Billings verse Gresham

• Thread starter Thread starter AFLOnline

Who would you take?

Similar players, similar builds. Who would you take if you has the choice out of the 2 and the other were to leave the club and why?

Inb4 whynotboth.jpg, can't have both.. sorry!

I'll reserve my answer for later in the thread.

Who would you take?

Similar players, similar builds. Who would you take if you has the choice out of the 2 and the other were to leave the club and why?

Inb4 whynotboth.jpg, can't have both.. sorry!

I'll reserve my answer for later in the thread.
Billings has more pure match winning ability but i reckon long term gresh will be more consistent. Its like asking would u prefer a Prime Stevie J or Little Gazza

Gresh.

Here are their stats for their respective first seasons, BTW. http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/...&pid1=4178&pid2=3920&fid1=S&fid2=P&fopt2=2014

Not much in it. Billings was played more purely forward so less of the relevant midfield stats but ahead in most others. Gresh's best traits are the stuff that can't be measured like his ability to balk and his innate ability to jag a goal when in range at clutch points of the match. Billings isn't getting much love after an okay season but he should be a pretty exciting proposition next year. I'm imagining Gresh could find a bit of second year blues kicking in next year and if he backs it up it's a Freeman like bonus.

I know we're all bored witless but really, they are two young kids who are both Saints and both going to be guns. Why the necessity to continually compare them to each other and others i.e. Billings vs Bont?

Like our own kids they will develop at different rates and have different strengths and weaknesses....I'm rapt to have them both!

Not much in it. Billings was played more purely forward so less of the relevant midfield stats but ahead in most others. Gresh's best traits are the stuff that can't be measured like his ability to balk and his innate ability to jag a goal when in range at clutch points of the match. Billings isn't getting much love after an okay season but he should be a pretty exciting proposition next year. I'm imagining Gresh could find a bit of second year blues kicking in next year and if he backs it up it's a Freeman like bonus.
Billings did play at least one game on the wing in his first season I believe (the one v West Coast when he had 25 at 100% and kicked 3 snags) so I'm not sure there would be much in it as far as their respective forwardline v midfield minutes went.

I hope that they ar comparing themselves to each other, to push each other to greater heights.

Got a general feeling Billings has the higher ceiling, but Gresham is a safer bet to get to his. If that makes sense. Totally irrational basis to that, given Gresham especially has played so few games.

I hope that they ar comparing themselves to each other, to push each other to greater heights.

Got a general feeling Billings has the higher ceiling, but Gresham is a safer bet to get to his. If that makes sense. Totally irrational basis to that, given Gresham especially has played so few games.
Well it is a totally irrational thread.

Billings. I think he can be and most likely will be our best player soon. Ive never seen a player blessed with so much skill and potential in my time as a saints supporter, im 30 if your wondering. Gresham is a gonna be a star also, love him.