Sponsored BigFooty Saints Player Sponsorship - Event 1 - Spud's game

Gday all,

First event for the year, you know the drill please post reply if your keen to go in the raffle for one of the tix!
Gotta RSVP by 4th May so quickish turnaround!

Date: Friday 9 May

Time: 6:00pm function time, for a 7:40pm match start

Dress Code: Neat business casual, No ripped denim or runners permitted

Inclusions: Selected drinks and a light food offering provided

Cheers

Alrighty, apologies for the delay, I have been waiting for Saint Watto to step up with a report first as well I dont really want to talk bout the Bloose game, but after the Weagles game yesty I guess it cant be much worse!

Rolled up the event which was on level 2 in the old Ponsford stand, nice view from up there actually, The HCA Harrison room its called, and was nice enough although was a funny long and thin room so not sure was the right setup for this type of event, but alas was good enough.

Nice choice of beers on the menu and some fancy food options too, little prawn toast thing and the burgers went alright, the other things were bit fancy for a humble bloke from Frankston but I gave them all a sample cuz gotta new things dont ya!

Bruce Eva as always was the MC and his intro speech mention basically all the stats that suggested it was going to be an easy win for us basically, which I thought at the time was only setting us up for failure.

Max King and Paddy Dow were the first speakers and both spoke positively about SPud and the event and seemed upbeat about there injuries.
Kozi was next speaker and spoke bout the good old days under Ross and with his battles mentally at times through his career.
Tom Boyd was in attendance before going out to the ground for the onfield speech which I thought was well said too

Then the the actually football started...........

I did see Saint Watto but as always he is a VERY popular man at these types of events, a man of the people if you like, and each time I was going to go up and say G'day he seemed locked in conversation so I left him alone in the end.

I left at half time in the end to go and watch the 2nd half with a mate who was sitting on his own and tbh has been having some mental health struggles so thought was best to sit with him for the remainder of 'Saints footy'

Boydie....I'd been keeping my powder dry until you had posted your review....you do a way way better review than myself.

Your not wrong about the Weagles game......I made the catastrophic mistake in going over there.....mind you....it was 26 C every day....glorious !!!!!!

Went to a couple of Saints functions....Milney was the guest speaker at both.....it confirmed 2 things....Milney doesn't stop talking....and....he drinks beer like a fish !!!!!

We'll leave at that....we all know how the main movie ended.

Back on topic.....as Boydie said,the Harrison room is this very long function room....the view of the ground was absolutely spectacular.

The atmosphere with all the troops was great.

The finger food was great........the sliders were awesome....one of the group I was with set a new PB in demolishing sliders....it was a sight to behold.......and boydie nailed it....the beer and wine selection was top notch.

Half time fare included Party Pies and Sausage rolls.....scones and jam for the more refined punters....enough fare to sink a small battle cruiser.

"Beva" as usual was great as MC.......great to see Big Maxy and Paddy Dow there.

Maxy was confident that he'll be back after the bye...naturally he didn't say which week...lol.

And Paddy Dow....what a horror run he has had(horror run=Sundays' game)

And to think it was initially a blister on his knee.....which resulted in 3 subsequent surgeries...incredible.

As boydie said....then the game started,

Kosi was great....he a really great sense of humor when he's firing.

Footy result aside(man...that hurt)it was a great night.

I did see Saint Watto but as always he is a VERY popular man at these types of events, a man of the people if you like, and each time I was going to go up and say G'day he seemed locked in conversation so I left him alone in the end.

I left at half time in the end to go and watch the 2nd half with a mate who was sitting on his own and tbh has been having some mental health struggles so thought was best to sit with him for the remainder of 'Saints footy'
Boydie....thanks for the kind words....I usually chew someone's ear off until they politely head in the opposite direction.

Good on you for joining a mate who is having mental Health struggles.

I salute you.

That explained why I never sighted you after half time....was keeping an eye out for you during the evening and assumed that you'd parked down the other end of the room.

Prior to half time....you should have thrown a slider at me....I would have caught it with my mouth.

:) :) :)

Sponsored BigFooty Saints Player Sponsorship - Event 1 - Spud's game