ilovethelegs

Norwood
Thought it would make for some interesting stories to talk about scams/scamming.

Have you or anyone you know fallen victim to a scam?

- Microsoft scam
- Nigerian money scam
- Russian bride scam
etc

I'm sure all of us know somebody who was fallen for some trickery, leaving us asking how they could be so stupid.

Have a few stories I will add shortly.

I go to my letterbox every day. No Russian bride.

FFFUUUUUUUUU Sergei!

A middle aged guy I know got done by the Microsoft scam. After being talked into logging onto 'their' website, downloading and running an executable to clean his PC, they then directed him to another website to enter his credit card details to make a small payment for their services.

Terrible you say? It gets better.

He then asked the caller if there was anything else he needed to do as he had to go out shortly. "No worries" says the 'Microsoft Guy', "just give me remote access to your machine and head out. I'll fix all your issues and then just log myself out". Sure enough, he does just that.

A week or so later he finds a ton of unauthorised credit card transactions on his card. Exactly what they also did whilst they had unchecked remote access, god only knows.

Thankfully he had the sense to get his machine formatted once he realised he had been done over.

True facepalm stuff.

How stupid was that guy on 60 Minutes just before?

Geezus, what a complete nutjob, giving those Africans shit like he'd totally acheived something. Worst part was when he was laughing at them for "being scammed so they became a scammer" UHH YOU DID THE SAME THING YOU ****WIT.

How stupid was that guy on 60 Minutes just before?

Geezus, what a complete nutjob, giving those Africans shit like he'd totally acheived something. Worst part was when he was laughing at them for "being scammed so they became a scammer" UHH YOU DID THE SAME THING YOU silly person.

So a bloke just walks up in the street, tells you he has smuggled thousands into the country and just needs some funds to buy the chemicals to remove the dye.

Sounds legit! How could you turn down such an opportunity!?

I really do wonder how it actually happens. How does that not ring alarm bells? If the person was at their lowest ebb and desperate, I guess I could kind of understand but to cough up $140k in payments, he obviously wasn't hard up in the first place.

Got scammed by a fake door-to-door salesperson offering 1 month trials at a gym for $20.

Was a pretty good scam to be honest and he did it very well. I'm sure he would have got a heap of people.

Got scammed by a fake door-to-door salesperson offering 1 month trials at a gym for $20.

Was a pretty good scam to be honest and he did it very well. I'm sure he would have got a heap of people.
Go on.

He just knocked on my door one day and had the polo shirt and the lanyard etc and the same douchey high energy vibe that most gym sales staff have.

I was looking to go back to the gym and thought **** it I know this chain so why not try it out it's only $20. So I gave him the money and he said that a member of the sales staff will call me back in the next few days to arrange a fitness exam but if i wanted to go down earlier to just drop into the gym.

I rang the gym a few days later and they told me they weren't doing the trial memberships and that it must have been a scam and to call the police etc.

Obviously it's not a lot of money, but i reckon it'd have a fairly high success rate.

I know a girl that got done on an internet dating site. Made contact with a guy from another country. Talked for a few weeks on the phone then he pulled the old "can't afford to come over and meet you can you send some money" trick.

If anyone wants to protect themselves from this sort of thing, just send me $49.95 and I'll send you my booklet "How To Avoid Being Scammed".

I've only got a $100 note. Can you post me back the change?

Wouldn't call it a scam exactly, but i did get ambushed and sucked in by the red cross.
Thought i was talking to some random chick, nek minnit, im giving credit card details and now donating $15 a month to charity.
My mum got scammed once by one of those fake emails from the bank. Asked her to put in her online banking details.
She realised pretty quickly what she'd done and she rang up the bank

Readers Digest Sweepstakes. I only signed up to it after watching something on TV about entering every competition available to maximise chances of winning lol. Ended up getting ridiculous amounts of mail from them with most of it advertising products saying how if you buy them it will upgrade the chances of winning etc.

Didn't get sucked into buying anything but still sent off replys to keep my chances of winning alive until I got mail from them saying I owed them $20, kept getting this in the mail and then they started to say they would get the debt collectors involved if I refused to pay. So I got sucked in and gave them $20 and any mail I got from then I chucked straight out. Haven't had any mail from them for years now but it was really annoying.

I know a girl that got done on an internet dating site. Made contact with a guy from another country. Talked for a few weeks on the phone then he pulled the old "can't afford to come over and meet you can you send some money" trick.

This is what i don't understand. I must err on the side of untrusting because i would have to know someone very well before giving them any money. My BS meter would code red alert if someone i had recently met hinted for money from me.

A middle aged guy I know got done by the Microsoft scam. After being talked into logging onto 'their' website, downloading and running an executable to clean his PC, they then directed him to another website to enter his credit card details to make a small payment for their services.

Terrible you say? It gets better.

He then asked the caller if there was anything else he needed to do as he had to go out shortly. "No worries" says the 'Microsoft Guy', "just give me remote access to your machine and head out. I'll fix all your issues and then just log myself out". Sure enough, he does just that.

A week or so later he finds a ton of unauthorised credit card transactions on his card. Exactly what they also did whilst they had unchecked remote access, god only knows.

Thankfully he had the sense to get his machine formatted once he realised he had been done over.

True facepalm stuff.

At the computer shop where i work, we've had people come in who have been done by these Microsoft scammers multiple times. Some people are just beyond help. Our all time high score is 3 so far.

First time: Standard story. They rang, said she had viruses, let them in, top work lady. We give her the lecture, never EVER let anyone who rings you into your shit, that sort of thing.
Second time: They rang, used the same story, she told them she'd already been scammed by them, at which point they said "Yes, but the software we want to install this time will stop it ever happening again." She thinks that's a good deal. Lets them in again. Proceeds to try and convince us that she's not an idiot for letting them again and justifies why she thought it was legit.
Third time: Scammers ring again. "We heard you've been scammed? We're from the federal police and we'd like to refund to your money. We just need your credit card details." She wouldn't fall for that surely? Yep. She did.

At the computer shop where i work, we've had people come in who have been done by these Microsoft scammers multiple times. Some people are just beyond help. Our all time high score is 3 so far.

First time: Standard story. They rang, said she had viruses, let them in, top work lady. We give her the lecture, never EVER let anyone who rings you into your shit, that sort of thing.
Second time: They rang, used the same story, she told them she'd already been scammed by them, at which point they said "Yes, but the software we want to install this time will stop it ever happening again." She thinks that's a good deal. Lets them in again. Proceeds to try and convince us that she's not an idiot for letting them again and justifies why she thought it was legit.
Third time: Scammers ring again. "We heard you've been scammed? We're from the federal police and we'd like to refund to your money. We just need your credit card details." She wouldn't fall for that surely? Yep. She did.

I am facepalming so badly right now that I think I will have finger marks across my face when I remove my hand.

And yes I can type with 1 hand and my eyes covered

Sometimes just one face palm isn't enough.

pffacepalm.jpg

Sometimes I really miss the good old days when you actually had to have some knowledge to be able to use a computer.

That is incredible!

The scammers must keep trying her until she learns.

Sometimes I really miss the good old days when you actually had to have some knowledge to be able to use a computer.

Tell me about it. We wouldn't have as much business if that was the case but sometimes i do really long for the days of DOS.

Had a mate who got done by the White Van scam in a shopping centre carpark. Paid $800 for a $150 projector worth '$2000'. We never get tired of bringing that up.

This is what i don't understand. I must err on the side of untrusting because i would have to know someone very well before giving them any money. My BS meter would code red alert if someone i had recently met hinted for money from me.
I suppose when people are lonely they get vulnerable and desperate.