Ban Hunter From Big Footy

jim440

Jul 19, 2001
Behind the goals, Geelong Rd end
I don't know about the rest of you, but I'm sick and tired of hearing about Hunter (and Dimattina for that matter). They are both fringe players who don't deserve this amount of debate.

Whether these two are in the side or not, makes a miniscule difference to our side. Both can play a role, either can be easily replaced.

Ooh, I think you've done it now.
Originally posted by jim440
I don't know about the rest of you, but I'm sick and tired of hearing about Hunter (and Dimattina for that matter). They are both fringe players who don't deserve this amount of debate.

Whether these two are in the side or not, makes a miniscule difference to our side. Both can play a role, either can be easily replaced.

The problem with Hunter is the exact opposite of all smaller players. He has the size to outbussle anyone in the league one on one but for some reason he gets outmuscled .If he did more body contact and really hurt opponents then the oppents would look twice when he was in the area. Its exactly what the team needs. You look how easy Daniel Chick bust his way thru packs last night because the players know of his reputation. (we need another Mark West)

Originally posted by jim440

Im so sorry you're sick and tired of talk about Hunter, but in case you didn't notice some of us really like him.

Im not gonna stop writing about Kingsley, you don't have to read it

Re: Re: Ban Hunter From Big Footy

Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg

Im so sorry you're sick and tired of talk about Hunter, but in case you didn't notice some of us really like him.

Im not gonna stop writing about Kingsley, you don't have to read it

Go for it. I love the way you guys and PC always stick up for your heroes, its what footys all about I reckon.

Youre deluded perhaps but youre keen. :eek:

Thanks Local

I think what people fail to realise, is that I don't have a problem with Egg or B54, and the banter between our fav. players, however passionate it is, generally doesn't degrade into a personal slanging match, rather "this is what x player has done" etc

It's in good spirit, and creates a good read most of the time.

I for one wouldn't stop it, and i hope Egg & 54 don't either

I certainly won't stop just because Jim 440 wants me to. You have no right to tell us what we can and can't say

I think you'll also find there is far less talk about Kingsley Hunter then most people think. Until the last 2 weeks he had rarely been mentioned this year

Re: Re: Re: Ban Hunter From Big Footy

Originally posted by localyokel

Go for it. I love the way you guys and PC always stick up for your heroes, its what footys all about I reckon.

Youre deluded perhaps but youre keen. :eek:

Agreed

I get a laugh out of it.

I just wish Delre and Groenewagon were still playing so I could enter the fray.

Then there would be no holds barred :D .

A Pies supporter sent me this from one of their weird sites.

I don't know most of the players, but many of you do and will have a laugh (or a groan). Perhaps this side contains some Hunters of the past?

I have had to censor parts of the players descriptions.

"WESTERN BULLDOGS HACK TEAM

B: Sedat Sir, Tony Campbell(vc), Robert Stevenson
H.B: Greg Epplesten, Keenan Reynolds, Matthew Dent
C: Nigel Kellett, Mark West, Joshua Mahoney
H.F: Michael Martin, Glenn Coleman, Trent Bartlett
F: Jason Watts, Danny Del-re(C), Simon Minton-Connell
Foll: Illja Grgic, Peter Quill, Darren Baxter
Int: Paul Dooley, Lincoln Reynolds, David Round, Michael
Frost.

Lets review some of these players shall we....

Sedat Sir - Hack backman who Rex used to call Sir Sedat.
I think he should have been called Sir Hackorama.

Tony Campbell - Melbourne Reject born again Footscray
full back. Invented the gloves (how many players wear
them today?). Also known as Saverio Rocca's first ever
opponent in the AFL. Sav kicked 4 bananas that day!

Robert Stevenson - Sheedy doesnt delist good players.
Tell that to the Bulldogs recruiting staff. We need a tall
back so we will just get anyone...yeh that's right dogs
you keep on persisting with Ellis, Hunter and co!

Greg Eppletsen - Footscray's best and most reliable defender
of the early 90's - yeh right.

Keenan Reynolds - Bulldogs didnt pay me enough, so I
went to North for $200 000 a year to then realise I was
totally s**t and wouldn't get a game.

Matthew Dent - See this is what I mean...Hawthorn want
respect when they recruit hacks like this? Sadly he was like
one of their best players 3-4 years ago.

Nigel Kellett - Wingman pace extroadinaire - Used to love
his battles with Mark Fraser - battle of the pacey hacks.

Mark West - Shoulder reconstruction man who had a 10
minute flash of brilliance in a final and then everyone thought
he was a superstar.

Joshua Mahoney - Get that f****** helmet off **** head.
What a piece of s***.....yeh i'll show you Collingwood.

Michael Martin - Swapped him for Trent Bartlett - even trade
hahahahahahahaha

Glenn Coleman - this guy was like a big hack who took
every opponent on, on every opportunity. Was once a
swan.

Trent Bartlett - I like guys like him because you know they
can never really hurt you when you play against them.
Anyone see this guys brilliance on Sunday??

Jason Watts - Jason "kick it to me" Watts, who once
led the Bulldogs goal kicking after starting his career
in the back pocket. Was a good replacement for Danny
Del-re! (Gave the Fitzroy faithful the up yours, when
Fitzroy were hopeless - what glory that was hey?)

Danny Del-re - Gonzo wogarama hack full forward who
was as cheap as they come. Yeh I kicked bags upon
bags...he should have been a green Grocer at the
Preston market instead - more his style - Skipper of this team

Simon Minton Connell -This guy used to always rip Collingwood
for some reason...he kicked 7 for Carlton against us, 6 for
Sydney and the Bulldogs against us, yet it was then I realised
how crap we were to let him do that to us.

Illja Grgic - Lump of Lard footballer with no definition, skill
or any football brain....I wish he was still around so guys like
Josh could kick his a**

Peter Quill - Who is he? he won a b&f down at Footscray
that's who. Ernie Sigley's love child.

Darren Baxter - Was highly regarded down at the dish
lickers for his tanacity, close checking and running ability...
hhmmm didnt we say the same about Wild?

Paul Dooley - I won the Liston Medal for the best player
in the VFL - so I am good enough to play for the dish lickers.

Lincoln Reynolds - I don't know who this guy is, but he was
on the doggies list a few years back and he has the name
to be included in this hack team - I just thought i'd squeeze
him in

David Round - Son of Barry - Our Williamstown hero!
Bust some heads BOOFA!

Michael Frost - another Liston Medal hero - this time after
playing with the Dogs - do the dogs have a facination with
VFL players?? no wonder they are s***."

Originally posted by Dry Rot

Lincoln Reynolds - I don't know who this guy is, but he was
on the doggies list a few years back and he has the name
to be included in this hack team - I just thought i'd squeeze
him in

He spent a year on our supp list in '97. We had the choice of drafting him or Christian Macri and I think we chose the wrong one. Lincoln was fairly tall and solid and got a lot of the ball.

Is he the brother of the Reynolds at Essendon? I think he may be because he was Lincoln was also a grandson of **** Reynolds.

This team doesnt go back far enough. If you picked it from '77 onwards it would be truly scary. Alistair ford and Mark Noble are two names that come to mind. Terry DeKoning. Jim McAlister. Alan Macconnell.

Originally posted by Dry Rot
Well a Collingwood Web site, must difficult to transfer from crayon. With the labatomy what would they know?

Greg Eppletsen

100 games and no where near our worst defender

Keenan Reynolds

Nothing wrong with him as 3rd backman and handy around goal, not our fault he was greedy and overated himself.

Glenn Coleman

This guy was great for us, a lot like Bandy!

Darren Baxter

Not that bad
"

Agreed, Chops. Eppulsten was a good player, without being a star, and Galaxy was one hell of a good pickup.

The analogy to Bandy is valid. Underated by his old team, but absolutely starred with us. Took on some of the best in an era when there were some very handy CHBs.
Originally posted by Chops

There is nothing wrong with liking a playing that may not be that great in the minds of the majority of supporters. How boring would it be if everyone's favourite player was Chris Grant. The reason that they generate this level of discussion is because some ppl can't understand why Hunter or Dimma could be anyone's favourite player and everytime one of their fans writes about them so many ppl reply disagreeing as their comments often seem outrageous.

pretty harsh on a few of those players IMO.
Galaxy was my hero as little fella sitting behind the goals at the western oval...... that was until he ran into the goal post and it fell on top of me lol.

collingwoods dud side

Backs Josh Mahoney Trent Hotten Jason Bevan
Half Backs Marcus Bahram Terry Keays Brad Cassidy
Centre Brad Fuller Luke Godden Tyson Lane
Half Forward Chad Liddell Mark Richardson Paul Sharkey
Foward Jason Wild Dennis Banks Brad Fuller
Followers Robert Schaefer Dwayne Griffin Tony Francis
Interchange John Barnett Scott Crow Brent Tuckey Leigh Singline

* most of the list is from the collingwood playing list of 1997
Send this to your collingwood mate dry rot and remind him of his short term memory

Re: collingwoods dud side

Originally posted by handball_bart

Send this to your collingwood mate dry rot and remind him of his short term memory

Dennis Banks was a gun. He took a huge mark over Peter Foster one day.

If you are after a crap Collingwood Full Forward go no further than Brian Taylor.

And Brad Fuller was bad at two clubs but picking him twice is a bit harsh. How about David Twomey on the wing?

Re: Re: collingwoods dud side

Originally posted by localyokel

Dennis Banks was a gun. He took a huge mark over Peter Foster one day.

If you are after a crap Collingwood Full Forward go no further than Brian Taylor.

And Brad Fuller was bad at two clubs but picking him twice is a bit harsh. How about David Twomey on the wing?

I'd also find a spot for Nathan Buckley :) .

Originally posted by bulldogs1
Local, was Eppelsten's nickname Iceman?

You have a better memory than I.

Not sure it may have been but I thought it was 'Eppa'.

Went to North after being delisted.
Played for the Big Vee in either '89 or '90.

Originally posted by bulldogs1
Local, was Eppelsten's nickname Iceman?

You have a better memory than I.

Not sure it may have been but I thought it was 'Eppa'.

Went to North after being delisted.
Played for the Big Vee in either '89 or '90.

Re: collingwoods dud side

Originally posted by handball_bart

Even better, my Pies mate sent me the Pies Hack team from that site for the sake of balance. Has anyone heard of these guys?

"Here's the Pies hack team. So let 'em know we don't have short memories....

Luke Godden: I'd pay money to see a race between this guy a Josh Fraser on
his knees.

Cam Venables: Grooming this man as a future runner.

Kent Butcher: One Great mark, One Great hair cut. Should have looked no
further than his name for a career choice.

Brad Cassidy: (Butch) Who the f*** was responsible for this?

Glenn Sandford: Oh my Oh my.....

Justin Staritski: How could North have fit Carey and him in the same side??

Mark Pitura: Vying for Captaincy for the unfulfilled potential squad

Steve Patterson: Picks himself as the central midfielder with penetrating
left foot, general football awareness and of course Blinkers. The fact he
played nearly 100 games for us sums up our mid to late 90's....Oh if I had
a dollar every time I heard from the outer "WHAT THE F*** ARE YOU DOING?"

Stephen Ryan: Richmond's Senior leading goal kicker one year. Got upset one
day when someone messed his hair.....

Stuart Mangin: Rodney Eade must have nightmares for having let this
champion left footer go.

Terry Keays: I bet ya there are still people in the outer out at
Collingwood saying "He is gonna be a Champion this kid!" Thought he was
CAPPER with those tight shorts

Shannon Gibson: Played footy with as much enthusiasm as Sam Newman visiting the vasectomy clinic.

Nick Hider(V.C): Collingwood should have petitioned that every game that
year be a practice match. Vice Captain of this illustrious team and a true
embarrasment to our recruiting staff at Collingwood

Mark Bayliss: Am I still paying taxes for this dumb bastard to be breaking
rocks? I am sure we could have picked him or some skinny kid by the name of
Chris Grant.

John Barnett: (see Staritski)I always wanted to see someone shirt front
this guy he was so s***.

Brad Smith: An icon, A Collossus, A Master; ****er that is... When I first
saw this guy, I swore Collingwood were joking. All those anti cloning
campaigners should present this specimen to scientists.

Dwayne Griffin: Judkins....please

Jason Wild(C): Leader of the Hack Pack. Great kick, Great Mark, Great
handballer, Great Strength, Great Pace......(and they kept picking the poor
bastard)

Marty Warry: Every team needs some comic relief! He too was Fitzroy's final
leading goal scorer.

Andrew Pugsley: HACK! Last seen on the set of THE ADDAMS FAMILY

Robert Schaefer: Will provide solid back up to Smith, they really should
have kept him to show Josh exactly what not to do!

Brendon Tranter: Recruited solely for end of season exhibition matches in
London.

Athos Hrysolakis: This guy was 10 years before his time, really needed him
active with dipper on the boundary

Scott Whiston: A champion triathlete.....but we recruited him for
footy...hhhmmm

Andrew Tranquilli: Just in case we ever need someone to kick a bag against
the West Coast Eagles.

Heath Shephard: King of the one game wonder stars!

Paul Sharkey: This guy was there but never quite there, so in other words
he wasn't anywhere.....

Paul Tuddenham: Gee this guy was good...oh s*** na that was his dad!

Ian McMullin: He was crap at Collingwood so we gave him to Essendon, only
to feel sorry for them and again take him off their hands once again...

Brad Rowe: Looked like Platten, ran like Platten, but unfortunately played
like Griffin....

Marcus Barham: See Paul Tuddenham

Matthew Francis: All juniors should model there kicking styles on him....

Chad Liddell: Add him to the race between Josh on his knees and Godden on
his feet....

Josh Mahoney: Get that helmet off d*** head

Troy Kirwen: See Dwayne Griffin

Craig Jacotine: The 3 S's, shoddy, slow and s***!

Mark Fraser: $150 000 to go to Essendon HA HA HA!!! What a bargain!

Jon Hassell: He tried, but then again so does our Captain!"

Draft

Hey dry rot 2 of the funniest things ive seen in the draft on TV.
1. Sydney Swans were having their 5th round draft pick and Ricky Bahram was calling the shots. Rodney Eade was Giggling at Bahram and Bahram was Giggling back.Now im not a lip reader but im guessing the conversation went like this.
Eade: I dare you to pick him
Bahram: Dont joke Rod I will . ill pick him
Eade: Ill give you 100 bucks if you pick him.
Bahram:" Ok your on". Turns to the mic." Number 563 Ryan Oconnor Essendon.
Bahram and Eade rolling on the ground with laughter.
As it turned out it was a good pick. Because they needed someone to lift plugger off in his last game.
2. Richmond (dont laugh yet I havn't started). They pick Aaron Fiora with their first pick he was about number 5. Then Frawley sits them at the draft table with them and looks to ask Aaron who they should pick next. Good to see Danny trusts his recruiting officer.
Ive missed not having the draft on t.v last year it provides great entertainment. Now if you dont mind Im off to get a life.