Votes: 3 6.8%

North Adelaide
Personally I dislike Adelaide Oval because you're so far away from the action but a lot of people like it.
If I had to do it in order I'd go:
Glenelg Oval
Prospect Oval
Woodville Oval
Richmond Oval
Elizabeth Oval
Adelaide Oval
Norwood Oval
Alberton Oval
Unley Oval
Noarlunga Oval

I lean towards the grounds with a bit of grass for the kids to play on. If just with my mates I'd put Norwood Oval probably 3rd or 4th purely for the Coopers.
Bring back Thebby, Id have that at no 3!

i'd rank unley up there.

mine is

bay
unley
parade
alberton
adelaide oval
prospect
noarlunga
richmond
woodville
footy park
elizabeth

Prospect at number 2! - Has the council finally spent some money? Last time I was at Prospect (5+ yrs ago) it was more like a rubbish dump with all the litter lying around (mainly because the bins were overflowing!) and the crappers were a disgrace

You're not letting your bias show through are you RW?

p.s. did you catch up with an old school friend on Saturday? :D

Naughty Monkey, half of Prospects toilets have been knocked down and I havent seen much litter, mind you those farking trees they planted half way down the terrace **** me.
Nah, you've got to remember Propsect has the cheapest beer in the SANFL so it should be everyone's fav ground, also the grassed area under the scoreboard is ideal for the kiddies.
Yes did catch up with Pea-Nis on Saturday, it was fun, still weird seeing him barrack for the bays though! lol
Very soft effort by you preferring to play tennis to watching the blockbuster at Adelaide Oval though!
;)

BTW Unley and Alberton should automatically be last if Noarlunaga wasnt built in the worst spot they could find in the Southern Hemisphere.
Any oval that you cant walk fully around should be for amateur level only.

There is one good thing about Noarlunga...doing doughnuts in the carpark after the game!

I thought the tennis was going to be less painful - and that was the first physical act I've done since Easter :D

I think I was right too! (How can any team not run down North in the last quarter when they only lead by 3 goals :mad: :mad: :mad: )

Anyway, the REAL Noarlunga Oval is still at Old Noarlunga, and is a great oval.
Must admit Ive only enjoyed one day at Noarlunga and that was when I knew one of the South VPs who got me into the glassed off area and I sucked free suds all day!
Only good thing about Alberton is the pasty man, he rocks!
I repeat Unley Oval isn't up to league standard, its an embarassment to the SANFL.

This poll is a great idea Wedgie,

Well, I have just voted for Prospect Oval, mainly because it's my second home and I love the scoreboard (expect for the frellin' tree in the front of it) I reckon it is chain saw time!!!! he he :p
I also love the place, because I feel at home and safe there...However more grass is what she needs, so Wedgie's and other people's little people can run around.

It's rather interesting that Prospect, Elizabeth and Unley are neck and neck. I find Unley Oval to small for football, but has a little bit of character (especially, home made soup!!) yummy, and don't get me started with Elizabeth Oval

If I was to put the ovals in order, they would be:

Prospect Oval
Adelaide Oval (Bring back can beer!!)
Glenelg Oval
Woodville Oval
Richmond Oval
Unley Oval
Elizabeth Oval
Norwood Oval
Alberton Oval (Pastie Man)
Noarlunga Oval (To far!!) he he

And I agree with Wedgie: Bring back Thebby, but I would put it as No: 2 :D

By the way Naughty Monkey - the council, has given us some money and the renovations to Prossie Oval are commencing...;)

SANFL OVALS

BC BLOKE'S OVAL VOTE:

1. Adelaide: I live in Adelaide and can just walk to this picturesque ground. I can't believe an AFL Club has not made this their home ground. I love it.

2. Elizabeth: A big, beautiful ground with the biggest and best club facilities. A great oval for kids with grass practically everywhere.

3. Norwood: A pokey little cow paddock but there's plenty of pub/restaurant options before and after the game. A terrible oval from a player's view - got to be careful of running into a brick wall on the Western wing! Leave your kids at home and hit Fin MaCool's after the game.

4. Football Park: A cold, soul-less piece of concrete with disgusting food. However, I'm warming to the place after the last 2 years! :D

5. Prospect: Not too bad, good atmosphere for banter with the North grog squad at the southern end.

6. Woodville: A neat, average suburban ground. Don't hate it, don't love it. Gotta laugh at that Eagles Raffle man - "AAAAARRRRRRRR EEEGOOOWS RAFFLE!!"

7. Richmond: Too drab and industrial. A cold hard place in the cold, hard western suburbs.

8. Glenelg/Unley - They look the same with the outer blocked off at the southern end. I dislike any oval where you can't see 360 degrees of crowd.

9. Alberton: Same as Glenelg/Unley except a little more run-down. The place should be demolished.

10. Noarlunga: Crap location, no atmosphere. But give 'em time to develop.

Originally posted by raboyle
I like Adelaide the best...but in the suburban grounds I do like Norwood.
What he said!

Adelaide Oval is the BEST place to watch a footy match in the state. Great atmosphere, handy to loads of pubs for pre/after game drinks, handy to transport, and the only bar in the SANFL which serves Stout!

Of the suburban grounds I like Norwood best. Excellent atmosphere, very close to the action even if you're at the back of the northern stand. The best BBQ in the SANFL and Coopers beer to boot!

Re: SANFL OVALS

Originally posted by bc bloke
8. Glenelg/Unley - They look the same with the outer blocked off at the southern end. I dislike any oval where you can't see 360 degrees of crowd.
Have you ever been to Glenelg Oval? :confused:

I agree with the assessment of Unley - it is an embarrassment to the Sturt FC. They left the pristine Adelaide Oval for that dung-heap?!?

... and add my voice to the chorus to Bring Back Thebby!

Glenelg Oval Rocks, I voted for it as the best.
Great facilities (including Mrs Wedgie's mum at the cake stall and Mrs Wedgie's dad at the souvenier stand), lots of grass for the kids to play at, nice area, great public transport, close to the action, and a walk away from decent pubs, shops, etc.
Only thing that annoyed me was when they closed the Eastern gates for a few years (as the toilets were outside the gates!) but with the work at the southern end they've re-opened them.
BC Bloke, I've been to Glenelg every year since 1983 and I can assure you can quite easily walk around the southern end, otherwise I wouldnt have been able to meet Uncle Steve or get a beer!

Its only a 5 minute drive home too, which is always a bonus!

It's pretty hard to determine which is the best ground, because there are so many factors to weigh up.

- the state of the oval itself
- facilities
- opposition supporters
- atmosphere
- results there
- distance from play
- location of oval
- weather conditions

Anyway here is my list... remember these are from the perspective of a South Adelaide supporter living in O'Halloran Hill :D

1. Noarlunga Oval
Built in a shocking location, awful weather, ****es down in winter, icy cold and windy most weeks, not many supporters. Atmosphere isn't too bad if you're on the grandstand side. Club is directly next to the oval, which means half-time escapes to the warmth of the pokie room for free coffee. Only 10 minutes away for me. Really scraping at the bottom of the barrel here to find positives, so I think I'll give up... it's our home ground + home crowd, so I love playing there... the end.

2. Norwood Oval
One of the best atmospheres in the league, and as someone else said, you can be 10 rows back and still be close to the action. Difficult to get there, and usually lose, but I enjoy playing there anyway, especially on a Friday night.

3. Adelaide Oval
Love playing at Adelaide Oval, especially on a Friday night. Transport is easy... usually a great atmosphere... good food/drink facilities. The fact that you can't get onto the ground at 1/4 and 3/4 time is a bit of a downside for me. Apart from that, great place to watch footy.

4. Unley Oval
Don't mind going to Unley Oval... Unley means 'Shake 'n' Dog' from Wendy's at half time, which provides a light at the end of the tunnel during the usual belting we cop. Usually we stand behind Blues_Girl and the family which is entertaining, and soon we will be able to present the inaugural 'Nasty Cup' to the day's winner. The fact that only 1/2 of the oval is open to supporters is ridiculous.

5. Suspect Oval
Fair way to travel, but the last 2 times we've played there, we've won by under a goal. Great memories for me. The fact that there isn't actually a fenced off race for opposition teams also means that you can pat the boys on the back after the game, and also walk straight into the rooms and sing the song with the players, which is lots of fun. Food everywhere, which is nice.

6. Glenelg Oval
Only 10 - 15 minutes away. Don't mind playing there... usually lay back behind the goals on the grass which is great. Plus, with Glenelg, there's always a good chance of coming away with a win, which can only be a positive :D

7. Woodville Oval
We always lose here. It takes forever to get there, and always leave disappointed. Don't mind the oval itself, but hate playing there. Supporters are usually cocky arseholes.

8. Richmond Oval
I hate everything about West Adelaide... the team, the club, the supporters, the oval... it is a hole... no supporters (and that's saying something coming from a South supporter)... no atmosphere. The supporters that do show up are usually without morals, dignity... and teeth. Richmond Oval is also home to countless arguments with the infamous "Mullet Trio", as Anne (Blues_Girl) can attest to. Absolutely hate going to this hole.

9. Alberton Oval
See Richmond Oval... except replace "no supporters" with "army of rabid undignified ferals". Usually pelted with abuse for the entire match, and in 2001 we were also pelted with small rocks. The only upside of going here is that when we win... it's usually the highlight of what usually proves to be an otherwise tragic season (ie... 2002).

10. Elizabeth Oval
It takes a bus and two trains to get there... which means that we end up spending more time on public transport than we do at the game itself. Elizabeth is on the other side of the planet to me. Usually cop abuse all day 'Alberton style' from ferals, usually spouting the tired "long trip back to Noarlunga" spiel, which is amusing, considering it's highly unlikely that these f*ckers have ever been to Noarlunga in their lives. After taking 10 years to get there, we're usually belted anyway, and then have to run for our lives to escape alive.

--. Football Park
Will let you know in 20 years time when we finally make the finals again :(

Geezus Go South, are you a man or a blouse?
You forgot the most important thing in assessing a ground:
BEER!
Prospect has the cheapest and Norwood has Coopers so I rate them both up there.
Adelaide Oval comes second to last for thos ****y little cups and Footy Pk comes dead last in the whole world as you cant even drink a beer while watching the footy live!
Alberton's way down there too as you have to fight your way through a flock of ferals to get a drink, but lucky for me Port were on a losing streak last team we played there hence none of them turned up.

Go South, I don't know where you were in recent years (probably hitting the pokies or something) but Bulldog supporters have outnumbered South fans. Just because yer ladies auxiliary (bless their souls) take 8 rows of seats in the grandstand doesn't mean there's a stack of Panther fans at the ground.

Noarlunga Oval is a bit like what Elizabeth Oval was, say, 30 years ago. Built in the middle of a cow paddock. Sadly for South it's also in a natural wind tunnel propagating rumours that a wind-turbine will be erected next to the clubrooms to generate income from the National power grid.

Sorry about my assessment of Glenelg Oval. I may be mistaken, but I distinctly remember last year the Southern end was blocked off. Being a traditional "end-to-ender" I tend to remember the ovals that don't have proper access! Having said that, it may have been a temporary measure as other areas of growing grass were also roped off. I'll be at Glenelg Oval again on 10/8/2002 so I'll check it out again then.

This Oval poll was a great idea. With some photos of each oval it would make a great web page idea. Get onto it somebody, before I do!

Thebby

What exactly is happening with Thebarton Oval at the minute? Does anybody know?

Jerome

Just to prove the Southern end of Glenelg Oval is open, here's the Grog Squad celebrating yet another goal there earlier this year:
GrogSquadLowRes.jpg

and why is it that every home game for the last few years its always nice weather at Prospect? Heres the view of the old Grandstand earlier this year from where I stand (under the scoreboard):
Grandstand.JPG

Originally posted by RoosterWedgie

Nah, you've got to remember Propsect has the cheapest beer in the SANFL so it should be everyone's fav ground, also the grassed area under the scoreboard is ideal for the kiddies.
Agree with some of your sentiments (namely the former) but Prospect is a dangerous ground for kids with a 10 foot drop to the asphalt at the back of the hill without any barriers to protect them. You cant beat Elizabeth or Adelaide regards space for the kids.
Alot of that tired Elizabeth bashing crap in this thread. Surely the poll is to do with the ground and if any of those authors have been to the ground and stood on the terraces, a friendlier lot you could not find.

Originally posted by UDOGS

Agree with some of your sentiments (namely the former) but Prospect is a dangerous ground for kids with a 10 foot drop to the asphalt at the back of the hill without any barriers to protect them. You cant beat Elizabeth or Adelaide regards space for the kids.
Alot of that tired Elizabeth bashing crap in this thread. Surely the poll is to do with the ground and if any of those authors have been to the ground and stood on the terraces, a friendlier lot you could not find.
Its fenced off at the grass part under the scoreboard where my kids run around.
Can people be fair when assessing grounds taking into account several things such as proximity and being able to walk around the full oval, for christ sakes, Unley and Elizabeth? Stop showing you bias peoples!
:p

Originally posted by bc bloke
This Oval poll was a great idea. With some photos of each oval it would make a great web page idea. Get onto it somebody, before I do!

There is an Australian website devoted to our wonderful venues where football is played. AFL, SANFL, VFL, WAFL etc... most of the grounds are in there but he does need some help with our ovals.

So go to www.austadiums.com and send some info about our SANFL footy grounds and check out some of the ovals that are unknown to some of us.

i'll give it a go by my bais is definately will go with my best memories

prospect
norwood
glenelg
woodville
adelaide
richmond
elizabeth
alberton
unley
noarlunga
:eek: :eek: :eek: