Strategy Attacking defenders

geelong
Who do you guys think our going to be our main play makers in defence that set up dangerous rebounds out of our back half ?

Do we still stick with Enright, Kelly and Mackie ?
Do we move someone back into the defence such as Varcoe and Guthrie ?
Do we look to bring in some young blood like Bews, thurlow or Smedts ?

We need at least 2 dangerous attacking defenders

Who do you guys think our going to be our main play makers in defence that set up dangerous rebounds out of our back half ?

Do we still stick with Enright, Kelly and Mackie ?
Do we move someone back into the defence such as Varcoe and Guthrie ?
Do we look to bring in some young blood like Bews, thurlow or Smedts ?

We need at least 2 dangerous attacking defenders

Varcoe was already in defence, but didn't attack.
Guthrie is too good as an attacking tagger.
Smedts can't defend.
Bews as a small defender has shown nothing to suggest he can attack - though he might when he grows into the job.
Thurlow's best work in the 1sts has all been up on the wing, his natural position.

Smedts can't defend.
Bews as a small defender has shown nothing to suggest he can attack - though he might when he grows into the job.
Thurlow's best work in the 1sts has all been up on the wing, his natural position.
Murdoch?

He's an unknown as a defender. He has the pace and long kicking, but he still has to get the ball, win one-on-ones and, crucially, make correct decisions, and he's been very poor in these areas.
Yeah, fair enough. His kicking is pretty spot-on, though, isn't it?
I guess we don't need any more outside players, though :(

Smedts can't defend.

Errr ... Brown? If he isn't traded he has good footy skills and has racked up possessions in the backline.

Rebound attacking is pretty much game plan A for us. I recall hearing a stat that we do it better (kick more goals) from it than anyone else.

We could use the Suckling / Hibbered type outlet with the elite fast flat kick though.

Errr ... Brown? If he isn't traded he has good footy skills and has racked up possessions in the backline.

He's certainly looked more comfortable down there than up forward.
Bobby_ likes Hamling for the Mackie role.
Personally, I think he may be in the next lot of cuts if we get Frawley, but who knows.

id just be happy with decent young defenders

if they were decent attacking defenders that would be a bonus

Joel Hamling.

Bloke is very quick for his size. Good below knees with the ball and has good skills. Now if he could just get a game…..

Did I mention he's gotten a lot bigger and stronger too?

GO Catters

Varcoe, Thurlow, Brown, Hamling could even throw in Blicavs

The thing is you gotta play the kids for them to actually get better.
Varcoe,should be doing it but isn't any where near enough.
Thurlow, is a chance with time.
Brown pass.
Hamling no idea.
Blicavs to slow in a football sense.

Joel Hamling.

Bloke is very quick for his size. Good below knees with the ball and has good skills. Now if he could just get a game…..

Did I mention he's gotten a lot bigger and stronger too?

GO Catters

I hope he can add even more size during pre-season then I'm excited to see how he goes in NAB Challenge!

Thunt needs to be given a chance. His form dropped off and he was dropped straight away never to return. Pretty much the opposite of what they did with Varcoe.

Yep, but the VFL games that I saw Hunt play in gave me no reason to see him elevated to the AFL. He was good in 2013 before he done his shoulder but seems to lack confidence since then. A bit like the other bloke mentioned.

I done my shoulder playing footy. I reckon it to me 2-3 years before i was over it

A player with size and pace that can use the ball. Basically need a young Enright clone.

I wouldn't rule out Thurlow yet. Hartman could be an option. Otherwise it looks like a draft need.

Recruit J McGuinness from Tassie. Made All Aust U18 team. Bit skinny for his 189cm height, but seems to read play well and be that link up attacking player. Foot skills seem solid. 3rd round draft pick special.