Black Caviar revisted

If we could draw our minds away the here and now, BC what a horse.
My favourite - mowing down Hay Story in the TJ Smith 2011,

As good as it gets horse racing

Same - was at Randwick that day - thought she was in trouble at about the 400m mark - crowd roar as she mowed him down in the last 2 furlongs was spine tingling.

Think second fave would be the second TJ win - just absolutely annhilated genuine top class sprinters.

Was lucky enough to see her quite a few times live. My favourite, and the most surreal, was her return in the Black Caviar Lightning after Ascot.

Was in the Flemington members grandstand and I have never heard anything like it. After the jump, the track went silent, dead silent. Was so surreal. She shifted in a little and there was a huge gasp, then at about the 300m as she pulled away, the roar was something else.

Was at the first Patinack clash between her and Hay List, and it was like the field wasn't there. She was at 1.90 that day, luxury odds! Obviously later Hay List was found to be injured though.

Favourite non-live BC race is definitely the 2011 TJ Smith. Besides Ascot probably the only time she was really in doubt, then whooshka!

My faves

Sydney - v Hay List 2011
the Lightning Hay list 2012
the Newmarket 2012

Just superb stuff

You've definitely picked the right three IMO, but she won the Newmarket in 2011. Only mention it because it was BEFORE both of those other races you mention. She did also beat Hay List in a Lightning right before her Newmarket, but I doubt that's the one you are talking about, though that is one of her more underrated wins IMO. Looking back on it it's nothing special, but it was the first time she beat Hay List when he wasn't injured, and it was probably the moment people realised she was in another category (they bet 1.50 on her earlier in the week for it, and I doubt you ever got above 1.20 on her again).
The Newmarket 2012 was Hay List and Buffering photo, another beauty.

The first lightning was my favourite, hay list was primed and she was fat as a whale, if she was ever going to lose it was that day. When she won that day you knew she was never going to lose.

Another was her 4th or 5th win in the AU's stakes G2, here de angels was at the peak of his powers having broke the track record at caulfield the run prior and she trounced him, confirmed to me she was something special.

The one that confirmed it for me was when she destroyed Melito and Hot Danish at the Valley on Cox Plate day (maybe win 5 or 6?). They were both flying at the time. Was at a wedding that day and got a call from a mate following the ceremony basically along the lines of 'this thing has smashed them by 6 lengths!!'

Her last race will always be my favourite, it's the only one I saw. I knew I had to see her before she retired but I didn't think that would be her last one. So thankful I went, it was a prick of a day with every shit stain in the state there. Couldn't get a beer, get a bet on or take a piss for three hours before the race but totally worth it.

was that in Brisbane?

Caulfield Guineas day; schillaci stakes before she went on to win her first g1 on stakes day the silly bookie gave me $2 laughing all the way. Never in my life had I been so confident a horse would win a race.
I remember I met my mum track that arvo, and telling her about this horse and showed her my $300 Bet and she was shocked... good thing she didn't know abut the $1800 in my back pocket.. she thought I was some kinda of millionaire after that..

Would've been interesting if she got beat in early days, would we have seen her at a mile? Further? Naturally the harder you push them the more likely they are to breakdown, but the way she ran sectionals on the bit was amazing.

For sure - had she beaten early I reckon it would be $1.50 she would have had a crack at the Cox Plate.

Thank Christ she never lost then. There wasn't much that would shit me more than people saying she would win a Cox plate if stretched out. We had only just had one star ruined by being stretched out over distance. If she came up against a star miler I think she would have been hard pressed to even win over that distance

I saw her win her first start when she pulled her head off down the straight and walked in hard held. I texted my mate saying she could be something special which i rarely do. I didnt even realise how good she would be. I always said that Hareeba had the most raw ability of any horse I had ever seen but he was too injury prone to show it but once she came along he wasn't in the same league and for those that know my opinion of Hareeba thats a HUGE statement. I cannot imagine a better horse to go around.

Thank Christ she never lost then. There wasn't much that would shit me more than people saying she would win a Cox plate if stretched out. We had only just had one star ruined by being stretched out over distance. If she came up against a star miler I think she would have been hard pressed to even win over that distance

Literally impossible to tell - gut feel over 1600 she'd have most Australian milers covered.

Against a field of Pierro, More Joyous, All Too Hard, Whobegotyou, So You Think and It's a Dundeel she would still be ~1.80 over a mile for mine. Atlantic Jewel the only horse I can think of in recent times that might have been a favourite over her.

Wouldn't back her in a Cox Plate though unless it was a very ordinary field.