Benet Copping

• Thread starter Thread starter jc67

jc67 said:
Anyone know if this fella is Stevens son? and if he is can we use a father son?
http://www.footydraft.com/players.php?player=benet_copping

NOTE: steven Copping was a Glenelg player (i guess over 250 games) a real rough nut, winger mostly, but versitile.
Stiffy? your usual insight would be apreciated.
yes it is Steve's son and if im not incorrect did steve play for Glenelg or the Eagles?? I dont think i would waste a pick on him, he plays tall but i dont think he is tall enough for AFL and isnt quick enough to play small, he also is the biggest sook i have ever met in my life, has a cry nearly everytime a free kick goes against him!! Ive watched Bennet play since he was 11 and he has been going backwards since 2001, if we are going to pick up a player like him we should pick up Jack Juniper.

RooDog said:
yes it is Steve's son and if im not incorrect did steve play for Glenelg or the Eagles?? I dont think i would waste a pick on him, he plays tall but i dont think he is tall enough for AFL and isnt quick enough to play small, he also is the biggest sook i have ever met in my life, has a cry nearly everytime a free kick goes against him!! Ive watched Bennet play since he was 11 and he has been going backwards since 2001, if we are going to pick up a player like him we should pick up Jack Juniper.
His father was the same - always underestimated
Played for glenelg.
I would have thought he would have qualified under father/son - why has there been no mention :confused:

RooDog said:
Thanks Adam
Steven was definatly Bays! Leading Goalkicker in 85 (he was versitile and played most of that season at FF) He also was a bit selfish and would argue with the umps.
Bennet is 191 cm and growing so i think he will be tall enough and his maturity level will chance within a couple of years (by the time he fills out).
Kerley reckons he is a certian 2nd round pick this year.
can you tell me about Jack Juniper?

jc67 said:
Thanks Adam
Steven was definatly Bays! Leading Goalkicker in 85 (he was versitile and played most of that season at FF) He also was a bit selfish and would argue with the umps.
Selfish - no way - a great player the Crows would have crawled over cut glass to get. If his son is half the player.
He also played a couple of seasons with Essendon, so a very good player .

Again not qualified under father/son?

jc67 said:
Thanks Adam
Bennet is 191 cm and growing so i think he will be tall enough and his maturity level will chance within a couple of years (by the time he fills out).
Kerley reckons he is a certian 2nd round pick this year.
can you tell me about Jack Juniper?

Juniper has spent all year playing with Sacred Heart in the 1st 18s and was last week best in noe of the glenelg junior sides, he is about 4-5cm taller than bennet, has a massive leap, can take a mark and can kick the ball 60m without even trying, his biggest problem is he doesnt want to play footy that much and is probably not going to nomintae for the draft!! Fremantle want to pick him up they keep ringing him and trying to convince him, i can imagine though he would nominate though if he felt safe he was going to stay in adelaide, ofcourse we cant guarantee that so i doubt he will nominate, but did hear last week he is considering though!! he will probably be mroe a FF/CHF who could pinch hit in the ruck occasionally!!

dreamkillers said:
Would he have played 200 games at Glenelg given he spent a few years in the VFL........
I think he did but not 100 per cent sure If essendon are in the mix i think he will be of to them.
Steve was a good chasing foward not many of them around

No worries under father/son as Stephen Copping played over 200 games for Glenelg. Unless the Vics have shifted the goalposts again.

Stephen Copping 246 games, 460 goals for Glenelg (1974-1981, 1984-1986)
42 games, 80 goals for Essendon (1982-84). Premiership player 1985, 1986; Essendon Grand Final player 1983.

Glenelg Leading Goalkicker 1979, 1981, 1985 (premiership year).

Best known for his Inspector Gadget-like reach.

marvin said:
Stephen Copping 246 games, 460 goals for Glenelg (1974-1981, 1984-1986)
42 games, 80 goals for Essendon (1982-84). Premiership player 1985, 1986; Essendon Grand Final player 1983.

Glenelg Leading Goalkicker 1979, 1981, 1985 (premiership year).

Best known for his Inspector Gadget-like reach.
EXACTLY what I was thinking. :)

Has this young fella got arms like his 'old man'?

Why no talk of Bennet for father/son? Has this been raised in the media in Adelaide?

Stiffy_18 said:
I agree. Fair chance that we could get someone better with the 3rd round pick.
exactly... played ruck althrough junior career until recently when he stopped growing and everyone has gone past him!! use to dominate when younger and is really struggling to adapt nowdays, i honestly cant see him making the grade at AFL level!

not that I'm disagreeing - but footydraft.com has him as a second round pick ...

He is talented, is very raw however. I reckon with persaverence and a lot of weights he could hold down CHB or at least some spot in defence on any AFL list in about 4-5 years time. Until then would struggle to make the grade, agree there. Def talent tho, has raw football ability than cant be taught. Its in the genes too, not that im saying he will be as good as Stephen Copping tho, cos I sincerely doubt that.

Just in case it was missed on the other thread:

Benet Copping

Details:
Club: Parkside/Sturt
DOB: 7 October 1986 Hgt: 191cm Wgt: 75kg
Position: Centre Half Back
Natural Foot: Right

Honours:
AIS/AFL Academy 2002
South Australia 2003, 2004
National Draft Camp 2004

Strengths: Copping is a skinny centre-half back who has shown glimpses of promise without really dominating a game at any stage. He is a very good reader of the play and a good mark. He is also confident in his disposal and will use his left foot.

Although used in defence at the carnival, Copping can play forward if required. He will be a much better player once his puts on some weight.

Weaknesses:
Didn't really have a huge impact in the carnival, and is yet to break in Sturt's senior side. Definitely needs to hit the weights room.

Footydraft.com comment: Benet is the type of player who could go on to be a very good AFL defender in 5 years time, or he might not even be drafted. The potential is definitely there along with the footy smarts, but he hasn't quite put it altogether yet.

OldSchool
It's currently being passionately debated on the Dogs board and I want to see and hear a bit more on Copping and Toovey, who I think are genuine top 10 prospects/possibilities, before committing to the pick. I have been impressed with a number of Victorian players and believe that whilst there is no clear number 6 selection for the Dogs it's going to be a great selection to have.

Still no feedback? :confused:

Wayne's-World said:
Still no feedback?
I have a theory:)
His mysterious non mention is some how related to why we are doing the stinger trade a month early, we dont want to show our hand?

I emailed cornes and kg AGAIN and still nothing, there is definatly something very fishy going on.

roodog, can you pm me rucci's email, I'll ask him, or you can if you like. There is a story in this for sure!!!!

jc67 said:
I have a theory:)
His mysterious non mention is some how related to why we are doing the stinger trade a month early, we dont want to show our hand?

I emailed cornes and kg AGAIN and still nothing, there is definatly something very fishy going on.

roodog, can you pm me rucci's email, I'll ask him, or you can if you like. There is a story in this for sure!!!!
Can't see there being anything fishy - fact is he can't be snatched from us, unless we think he will go 4th round?

Fact is this board is unusually quiet on the subject - and that surprises me
:confused: