Kenny_01

Croad offers to take a pay cut
By Caroline Wilson
May 08 2003

Disillusioned Fremantle forward Trent Croad confirmed yesterday that he had offered to take a pay cut in a bid to ease the growing pressure on him in Perth, which he described as "a very lonely place".

Croad, 23, who has been counselled over the past week by his coach Chris Connolly, his manager Paul Connors and Hawthorn director Dermott Brereton, has been criticised as overpaid.

It is believed the former Hawk has been considering taking a $100,000 cut from the final two years of his four-year deal with the Dockers, worth about $1.7 million.

Croad said he was forced to move out of the North Fremantle house he bought last year and into a higher-security apartment in a bid to avoid public and media scrutiny, which he said was "10-fold" in comparison with Melbourne.

Croad, the No. 3 national draft pick in 1997, met Connolly after his disappointing performance in the derby 11 days ago against West Coast. The Dockers coach was believed to have advised the player how to withstand media pressure in WA.

The club has allowed Croad to return to Melbourne today - 24 hours before the rest of the team travels - to stay with his family before Sunday's game against the Western Bulldogs. "I just want these people to realise I love this club and its players and I want to be part of Fremantle having success," said Croad. "I don't even know how to say this, I'm that rattled, but sometimes you do wonder whether it's worth it."

Croad, who last season relinquished $100,000 from his 2002 agreement to prevent the club from exceeding its total player payments, is sharing his apartment with talented young team-mate Graham Polak and cited the retention of such potential champions as one reason for easing the Dockers' salary cap pressure.

Yesterday, the former Hawthorn centre half-back was the subject of a story in The West Australian which alleged he was earning $2.1 million, a figure disputed by manager Connors, who said his four-year deal was closer to $1.7 million.

"It was the ninth day in a row I had to read about myself in the local paper," said Croad. "Des Headland has had to cop it as well. It's such a small place here and it all seems to come down to money and where you live.

"I bought a house and had to move out of my own house. It's ridiculous. It was tough on my family. My mum was over staying here and you know how defensive single mum's can get. The problem was, I was suspended for the first two games and then I played in a storm at the MCG against Richmond and I've only really played in three games so far."

Brereton, who dined with Croad after the Essendon game at Subiaco last weekend, conceded it had been a huge decision for the Hawks to trade their then 21-year-old key-position player in return for the ultimate No. 1 draft choice, Luke Hodge.

"Quite frankly, we'd have been better off between that period and now had we kept Trent," said Brereton, "but the decision was a long-term one.

"What we spoke about is private but I do believe there's a significant proportion of the Perth media that is very biased. West Coast was the first franchise and well supported and Mick Malthouse used to belt up the media there and they were too scared to challenge him. Well done, Mick. But what Trent and his club are copping now is a hangover from that, and of course they do have a sad record so far.

"Trent is a highly talented footballer and the hard-edged rudimentaries of football don't come naturally to him but they will eventually and he's got the body to hold it together . . . If they think the young fellas are being paid too much, let the buyer beware."

The Dockers football manager, Steven Icke, who is tomorrow expected to launch restructured contract negotiations with Jeff Farmer through his manager Ron Joseph, confirmed he had met on Tuesday with Connors.

"We are in negotiations with Trent and his management," said Icke. "Trent met Chris Connolly last week and then spoke with his manager and then his manager spoke to us. Next year we have some (total player payment) challenges but they are not insurmountable challenges."

Originally posted by Kenny_01

"there's a significant proportion of the Perth media that is very biased. West Coast was the first franchise and well supported and Mick Malthouse used to belt up the media there and they were too scared to challenge him. "

This comment was very true during the Mick years and Neesham felt it. The media are slowly warming to the Dockers but I think they are still recovering from being scared of Mick, thus we were the easy targets.

The only real way to gain respect is winning on the field.

Re: Re: Article on Croad

Originally posted by masai
This comment was very true during the Mick years and Neesham felt it. The media are slowly warming to the Dockers but I think they are still recovering from being scared of Mick, thus we were the easy targets.

The only real way to gain respect is winning on the field.

It is still true but not as bad as it was. Even when Pav signed up the headline in the worst was "dockers may have to play with reduced list" instead of a good news story that Pav was staying.

Mc Grath must have scrated his head a lot working out a way to put a negative spin on that one.

I wonder to if Freo supporters are their own worst enemy, as I was thinking about Macca and how he plays better away than at home. Could it be that he suffers from "friendly fire" from the supporters at home games. The only game I have managed to get to this year was the one against the Roo's and even though he was going pretty good the crowd were giving it to him.

I wonder if Coadie gets the same thing.

What I want to know is: How can Perth be "very lonely" when he is getting 10-fold the attention he got in Melbourne?

The same article is in today's Worst Australian noticibly missing this paragraph.

""What we spoke about is private but I do believe there's a significant proportion of the Perth media that is very biased. West Coast was the first franchise and well supported and Mick Malthouse used to belt up the media there and they were too scared to challenge him. Well done, Mick. But what Trent and his club are copping now is a hangover from that, and of course they do have a sad record so far."

Must have run out of space. :rolleyes:

No doubt it is biased, but if you think the Melbourne media give Fremantle a better run you are kidding yourself.

I doubt the media in Melbourne spend as much time putting negative spins on the dockers.

In response to the article, good on ya Croadie. It's unfortunate, but it is usual that you only hear negative things about yourself, as it is easy for people to write or say something negative, and if someone has something good to say, it is usually lost in the works somewhere or not even said.

I think that Freo supporters look for people to blame for their losses, rather than just taking it on the chin. Not surprising really, considering how many times we have had to take it on the chin... Croady and Headland have copped it so far, although Headland was everyone's sweetheart after the game against Essendon.

These guys are offered money by the club to come here...that offer needs to be substantial because, lets face it, there has been little other reason to come to freo in the past. I think it says a lot for Croady that he understands that he hasn't performed to expectations (whether those expectations are too high is different matter), and that he is willing to take a pay cut to help the club.

Leigh Brown got best clubman award a couple of years ago, and rightly so. The majority of Freo fans were sad to see him go. While he wasn't on as much as Croady, he was on a lot of money, and I daresay he didn't perform as well as Croad did last year. Yet, most people still loved him.

Croady is seen as overpaid and underperforming, and he gets bagged week in and week out by his own supporters (if that is what you call them). I bet that even though he is trying his darndest to do the right thing by the club, he still cops it.

"I just want these people to realise I love this club and its players and I want to be part of Fremantle having success," said Croad. "I don't even know how to say this, I'm that rattled, but sometimes you do wonder whether it's worth it."

He get's my vote for best clubman award so far this year... and I will be upset if he ends up leaving Freo because of the stupidity of the perth media and even a lot of Freo supporters. Moreso than I was when Brownie left.

Sure, Croad is in a form slump, and I don't have anything against the bloke personally - notwithstanding what I think of him as a footballer. So I started reading sympathetically. But he lost me right about the point where he throws in the fact that his mum's a single mum.

Trent, stop whinging - or desperately trying to manipulate public sympathy in your direction, whichever it is - and get on with the game. And if you've got a problem with media pressure, put yourself in Andrew Embley's shoes.

Originally posted by carneagles
Exactly. What's it got to do with the topic he's discussing? Why would he mention it?

Singlr Mum's are usually more protective and more likely to react as they don't have the Father around to put thing's in perspective.

I.E. Dad would probally say "take it as a compliment" or something similar

Good post Scal, 100% in agreement.

And good spotting Ripper. I am stunned that the worst selectively quoted that Caro article by leaving out a key paragraph. Surely that goes against journalistic ethics.

Originally posted by Scal
I doubt the media in Melbourne spend as much time putting negative spins on the dockers.

You obviously don't read the Melbourne media. The West Australian writers write much more stuff than the Melbourne media about the dockers and in general it is more good stuff than bad stuff. The Dockers have copped plenty of hammerings in the Melbourne media about the Fabian Francis Affair, cheating the Cap, the way they sacked Damian Drum, agreeing that the dockers board is inept etc On many of these issues, the West Australian has given a much more even hand than the Melbourne media has.

I just get sick of hearing about how much farmer and croad are earning evry time freo lose and are singled out and blamed for our loses,its ateam sport and the whole team should be held accountable.Croad and farmer have to improve the way they are playing NOT because they earn more than other players but because we need evryone in the team contributing for us to win.

I was worried that croady would pack up and leave when his contract was up but if his willing to take a cut so its easier for the club to keep players then hopefully his sticking around.

To any hawks supporters: how much do you think croady was earning at your club?

Well spotted Ripper,surly other teams have players that are overpaid.

About Macca,I think he plays about the same at home and away but alot of other players are way down on there home form and so macca often ends up as one of our better players away.I'm a Mcmanus fan so i'm not dissing him.

From memory Croad was on around $300,000 at the Hawks, but I have no idea how correct that figure was.

It certainly wasn't as much as you guys are paying him now, but it was enough to put us in salary cap trouble. Not only was the trade done because it meant we got the best 17 year old in the country, but he also came a lot cheaper as well.

My only piece of advice would be keep Croad well away from Dermie.

Notice how he mentions his precious house 3 times? When will Connolly see the light and shift him to CHB - he is a dumb footballer and needs to be led to the ball, simple as that.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
From memory Croad was on around $300,000 at the Hawks, but I have no idea how correct that figure was.

It certainly wasn't as much as you guys are paying him now, but it was enough to put us in salary cap trouble. Not only was the trade done because it meant we got the best 17 year old in the country, but he also came a lot cheaper as well.

My only piece of advice would be keep Croad well away from Dermie.

Notice how he mentions his precious house 3 times? When will Connolly see the light and shift him to CHB - he is a dumb footballer and needs to be led to the ball, simple as that.
Dermie can't coach and I agree with ya GH.

I reckon Croad did the best thing this week by getting this stuff of his chest.
Croad will knock in 6 goals this weekend in a Freo win :)

thanks golden hawks

on ch7 it said croad was getting $400,000 in his first year,then in the paper i read that freo took over one or 2 years of his contract he still had at hawthorn.Just wanted to see if ch7 were close to the mark or pulling figures out of there ass.

Originally posted by Sera
You obviously don't read the Melbourne media. The West Australian writers write much more stuff than the Melbourne media about the dockers and in general it is more good stuff than bad stuff. The Dockers have copped plenty of hammerings in the Melbourne media about the Fabian Francis Affair, cheating the Cap, the way they sacked Damian Drum, agreeing that the dockers board is inept etc On many of these issues, the West Australian has given a much more even hand than the Melbourne media has.

Only the Fabian Francis conclusion was this year and was only the conclusion. That was the AFL's doing a backflip cos Francis was never on Freo's list. All the other stuff is old.

Have the Melbourne media beat up on croad this year (prior to this article)? Have the melbourne media said that DJ headland was not worth a pinch of ****y s*$t this year like WA media have? I think they might of given him a little while to adjust.

They write more good stuff ??? like when Pavlich was re-signed to the Dockers there was no story saying good work by the club and all involved but an article from Grandpa Mcgrath saying : "How will Freo afford to keep him and other stars". Its always negative. If WC re-sign Judd and it would be great for your club, there would be none of the negativity just continual smoke blowing up the eagles coits.

Leaving out the key part of the interview with Dermie just shows the WA media are unable to print anything that may see them as favouring one team over the other. The fact is they couldnt give a flying **** about the Dockers.

Originally posted by nurries
Only the Fabian Francis conclusion was this year and was only the conclusion. That was the AFL's doing a backflip cos Francis was never on Freo's list. All the other stuff is old.

Have the Melbourne media beat up on croad this year (prior to this article)? Have the melbourne media said that DJ headland was not worth a pinch of ****y s*$t this year like WA media have? I think they might of given him a little while to adjust.

They write more good stuff ??? like when Pavlich was re-signed to the Dockers there was no story saying good work by the club and all involved but an article from Grandpa Mcgrath saying : "How will Freo afford to keep him and other stars". Its always negative. If WC re-sign Judd and it would be great for your club, there would be none of the negativity just continual smoke blowing up the eagles coits.

Leaving out the key part of the interview with Dermie just shows the WA media are unable to print anything that may see them as favouring one team over the other. The fact is they couldnt give a flying **** about the Dockers.

You obviously have a very selective memory.

This is really boring me why can't Croad just except he shouldn't be payed much at all to play footy, and now all we're hearing is his whinging. From what i heard he liked Perth blah blah why come out and whine about all the crap he gets, every club has a bitch just get used to it. This article is bloody stupid It happens to heaps of footy players getting bagged for earning big money and not performing maybe its just me but this really wasn't worth an article. Didn't Croady play well against the Scum last week. I don't feel sorry for croad in any way and why mention "single mum" and your house three times whats the "single mum" really got to do with it?????:confused:

Originally posted by nurries

tissue...