Ben Jolley

sydneyfootyfan

Draftee
collingwood
I can't believe no-one is picking up on this guy. Captain of Vic Metro, Captain of Calder Cannons, does all the one-percenters and is a much better player than Becker, Limbach and Dunn.

As you say he has a lot to recommend him, however the concern is his build. Preseason he was listed at 183cm and 69kg. Even if he has bulked up a bit since then he is still very lightly framed and needs and extra 10kg.

Being born in Feb 86 makes him one of the older guys as well so it is not as though he hasn't had time to bulk up. The other factor is that he was elligable last year but overlooked, so that suggests a late round pick at best. I think he will be rookie-listed.

Ben showed great leadership at the National Championships however his decison making and his kicking lets him down. He also doesnt put his body on the line enough and win the contestd ball. There also queries on his pace.
I think he deserves a Rookie Listing due to his consisitency in the TAC Cup.

Ragingbull said:
Ben showed great leadership at the National Championships however his decison making and his kicking lets him down. He also doesnt put his body on the line enough and win the contestd ball. There also queries on his pace.
I think he deserves a Rookie Listing due to his consisitency in the TAC Cup.
He is a natural leader who can play and when he gets stronger I can see him being a good half back flanker. I rate him as a 3rd round draft pick.

Ragingbull pffft u loser as if you would now anything. "Doesn't put his body on the line". Putting your body on the line for the team is the reason why the Cannons have done so well. And he wouldn't have been put as captain of the Cannons if he diddn't do that. Lead the Cannons 1%ers for the year.

Your posts was a waste of a post.

The Sensation said:
Ragingbull pffft u loser as if you would now anything. "Doesn't put his body on the line". Putting your body on the line for the team is the reason why the Cannons have done so well. And he wouldn't have been put as captain of the Cannons if he diddn't do that. Lead the Cannons 1%ers for the year.

Dont call me a loser if you dont agree with my opinon. Waste of a post get lost mate I call it as I see it. Jolley wont do the hard things at TAC level so he wont be able to do them at AFL level . I saw Calder a few times and wasnt impressed with his contested work. Sensation It is my opinon and you should respect that as I would with your opinon.

The Sensation said:

I'm not the biggest Ben Jolley fan, but it is not due to any lack of commitment at the footy. The fact he can put his head over the ball and get in and under was his first 'strength' that I noticed when he debuted at TAC level. As The Sensation said Calder don't choose soft captains - Andrew Welsh, Adam Cosham and Adam Bentick were the past three, and they didn't take a backward step either.

I agree with what people say about his size, and also about his kicking. They are his weaknesses I reckon.

I'm not convinced he can take the next step, and if it was my choice I wouldn't draft him tomorrow. Maybe as a rookie in a few weeks. However he's been a good TAC Cup player for Calder over the last couple of years and if someone does pick him then good luck to him.