AFL Gaming Website

hq56

Mar 29, 2003
Tasmania, Australia
Well; with the release of AFL Live 2004 I am thinking of designing an AFL gaming community to express ideas, downloads and many more wonderful things to make our AFL gaming experience better.

This is only in a planning stage, and I would need help in maintaining a community website.

If you have any Ideas, Suggestions or comments please feel free to leave them, as long as they are constuctive.

Cheers

Paul

Good idea, the knumbskulls who made that game need all the help they can get.

My biggest gripe with it is it's timing. Shouldn't AFL 2004 have the 2004 players and 2004 draw and also some 2003 stats? They should bring out "AFL 2004.5" After the Ansett Cup or whetever it's called now.

actually.

They're just under prepared if you ask me. Theres only 18 or so people working on the game, compared to 50-60 who work on EA's Fifa series.

Plus, they run a tight budget. If this goes ahead it will certainly be a central place where people can talk about the game and actually help the good people at Acclaim make the game better.

The person who I had the pleasure to speak to was a nice guy, and he didn't beat around the bush either, compared some people who I've seen talk from EA.

I am not sure whether or not to host it from my domain at hq56.net, or have a more familiar name, however either way, wherever the site is hosted the people who visit and have an imput will have thier message read by someone at Acclaim at one point in time, that is the best I can offer.

Cheers :)

Originally posted by hq56
I'm worried about copyrights, with the use of 'AFL' in a url.

It's happened to me before with another website.

:)

Really? Who did you get heat from...the AFL?

I've had URLs with 'AFL' in them before and no problem. Hey I even approached the guy who owns www.afl.com to see if he wanted to sell!

Originally posted by Drop Punt
Really? Who did you get heat from...the AFL?

I've had URLs with 'AFL' in them before and no problem. Hey I even approached the guy who owns www.afl.com to see if he wanted to sell!

it was with a soccer url I had, it had juventusfc in the url and it was picked up by the club, and I was threatened with legal action.

Thats why I am to be so cautious, I'll contact the afl and see what they have to say about it ;)

My advice is go for it and if they have a problem they can contact you later to sort it out.

Anyway if the league or the makers of the game haven't registered the URL by now, I doubt they really want it. And you'll be promoting their product at your own expense, so I reckon they'll appreciate the effort towards promoting their game.:D

Originally posted by sedders
Good idea, the knumbskulls who made that game need all the help they can get.

A bit harsh there!

hq makes a good point re the amount of people Acclaim have to work with for starters.

We've had a poster representing AFL live on here before. A few of our suggestions were included in 2004.

Dude, if you're reading come back we wanna talk to ya!

hq, your site sounds like a good idea & if can help I will. Don't get too bogged down by the name, i'd suggest keep it simple & easy to remember.

Good luck!

OK, me here.

Agreed, it was a bit harsh, considering that I havn't even played 2004. I've just played 2003, so the only justifyable complaint about 2004 I can make is the timing because they might have fixed the 100 other problems.

I didn't realise they had only 15 staff. Even I've worked with larger groups on software projects.

Anyway, it'd good o see and updated player list and draw when 2004 actually arrives, then i might buy it.

Interesting idea.

The AFL Live series, for all their niggles, are decent, earnest attempts to do a good AFL game, and no doubt they're pretty good efforts given their budgets- but frankly, in the 'real world', they are mediocre to average at best.

What I don't understand, is why isn't the AFL prepared to put up a hefty chunk of cash to ensure that the game is done properly. If it were a cutting edge, polished product, it would sell infinitely better, and with the right marketing (the most obvious thing would be to include the option of an International Rules series to make it marketable in Ireland), they'd probably make money out of it.
More to the point, though, there is no reason why an AFL game shouldn't break into the US market, if it was well crafted enough to compete with the likes of Fifa, Madden NFL, and that sort of thing.
By way of example, I don't follow soccer, really couldn't care less about it except maybe briefly during world cup, but I still own the Fifa series of PC games, simply because they are very well designed and fun to play. If the powers that be bankrolled professional, cutting edge, high quality AFL game, they'd make money *and* raise the profile of the footy around the world immeasurably.
Isn't that what the AFL is supposed to be doing, anyway?

Originally posted by Drop Punt
My advice is go for it and if they have a problem they can contact you later to sort it out.

Anyway if the league or the makers of the game haven't registered the URL by now, I doubt they really want it. And you'll be promoting their product at your own expense, so I reckon they'll appreciate the effort towards promoting their game.:D

I contacted the AFL, and they said no. The term 'AFL' is a registered trademark, and I can only use it with prior concent :(.

I'm going to try and get consent from the AFL to approve such a site, however with the term 'AFL' in it, I can't see it happeing.

And on the Soccer scene of things, terms like footygaming, etc, are taken.

See how things go...

I suggest you contact Acclaim Australia, and have them set up a forum to discuss AFL gaming issues on their site. After all, the whole point is to give them an insight as to possible improvements etc. If I was them, and I could have an unlimited amount of free testing feedback and ideas for future improvements, I'd jump at it in a flash!

try to scrounge up all other afl games even the oldies liek afl 99 and 2003

also get games like footy fanatic, total aussie rules and my very own final whistle football :D :D :D :D :D

I suggest you contact Acclaim Australia, and have them set up a forum to discuss AFL gaming issues on their site. After all, the whole point is to give them an insight as to possible improvements etc. If I was them, and I could have an unlimited amount of free testing feedback and ideas for future improvements, I'd jump at it in a flash!
agree that this would be the best option . .

hey hosko can i join the anti henamen group?

may i ask why there is such a group firstly wat do u hate bout him so much lol?

i hate him coz his cousins in my grade and he's a real ****

I just noticed this...

play a side, and flog them at the MCG...

towards the end of the game, look into the top tiers of the stands... the crowd thins out.

I am sure as hell this happens... I've seen it happen a few times at the 'G now :eek:

hey hosko can i join the anti henamen group?

may i ask why there is such a group firstly wat do u hate bout him so much lol?

i hate him coz his cousins in my grade and he's a real ****
u can certainly join the imagenary anti-henneman group. The title is devoted to express my frustration in aaron henneman and his football abilities (or lack of:p )

AFL Gaming Website