last 5
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 4star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 5star
- D
- 4star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 5star
- D
- 3star
- K
- 3star
- HB
- 4star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- CL
- 4star
PLAYERCARDEND
Cats v Dockers, Saturday twilight: Never write off the Cats, and never put your trust in the Dockers. The (latest) one that got away for Fremantle, who looked to be absolutely running away with it early. I stopped watching this game for a quarter and when I came back EVERYTHING had changed. Games at the Cattery are like minding a toddler on red cordial… don’t turn your back on them for a second.
Swans v Lions, Saturday night: The Swans set up a big early lead and then cruised for the remainder of the evening. Not sure what else we can really read into this one; the Lions had too many key pieces missing and would have been vulnerable against most sides. Looks like the early bye has come along at just the right time. The win might have come at a cost for Sydney with a couple of key injuries of their own too.
Pies v Crows, Saturday night: The impressive Crows put their hands up and said don’t forget about us! They did finish the home and away season in top spot last year, and they played right up to it in an excellent away win. Jury still well and truly out on the Pies - their A-graders are outstanding but their bottom few are names you’d barely recognise. Wouldn’t want this to be the year that father time finally catches up with Sidebottom and Pendles either.
North v Port, Sunday arvo: Were North really good or were Port really really bad? Bit of both I fancy. North’s talent-laden kids look to be hitting their straps, amply supported by some of their more experienced brigade. Not a bad mix. Great chance to be 3-0 or even 4-0 looking at their next few opponents. Port are also likely to win their next few and paper over the cracks, but there are cracks aplenty I reckon.
Demons v Saints, Sunday arvo: Some ripping goals, mark of the year, a million lead changes, a key forward with 5 goals before half time, and an exciting debut from a cousin-of-a-gun… this game had a bit of everything. Plenty of errors too, but overall it was great to watch. Serious alarm bells for the highly-touted Saints now at 0-2 (sack the coach for goodness sake), but genuinely positive signs for the Dees with an exciting new brand of footy.
Suns v Eagles, Sunday night: This was slightly less ugly than expected. As close as you might get to a respectable margin given the gulf between these two sides. I’m still struggling to detect any obvious change in game plan from the Eagles though. That’s a worry.
Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about Round 1!