AFL new website and tv coverage

Methuselah

WCE
I have just visited the AFL web site, including the eagles official site and the forum appears to have disappeared? Policy decision by the AFL and/or the eagles? although the site looks okay, the players stats and other details are full of errors and not as well laid out as last year. Not so sure I like the arrangements with Telstra -pretty soon you will have to pay to get onto the site.
So I have found this forum thru the Buzz website (incidentally Buzz site is still the only one with up to date info on the players) and it looks okay.
Living in Townsville I got no coverage of the eagles games last year, and felt particularly isolated. Imagine my surprise to find that channel 10 broadcast the entire WCE Carlton match yesterday afternoon - and what a game. So far, I am happy with the coverage by the new network -except, it was clear yesterday that the broadcast panel of Hudson, Daicos and Silvagni did not know who half the West Coast Players were. Hopefully that will improve.

Welcome to the Eagles Forum Methuselah...

in regards to the commentators not knowing the players names, a couple more games like that and theyll know all our players names ;)

Welcome Methuselah.

The commentators were bloody frustrating! Read, Chambers, Haynes, Fletcher and Judd were all getting mixed up. If they cant remember the look of them, remember the numbers.

Speaking of Fletch, played a pretty good game yesterday!

Originally posted by Visro

Speaking of Fletch, played a pretty good game yesterday!

Yes, yes he did :D

But yeah, it was quite frustrating having players like Haynes, Wooden etc being called Read - that aspect of their commentating needs to be fixed

Yes,
I thought Fletcher played pretty well. Nearly everyone did.
The only guys that worried me a bit were Green, Wooden and Carroll down the back end. Michael Collica stood out back there (gee he was a good pickup), and Taylor was effective in patches, but both Carroll and Green looked hesitant when they got the ball and made some very poor decisions - I guess when you are in defence those errors are remembered because they are costly.
The Carlton fowards did not get very good delivery from their midfield -thanks to pressure from Fletcher and company.
Looking at the list, the defence has some options with Glass, and Gaspar to come in, and maybe Hunter, but it is looking like more of an achilles heel than the forward line to me right now. However, early days. I suspect that Richmond will be a tougher nut to crack on Friday night.
The other thing I did notice which was very pleasing, was the willingness of the midfield to put in the hard yards, both forward and back - that kept up the pressure on Carlton and relieved pressure on our defence.

Two of the things that stood out for me where

1) Fletcher hitting targets with his right boot

2) Willson, 5 kicks = 5 goals

big improvement

I agree with the green thing, but i thought carroll played pretty well, certaintly a big improvement on when he first came over. I really think he has a future with us.

Was great to see my favourite 2 players playing well, Haynes and Fletch:D

G'day peoples

I'm also new to the forum (hi Methuselah) but have been reading it for a couple of months now, very interesting stuff.

It was great to see a better performance against the Blues in comparison to last years. Cautiously optimistic for the next few weeks at least.

I've got a mate working at the eagles and he's told me that there's a much improved attitude around the place. Players are much more concious of their accountabilities and responsibilities and are sh*t scared of letting down the coach. Yesterdays game highlighted just that.

The coverage wasn't too bad on Ten. Channel Eddy are going to have to raise their standards. Friday nights coverage (yes I watched the Bulldogs v Shockers) was pathetic. Still early though.

I'm gonna go check out the sites now.

Keep up the good work people.

CARN EAGLES!!!

Hi Guys I've been reading this forum for awhile now and like the way people seemed to stick to the subject matter without getting in to slanging matches. with the exception of a few mainly shocker supporters. Anyway I'm a Melbourne Based Supporter who was lucky enough to go the match on saturday and what a witnessed was great teamwork, guys being willing to put their bodies on the line and finally going for the second and third efforts. I had a chance to catch up with the boys at the aftermatch and family day and I asked them what they thought about Woosha as their coach. The response from the players I asked was they are rapted with him but above all they respect him. By what I seen at the aftermatch it's a two way street. Woosha dresses like the players not in suits like Judgey and really relates to them. If you didn't know better you'd swear he was still playing not coaching.

They is certainly a lot of positives and I'm also an optomist but I know it is going to take time for us to get back to how we were in the early nineties so I'm not getting carried away. After seeing only one win form the Eleven games I attended last year hearing our song played after the game and the faces of the Carlton supporters when we won was fantastic. It was even worth getting attacked by a Carlton supporter when I asked him niclely to move from the cheer squad area and getting a parking ticket.
I'd hurt my neck during the week and was advised by my doctor to give the game a miss, I told him I'd have to be bedridden or dying for that to happen. What a great feeling, I'm still on a high.

Also regarding the Eagles new site Gary Stocks will be talking to the site administrater about adding a forum. By the way Buzz he tells me he gets alot of emails from you and I think your new site is great. Hope all you people who are attending the match on Friday have as great a time as I did. Kodie

Hi all, welcome Meth, Uncle Tony, kodie

Another win, great stuff! Willo with a straight boot. Wirra finally playing midfield and picking up touches. A working midfield. And Tuckey - who the hell is he?

Yes I know preseason footy is kick-and-giggle stuff, but it's just great to see another win, wherever it comes from

And I nearly shot water out of my nose when I saw Mal Brown in the Dockers jumper in the Wizard ad :D

PS Buzz - your site is excellent

Welcome to Methusalah, Uncle Tony and kodie.

I thought Wooden did remarkably well on Prendergast given the heaight difference and Green did well to keep Carlton's potentially most dangerous small forward relatively quiet. Would either be in my starting team if all were fit and firing? No. But that's not the point - give them the opportunities when possible and test them out.

kodie, I've already heard a report about the Carlton fan smacking you. Pity that aggressive formerly Melbourne-based Eagle fan in the cheer squad who isn't living there any more couldn't be there to help you out.

I have been reading this site for a few weeks after learning of it thru Buzz's excellent site. It is very enjoyable and a laugh at times.I have been an Eagles member since 1989 and have been going since Round 1 1987 against Richmond.

Things are really looking up this year - the feeling amongst the players was evident on Saturday. Let's forget the wasted 2 years under Judge and go forth under the great Woosha to bigger and better things.

Originally posted by vicki
I have been reading this site for a few weeks after learning of it thru Buzz's excellent site. It is very enjoyable and a laugh at times.I have been an Eagles member since 1989 and have been going since Round 1 1987 against Richmond.

Things are really looking up this year - the feeling amongst the players was evident on Saturday. Let's forget the wasted 2 years under Judge and go forth under the great Woosha to bigger and better things.

Welcome vicki. Another loyal member joins the BF Eagles team.

Yeah VOR I could have used someone to deck him although as Cheer Squad Members we are not suppose to. Instinct had me punching him back but when it looked like he was going to belt me in the mouth I stepped back and was glad a couple of the guys who helped out. Security guards are hard to fine but the police were good keeping an eye on him throughout the game. He was a real Loser but you get used to it over here most Melbourne Based team supporters are the same.

Can't think of the person you mention though I 've been running it for over five seasons now and the majority of members are fantastic. I spent my time at the aftermatch and family time recruiting new banner makers as we definately have a shortage. Ten to twelve people is not enough although we do work well as a team down there and get the job done. We definately need ideas for the banners and I would welcome any forum users ones. Correct me if I'm wrong but aren't you a Melbourne Based supprter VOR? Oh well the players more then made up for it with their performance and I'm sure there's more good things to come:) . Kodie

Welcome Vicki and Kodie

:)

Goldenblue

Originally posted by kodie
Yeah VOR I could have used someone to deck him although as Cheer Squad Members we are not suppose to. Instinct had me punching him back but when it looked like he was going to belt me in the mouth I stepped back and was glad a couple of the guys who helped out. Security guards are hard to fine but the police were good keeping an eye on him throughout the game. He was a real Loser but you get used to it over here most Melbourne Based team supporters are the same.

Can't think of the person you mention though I 've been running it for over five seasons now and the majority of members are fantastic. I spent my time at the aftermatch and family time recruiting new banner makers as we definately have a shortage. Ten to twelve people is not enough although we do work well as a team down there and get the job done. We definately need ideas for the banners and I would welcome any forum users ones. Correct me if I'm wrong but aren't you a Melbourne Based supprter VOR? Oh well the players more then made up for it with their performance and I'm sure there's more good things to come:) . Kodie

I'm back in Perth now. My last Melbourne game was the first game of last year's H&A versus Geelong. ;)

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
Uncle tony, were you watching the same CH10 as I was? The coverage was absolutely shocking :eek: Gimme CH9 anyday.

Thanks for the warm welcome everyone.:) Glad I'm not the only new guy around.

D4E, maybe 9's coverage of the rest of the round was up to scratch (I didn't get a chance to watch the other games) but Friday nights coverage by ch9 Perth was a shocker! The sound was all over the place, the long shots were too close and the comentary was unbelieveably boring. I hope they get their act together for this Friday for those who can't make it to Subi (I'll be there - Yay!).

Now that I've had a chance to have a look at both the AFL and Eagles new sites, I think they're alright. I even watched the second half of our match in streaming video (pretty cool). Your site's cool too Buzz - I read it for the articles.

Lastly, I'm curious as to how it came about that supporters from interstate followed the Eagles (good on ya!). Are you ex-pats, just liked the team, etc?

Kodie, I hope you showed that guy the scoreboard at the end of the match (even if it is only preseason).

Thanks again.:D

I would have loved to Uncle Tony but the Weasel left about ten minutes before the end what a wimp. The thing that makes it worse is I'm actually a woman so he is a double wimp. There were only a few Carlton supporters who stay to the end near where I was sitting and the look on their faces was a classic. I would of rubbed it in but all of us were enjoying singing our song after the match and having Troy acknowledging us after the match. I agree about the warm welcome thanks guys. What a pity you've gone back home VOR we need all the people we can get over here. Kodie:cool:

I'd just like to extend a warm welcome to Methusalah, Uncle Tony/Tobys :D kodie and vicki!

A lot of us came from the old WCE forum but choose to stay here because of the better layout and since all 16 clubs are represented here. The more the merrier!