10k Posts
McLeod fit to impress
16 February 2007 Herald-Sun
Andrew Capel

CROWS star Andrew McLeod is so fit he could take on Anthony Mundine for a world boxing title.

Fighting fit: Andrew McLeod has been training the house down in Adelaide. Picture: Ray Titus

That is the opinion of Indigenous All-Stars coach Michael McLean, who says he has never seen McLeod fitter or more focused.

McLean, who coached McLeod in Friday's All-Stars clash against Essendon in Darwin, says the Crows' matchwinner is in superb condition -- both physically and mentally -- and is poised to put his axing from Adelaide's leadership group behind him.

"He's ready for the title fight, he should be fighting Mundine," McLean gushed, adding he has backed McLeod to win the Brownlow.

"He is that fit, he looks magnificent. He's so lean, cut and ripped at the moment, it's not funny. He always looks good, but never has he looked as fit as he does this year."

A dual Norm Smith medallist and premiership player, four-times All-Australian and Michael Tuck and Jim Stynes medallist, McLeod added to his list of achievements by winning the Polly Farmer Medal as the All-Stars' best player in the 50-point loss to the Bombers. McLeod played primarily on the ball and was his team's leading goalkicker with two.

"He was our best player without a doubt," McLean said of the 260-game veteran, who was runner-up for the Brownlow in 2001 and third in 2000.

"He's a ball of muscle but he looks a bit slimmer up top and he's lost none of his pace. He was in and out of traffic like there was no one there and I'd hate to have to mark up on him. I can't see blokes stopping him this year."

At an age (30) when most players are slowing down, McLeod is like a good wine, according to McLean, "getting better with age".

McLean said if McLeod, who signed a two-year contract extension with Adelaide late last season, can avoid serious injury he could play for another four or five years.

"There's not going to be too much slowing up for him," McLean said.

"Looking at him now he'll get another two or three years easily and if he's played up forward I reckon he could go for another four or five years. He obviously looks after himself, he's been in the system for a long time and he just knows the game."

McLean said McLeod made some of his teammates look out of their depth in Darwin.

"Our boys, as a rule, are slick but a lot of our other guys were made to look sluggish and looked a little bit lethargic at times due to putting some bulk on over the pre-season.

"Andrew wasn't like that. He's looked after himself so well and was just so smooth across the ground."

Crows football operations manager John Reid yesterday spoke in glowing terms of McLeod, saying "he's in sensational nick". "It's the best I've ever seen Macca," he said.

Good news :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Macca up and at 'em

MICHELANGELO RUCCI
February 16, 2007 01:15am

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,21233181-21543,00.html

AT 30, Andrew McLeod has worked his way through enough pre-seasons - 13 to be exact - to not need to prove anything against SANFL club Norwood at The Parade this evening.

More so when the Adelaide champion proved himself physically primed while adding another medal to his vast collection as the indigenous All-Stars' best against Essendon in Darwin last Friday.

But rather than rest - either his body or on his laurels - McLeod tonight is part of the 28-man Crows squad that from 7.40 will get its first true competitive workout of the pre-season.

McLeod and fellow indigenous All-Star Graham Johncock were in line for a rest this evening after the Darwin game.

But Adelaide coach Neil Craig has opted to play most of his stars in a trial that is loaded with anticipation for how the Crows' new-look ruck unit will be formed, let alone its attack.

Of the 22 who fell agonisingly short to eventual AFL premier West Coast in September's preliminary final at AAMI Stadium, Craig has called 19 back to action this evening.

Only ruckmen Rhett Biglands (knee) and Matthew Clarke (St Kilda) and midfielder-forward Brett Burton (knee) have been excused. Also captain Mark Ricciuto, who missed the final series with a virus, remains on the take-care list as he manages a back complaint.

Of the new names on the Adelaide list, no 2006 draftee has been chosen to play against Norwood. However, rookie-listed pair Rhys Archard and Andrew McIntyre will be put on trial.

Adelaide's need to redefine its ruck unit is measured by Ben Hudson, resuming with a reconstructed knee and Jonathan Griffin - playing in Crows colours for the first time - being paired for the first time

. They will compete against club-mate John Meesen, who is aligned to Norwood in the SANFL. It is the ultimate audition to decide Adelaide's ruck battery for the NAB Cup opener with Port Adelaide next Friday.

The wildcard in this proposition is Ken McGregor, the Crow whose place in the Adelaide 18 is uncertain. The options are centre half-forward, centre half-back and even as a ruckman.

Brett Zorzi will be Norwood's captain in the absence of former Crow and new club skipper James Gallagher, who has a slight hamstring strain.

He's looking pretty ********en buff now... Magic talked him up a fair bit in that article and it's great to see him get BOG for his side as well. Hopefully he doesn't pick up another injury this year.

0,,5386838,00.jpg

(off topic a bit but speaking of ripped.. anybody see Nathan Buckley in todays tiser? ********in huge!)

They say the same thing every pre-season, everyone is tearing up the track, nothing to see here move along:thumbsu:

So a positive article about a player had no credibility but a negative one about a player has 100% credibility?

Had this article been about Mark Ricciuto and saying he was injured or sick would you still have the same attitude and suggest that there was nothing to see hear so let’s move along? :confused:

So a positive article about a player had no credibility but a negative one about a player has 100% credibility?

Had this article been about Mark Ricciuto and saying he was injured or sick would you still have the same attitude and suggest that there was nothing to see hear so let’s move along? :confused:

Yeah, but you have to realize, Crows98, that the McLeod story suffers because there's only the flimsy support based on his BOG up in Darwin.

On the other hand there is the irrefutable evidence from Joe Nobody saying that Roo is rooted, stuffed, knackered, de-knackered, epileptic, wheel-chair bound etc etc etc

Personally I don't think Roo will ever walk again. You can't ignore facts. :rolleyes:

Yeah, but you have to realize, Crows98, that the McLeod story suffers because there's only the flimsy support based on his BOG up in Darwin.

On the other hand there is the irrefutable evidence from Joe Nobody saying that Roo is rooted, stuffed, knackered, de-knackered, epileptic, wheel-chair bound etc etc etc

Personally I don't think Roo will ever walk again. You can't ignore facts. :rolleyes:

Macca23, Facts are facts and since Joe Nobody is the source and is really wrong how we or anyone for that possibly argue. :eek:

Time for Roo to pull stumps and head down to Pt Lincoln and build more multi million dollar hotels

We will need further evidence ;) :eek:

In ur dreams boy.

All footy players (not just AFL) look bloody darn good at this time of the year - I love preseason. Macca looks like his skin folds would be very low at the moment and Bucks simply looks like a gorilla.

Mate I can read that article like anyone else on www.afc.com.au its no big deal.

Yes Riccuito being injuried as a bigger issue than 'Mcleod training the house down'

You just make sure you are first out of Norwood Oval tonight and on the bus to the 'Crazy Horse':thumbsu:

Macca23, Facts are facts and since Joe Nobody is the source and is really wrong how we or anyone for that possibly argue. :eek:

Time for Roo to pull stumps and head down to Pt Lincoln and build more multi million dollar hotels

Still cant believe you think Roo will go back to playing midfeild:rolleyes:

Mate I can read that article like anyone else on www.afc.com.au its no big deal.

Yes Riccuito being injuried as a bigger issue than 'Mcleod training the house down'

You just make sure you are first out of Norwood Oval tonight and on the bus to the 'Crazy Horse':thumbsu:

So you don’t have an answer for the question?

crows98 said:
Had this article been about Mark Ricciuto and saying he was injured or sick would you still have the same attitude and suggest that there was nothing to see hear so let’s move along?

Still cant believe you think Roo will go back to playing midfeild:rolleyes:

I cannot believe you still believe that he is able to walk, isn’t he on deaths door bed that his body is that far gone. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

I saw Roo yesterday from about 2 metres away, and nearly gasped with shock because he was still breathing.

Actully he is a slight as I've ever seen him. The word about his excellent pre-season up until the last 2 to 3 weeks is obviously correct. He seemed to be slightly favoured his back as he was walking IMO, but had no probelem bending over to sign autographs for seated fans.

Muscle strain and nothing more IMO.

Your the one that said he is playing midfeild not me, I said he will make a very good contribution playing up forward with burst in the midfeild.

Good to see yous till cant keep to the topic because of your small minded attitude.

I know it's astonishing to hear but the bickering between you two (crows98 and Maccas_no1) is REALLY ********ing boring and annoying. Take it to PM or something because I'm sick of it.