Bogan anthems

QPR
This came up at work today - what are some of your favourite bogan anthems? Not necessarily bad songs, I can't even explain what (for me) constitutes a bogan anthem...... here's a few I prepared earlier.

Summer of 69 - Bryan Adams
Khe Sanh - Cold Chisel (just about anything Baaaarnsey actually)
Eye Of The Tiger - Survivor
Bohemian Rhapsody - Queen
Dancing Queen - Abba (more for the boganettes?)
Eagle Rock - Daddy Cool
Money For Nothing - Dire Straits
Let's Stick Together - Bryan Ferry
You Shook Me All Night Long - ACDC

Any more?

Stairway to Heaven

Anything involving Cold Chisel, AC/DC or Angry Anderson (or all 3)

Noiseworks

Anything off one of those CDs with a title like "The Best Beer Drinking Songs In The World ... EVER"

Anything you could imagine Otto listening to

Would agree with most mentioned so far, but would also add "Born in the U.S.A" by Bruce Springsteen.

How could you forget "Down Under"? Was number 1 when I was born, holds a dear place in my heart.

Copperhead Road is another one.

Cold Chisel have to agree with that, especially:

Khe Sanh
Flame Trees
When the War is Over
Cheap Wine
and Working Class Man by Jimmy the solo artist.

Run to Paradise by Choirboys.
Am I Ever Gonna See Your Face Again by The Angels.

How 'bout some 90's bogan anthems?

Blister In The Sun
Old Man Sam
Smells Like Teen Spirit
Alive
Killing In The Name
Enter Sandman

All songs above must be sung whilst p|ssed and holding a stubbie a full arms length above the head. (only to then proceed in splashing it all over everybody within 5 blocks of you (including the band) during the heavy bit of Old Man Sam........and the chorus of Teen Spirit.......and the "**** you i won't do what you tell me" bit in Killing In The Name.....)

Nooo!! The bad memories are coming back!!!! P|ssed punters everywhere!!! Stop them!! Stop them!!!!!!!!!

The biggest bogan anthem of all time:

THUNDER (nahhhnahhnahhahhhhh)
THUNDER (nahhnahhhnaahhhhahh)
THUNDER (nahhhnahhnahhhh)

THUNDERSTRUCK!!!!

that song goes off at Footy Park when Thunder Power comes onto the ground :p

Flashback to my early twenties and my mate Mick from Sunshine's CD collection.

Bon Jovi, AC/DC, Barnesy, Farnesy, Angels, Choirboys (Run to paradise), Skid Row, George Thorogood, Guns N' Roses , Stevie Wright (Evie)...

Bogan Ballads:
Cool Change - LRB
Four Walls - Cold Chisel
The Load Out - Jackson Browne

Most of those are also in my CD collection. OMG...I'm a Bogan!!!:D

Originally posted by gPhonque
How 'bout some 90's bogan anthems?

Blister In The Sun
Old Man Sam
Smells Like Teen Spirit
Alive
Killing In The Name
Enter Sandman

All songs above must be sung whilst p|ssed and holding a stubbie a full arms length above the head. (only to then proceed in splashing it all over everybody within 5 blocks of you (including the band) during the heavy bit of Old Man Sam........and the chorus of Teen Spirit.......and the "**** you i won't do what you tell me" bit in Killing In The Name.....)

Nooo!! The bad memories are coming back!!!! P|ssed punters everywhere!!! Stop them!! Stop them!!!!!!!!!
Spoken by someone who has obviously played his fair share of covers gigs at the Cactus Club in Moonee Ponds!! At least you had the sense to get out of the scene though!:(

Right now, "Run to Paradise", "Down Under" and "500 Miles" are easily the biggest bogan anthems we play. "Most People I Know" is also dangerous.

Mind you, we've recently introduced the "Bogan Medley" consisting of You Shook me all nite long, Am i ever gonna see your face, You give love a bad name and Paradise City and it is easily the highlight (for the punters) of our show.

Sad really.

Stuck in the Middle with you
Sweet Home Alabama
Ballroom Blitz

and when a bog wants some easy listening or chill out...it has to be the Eagles. "you can check out any time you like, but you can never leave"...is something every mullet head can relate too.

Any cover the "Six and Out" have ever played

Give me Head by The Radiators
Turn up Your Radio by Masters Apprentices
Evie, parts 1-123 by Stevie Wright
I See Red by Split Enz
La Grange by ZZ Top
The Nips are Getting Bigger by Mentals

Aaargh, it's too much

Some that will be in a few years:

How You Remind Me by Paddlepop Lion and the popsicle sticks
Control by Puddle of Mudd
Party Hard by Andrew WK (I hope so anyway)
Alive or Youth of the Nation by POD
Smooth Criminal (maybe)
Kryptonite by 3 Doors Down
With Arms Wide Open and My Sacrifce by Creed

Originally posted by Squeak
Some that will be in a few years:

How You Remind Me by Paddlepop Lion and the popsicle sticks
Control by Puddle of Mudd
Party Hard by Andrew WK (I hope so anyway)
Alive or Youth of the Nation by POD
Smooth Criminal (maybe)
Kryptonite by 3 Doors Down
With Arms Wide Open and My Sacrifce by Creed

Why would any of these become BOGAN anthems?

Originally posted by Santos L Helper

A bunch of blokes stand in a circle all trying to outdo each other singing these songs and going hoarse in the process, that's my interpretation of it. I'm not a music man or a social animal so I'm probably way off.

Originally posted by Santos L Helper

SLH, from playing in a coverband and having the "pleasure" of churning out most of these great :rolleyes: songs 3 times a week to the masses, i can assure he/she is on the money.

The fact Triple m thrash these songs every day and you would be hard pressed to find any construction site's radio tuned to anything else, they are definately earning future "Khe Sahn", "Blister in the Sun" and "Road House Blues" status.

probably need some Van Halen in here too. and anything off Back In Black.

and what about George Thorogood - can't believe he hasn't had a mention yet! (I don't think I've spelt it right either)

also most bogans would probably lay claim to being Led Zep fans, but in reality only know the first verse of Stairway To Heaven.

If you ever have the "pleasure" of spending a weekend in Bendigo, and find yourelf at the "Sundance Saloon" (No, i'm not kidding), you will discover a new breed of Bogan. Its not necessarily the accubra (spelling?), the tight jeans which leave little to the imagination, or the sleeveless flannies that give them away (although its a fair start!!). No, you will see the true manifestation when the "DJ" (Yes, i am kidding) plays Steve Earl's "Copper Head Road". Bendigo's number 1 Bogan anthem. When you hear that annoying steel guitar or whatever it is that is responsible for the intro to that song, run like you stole something!!

I've seen blokes drink out of their own shoes after that song!