nugget_12

Melbourne Storm
We really need to draft this guy this year.

At only 21y.o (turns 22 in August) this guy has the mature body to play straight away.

Only downside to him is maybe his decision making sometimes, he seems to just slam the ball onto his boot and force it forward alot instead of taking a second or so to spot up an option, and believe it or not it seems to come off more often than not.

This is a minor flaw and can be ironed out just look at Nathan Foley and Shane Tuck, both had this tendancie and now both have great decision making skills.

He finds the ball with ease and has very good avaisive skills...(Very rarely tackled) we are all looking for some super midfielder that we can get in the draft this year.............Well This is the Guy!!!!!!!

He would play straight away and has already served his apprenticeship at VFL Level.

Alot of clubs will be looking at him as a late pick around 3rd or 4th round, and as we will most likely get to start off the round with our pick then its a no brainer IMO.

Would love everyones thoughts..... Cheers

At only 21y.o (turns 22 in August) this guy has the mature body to play straight away.

Only downside to him is maybe his decision making sometimes, he seems to just slam the ball onto his boot and force it forward alot instead of taking a second or so to spot up an option, and believe it or not it seems to come off more often than not.

This is a minor flaw and can be ironed out just look at Nathan Foley and Shane Tuck, both had this tendancie and now both have great decision making skills.

He finds the ball with ease and has very good avaisive skills...(Very rarely tackled) we are all looking for some super midfielder that we can get in the draft this year.............Well This is the Guy!!!!!!!

He would play straight away and has already served his apprenticeship at VFL Level.

Alot of clubs will be looking at him as a late pick around 3rd or 4th round, and as we will most likely get to start off the round with our pick then its a no brainer IMO.

Would love everyones thoughts..... Cheers
You would have to ask is he worth pick 33-35 because that is 3rd round territory. If he can slide through until the 4th round I would be tempted to take him then. The one thing I like is he is another guy who seems to know how to win the ball in tight, which we desperately need more of.

I'm all for him coming onto the list but 3rd round is far too high. I'd say 5th through to PSD or even the rookie draft. Plenty of potential but we all know form at VFL can be deceptive. He should be a tiger next year and from there I think if he wants it enough, he'll be a solid contributor for years to come.

Which other clubs would be interested? Rawlings has let on that we are but I've had no inclination that there are others queuing up. Other clubs commonly choose youngsters in favour of blokes who have been in the system for a few years. The feeling I get is he'll slide a fair way.

he's having a great year and regularly gets in the best ahead of the Richmond listed players. Was BOG in the rep game too.

I rate this guy, but maybe the problem will be is that he is of similar type to many others.

Having said that, Wallace likes to go small to medium doesnt he?

Only downside to him is maybe his decision making sometimes, he seems to just slam the ball onto his boot and force it forward alot instead of taking a second or so to spot up an option,

should fit right in then:p

i think that he is definantly worth a 3rd rounder.......hypothetically say we get the priority pick we should get 1,17 and either 18 or 19 so that 3 inside the top 20 so i would definantly consider him as the 4th player we pick.

we could take either Kruzer or Cotchin at 1 and a couple KPP at the next to picks and then Neville as our 4th picked player as the ready made Onballer.

he has something about him that i would love to see running around in the yellow and black! im not sure if its the dominance he displays at VFL Level or the wanting to see if he can take it to the next level and still have a massive impact on games as he does now.

definately would be worth a punt on a low draft pick.shows a lot of good things out there,more so than some on the richmond list

i think that he is definantly worth a 3rd rounder.......hypothetically say we get the priority pick we should get 1,17 and either 18 or 19 so that 3 inside the top 20 so i would definantly consider him as the 4th player we pick.

we could take either Kruzer or Cotchin at 1 and a couple KPP at the next to picks and then Neville as our 4th picked player as the ready made Onballer.

he has something about him that i would love to see running around in the yellow and black! im not sure if its the dominance he displays at VFL Level or the wanting to see if he can take it to the next level and still have a massive impact on games as he does now.

That's fine but if we could get him later (which we probably would) then we might as well invest in some 18 year old talent. He'll comfortably make it to the lower rounds of the draft and so we should wait until then to pick him.

I must clarify the only reason i would consider taking him as a 3rd rounder is that this Draft is no-where near as deep as recent drafts. and i guess id just like to get in early and make sure no-1 else beats us to him.

I hear it has elite talent at the very top and then a massive clump of players after the top few. This would lead me to think that there is a higher liklihood that there would be a 'dropper' that we could get ala Connors.

He'd be a good pick up but no-way would he be 3rd round material.

well that sounds very good if do happen to get the 3 picks in the top 20.
with the clump after the stand outs.

he would be a great pick up, and would play alot of games i think.
If FJ and whoever else is running our recruiting now is reading this just call his name out, 3rd 4th 5th 6th round i dont care just do it. you had the chance last year and you didn't take it so dont mess it up this year.

Gets in the best players for coburg every week. That alone is enough for us to pick him up in the draft. Richmond would be crazy not to look at him.

Spot on.......our assistants are at the coburg games each week so they see him play each week. If they dont rate him and dont think he would be earning of a spot on our list then well, i think we need new coaching and recruiting staff because this guy is a Brilliant Footballer.

looks like he is in another class doesnt he? knows what to do and when to do it and how to do it....and he is playing at coburg and we have tivs hydes ec playing at tigerland...how ridiculous is that? ;)

Hahahaha ya know while watching the game today i thought the exact same thing. we have a guy as good as Neville that we had a chance of drafting last year playing awesome football for coburg and we have Tiva and co playing in our 1's! what a joke!

i was just reading on OER that during an interview with Andy Collins today that Neville aswell as Sylvester are constantly promoted to Terry.

i also dont mind the sound of Sylvester being drafted with perhaps our last draft pick, 6ft 3 and 100kgs with good closing down speed in the mould of Mal Micheal.

Terry wants another big body down back so he could get a look in and he is only 22 so plenty of footy left in him and already mature body wise to play from the start.

what are peoples thoughts on the possible Drafting of Sylvester?

Hahahaha ya know while watching the game today i thought the exact same thing. we have a guy as good as Neville that we had a chance of drafting last year playing awesome football for coburg and we have Tiva and co playing in our 1's! what a joke!

i was just reading on OER that during an interview with Andy Collins today that Neville aswell as Sylvester are constantly promoted to Terry.

i also dont mind the sound of Sylvester being drafted with perhaps our last draft pick, 6ft 3 and 100kgs with good closing down speed in the mould of Mal Micheal.

Terry wants another big body down back so he could get a look in and he is only 22 so plenty of footy left in him and already mature body wise to play from the start.

what are peoples thoughts on the possible Drafting of Sylvester?

Sorry dude, dont notice the sylvesters of this world when the nevilles are doing party tricks.
Lets just cut to the chase...there are a few players playing for coburg...that are not on the tiger list that would walk straight into my tiger line up. ;)

Sorry dude, dont notice the sylvesters of this world when the nevilles are doing party tricks.
Lets just cut to the chase...there are a few players playing for coburg...that are not on the tiger list that would walk straight into my tiger line up. ;)

Lol. yeh fair enough, i see where your coming from!

still if anyone does have anything to say on Sylvester i'd like to hear about him.

to be honest when it comes to coburgs defence i only really keep an eye out for the listed players.

With Neville even though he's not a listed RFC player, you cant help but watch him play.

Lol. yeh fair enough, i see where your coming from!

still if anyone does have anything to say on Sylvester i'd like to hear about him.

to be honest when it comes to coburgs defence i only really keep an eye out for the listed players.

With Neville even though he's not a listed RFC player, you cant help but watch him play.

class act dude...just cant work out how this guy is playing only vfl...he has the poise of a diesel, and he can kick it better...it defies logic really.
WTF are the brains trust doing down at tigerland? Why do they always steer away from the obvious. The obvious? Has to be given the chance to see if he can cut it at the top level. If he can we are in "BIG TIME", this guy is brownlow stuff, if he doesnt we have another servicable player. Like wake up TW!!!!!
And this is not because he gets it a million times, its purely because he gets it a million times and does the right thing a million - 2 times. ;)

class act dude...just cant work out how this guy is playing only vfl...he has the poise of a diesel, and he can kick it better...it defies logic really.
WTF are the brains trust doing down at tigerland? Why do they always steer away from the obvious. The obvious? Has to be given the chance to see if he can cut it at the top level. If he can we are in "BIG TIME", this guy is brownlow stuff, if he doesnt we have another servicable player. Like wake up TW!!!!!
And this is not because he gets it a million times, its purely because he gets it a million times and does the right thing a million - 2 times. ;)

Yeh i agree 100% you wont get a argument out of me with that post.
he has a booming kick aswell, with a heavy ball he was getting some good mileage on it today.

Yeh i agree 100% you wont get a argument out of me with that post.
he has a booming kick aswell, with a heavy ball he was getting some good mileage on it today.

he has, but then again...i know i am not a relo or a mate blowing his trumpet, so do most of the tigerheads here, since they kind of know the cogga is..lol..but nugget? well he could be putting the advertisment out there..sorry dude, just having a lend.but its not beyond the realms of possibilty.
Anyway...give ya the tip, he is to good a player...the tigers dont recruit those types, they go for players that need to develop for a hundred years...

But you only have to relate to last weeks report on daniel jackson to see first hand how ridiculous it is that a Neville is playing for coburg and a jackson is in the tiger seniors. And this is not to demean Jacko, he shows more upside than others, but here we are, with a 19 yold or 20 yold, saying that he was at the crossroads, because he is an athlete trying to be a footballer that had him and i quote, "running around like a headless chook" and now he is on his last chance, to make it as a tagger. The thing with Jacko that keeps him IMO in the persevere book is that he looks like a winner, i.e. he hates losing with a passion, just like Richo.
And at coburg there is a dude running around just as much, that kicks butt when he gets it and who is a year older? 2? . So you can see that there is something fundamentally wrong with who is watching who.
Dont know how old you are, but the last guy that stood out like neville does in the 2s was a a geoff raines.
We would go and watch the reserves just to see rainsey...neville is at that level.
If he slips out of our hands...then i say sack em all!!!!;)

I can see him slipping through our hands.

The draft isn't as deep this year, so I would expect him to go around the 4th round. However, Aaron Edwards, the VFL's highest goal kicker last year didn't go until 60+ or something I'm pretty sure. Hopefully we can secure him as our 5th round pick, him being our last.

We still may be able to get a trade from another team for a Krakouer or similar crossroads play. This could give as a 4th round pick mean we could pick him up with our 4th round pick and still pick up a youngster with a 4th rounder 10 places higher then by the time our 5th round pick came along.

Silvester is a solid player. However, young must see that at that level he is really no better then Luke McGuane. He is a good ready made player who would have a chance to make it at AFL, but I would prefer it to be at another side, one without alot of good tall defenders like Melbourne or Carlton. We already have Polak, Thurstfield, McGuane, Joel Bowden (plays tall), and Raines (being built to play tall) + what ever we get in this years draft.

Neville Is Sharp In The Way He Plays. Hes Not Going To Be A Superstar But He Could Be A Very Good Consistent Player For Us. Hes Different To Our Other Small Guys In The Way He Plays.

And As For Sylvester I Think This Guy Deserves A Decent Look.

On A Few Occasions I Have Looked At Hig Game And Seen Him Do Some Great Defending And Thought This Guy Should Be Playing Afl.

But Then Agen Who Knows, As We Have Seen, You May Cut It In The Vfl But In The Afl Its A Totally Different Story.

to be safe I reckon he'd need to be picked by R3 otherwise goodbye...at 21 there will be plenty of interest

Exactly my thoughts. Thats what i said earlier but every-one said it was a stupid idea.

he is 22 in august not 28 so there is plenty of footy left in him. alot of clubs will look at him, when your one of the best in the VFL and only young, clubs will look at you.