Dallas Mavs, West Ham
OK, so I'm not disappointed at all that we lost yesterday. 'The loss we needed' etc and all that. Bomber said after the Bulldogs game that by the time Brad Johnson had that shot after the siren he didn't even care if we won or lost because he was so disappointed after our terrible last quarter. I reckon the opposite occured yesterday - from looking down and out early on, and even halfway through the last, we fought back and were arguably an umpiring decision away from snatching a win or at very least a draw.

But something that Bomber said a few weeks ago and interested me greatly was this talk about 'contingency plans' in case we find ourselves in another situation like last year's grand final. Clearly we didn't show all our cards yesterday (and yes, the Saints deserved our win) but I am confident Bomber is working on a few things behind the scenes in case we're involved in a tight final.

- Milburn in the forward line. He floated forward for two goals yesterday and one to, at the time, keep us in the grand final. He is a decent mark and good set shot - we should definitely try this when need be.

- Ablett to FF. I only saw Gaz play at FF for a couple of minutes yesterday, which resulted in a goal. Clearly, if Gaz plays there for 5-10 minutes at a time he will give his tagger a lot of headaches. Equally as adept at contested marking and playing a classic crumbing role. Capable of kicking 3 goals in a quarter as we've seen before.

So, what else?

- I'd like to see Mooney put on the ball when he struggling up forward. Like Barry Hall, Mooney seems to get really frustrated when the ball's not coming his way. Put him in the middle - he'll knock a few guys around, he's strong, he's mobile etc.

- I am now on the verge of saying that Blake should be dropped when Otto returns (previously I've been a Blake defender). If this is the case, I definitely we should try Mumford both in the forward line and backline before the finals. If he's a viable option at either end, there's a backup plan right there if we lose somebody during the game.

- Would still like to see Taylor tried on the HFF. Great set of hands and one of the best kicks in our team. Obviously we may not get this opportunity when playing the likes of St Kilda that have tall forwards.

- Opposition teams always talk about dragging Ling away from whoever he's tagging by putting their guy in the forward line. I don't know why we don't do the opposite more often - not only can Ling kick a goal or two but it poses a problem for the opposition - do they keep their guy (ie Dal Santo) on him or switch everything around?

On another note - when we come up against the likes of Sam Fisher, Hodge etc I want Rooke playing as a defensive forward/tagger the whole time. We know what happened when Max was taken off Hodge in the GF. Fisher had 12 touches in the first quarter yesterday and when Max went to him at quarter time he only had another 8 for the match. Max also kicked a goal on him - a definite win to us post quarter time.

Good points there....

Liked seeing Milburn go forward - has done it with mixed results in the past.

What you said about Mooney on the ball, I was actually thinking about for Hawkins. Stamina would be an issue but just to get him into the game maybe run him in the ruck for 5min.

Thought that compared to last year, we look as though we have a few options and plans. Ross Lyon mentioned tonight on "One Week At a Time" that we did a few things differently that took them by surprise. I feel that we may still have a few options up our sleeve.

Awesome Thread - Everything you said i absolutely agree with - We have so many other strings to our bow. To me our Forward set up should include Milburn in it and also have Gazza and Lingy down there at times - I have said that many times to my mate I would love to see Harry play centre half forward to see whe he could do. I know we dont want to weaken our backline but start throwing players into different positions makes us even more unpredictable and mor of a worry to opposition teams.

Great Thread mate - Well done.

I also think Mumford could play forward or back.

The time is right to experiment a little to see what happens.

Agree with a lot of what you said.

I thought the move of Milburn up forward was very clever, and should be explored in other games.

Could not agree with you more over the Ablett scenario, he also looked set to tear the Freo (or maybe WCE) game up in the forward line too, before suffering a minor injury that took him off the field. Jones was abssolutely lost as a defender on him, and I was thinking at the time Bomber was holding something back by not trying him up forward for longer.

Blake has to go. Absolutely no 2 ways about it. 3 goals kicked on him and he was FEEBLE in trying to spoil those contests. Regardless if Mumford plays a proper role in defence or attack he can at least compete around the ground better than what Blake can.

Mooney into the middle is something that COULD be tried, however thought he regained a lot of form towards the end of the match and wouldn't mind seeing what he can do up forward for the rest of the year.

TC:eek:

agree with everything except the ling comment. not sure if i understand what you mean... you want ling to go forward hoping that his tag will follow him? i think that would be the worst thing to do as it would give one of the oppositions best midfielders opprtunity to run around free. potentially having nicky d run around whtout a man on him????...

If that was a final Bomber would not have left Taylor on Riewoldt all day.

i think he probbaly would and that's exactly why he did... so taylor could get more practice playing on him...

riewoldt had a great game but i don't think taylor was all that bad

agree with everything except the ling comment. not sure if i understand what you mean... you want ling to go forward hoping that his tag will follow him? i think that would be the worst thing to do as it would give one of the oppositions best midfielders opprtunity to run around free. potentially having nicky d run around whtout a man on him????...

Exactly. Ling is the tagger, you'd find they'd make the switch quite quickly to free up their midfielder - they won't let him sit in the forwardline unopposed, but it would be pretty poor coaching to have your main midfielder sit at fullback for 20 minutes.

i think he probbaly would and that's exactly why he did... so taylor could get more practice playing on him...

riewoldt had a great game but i don't think taylor was all that bad

I really thought Harry was pretty good overall. Riewoldt didn't actually get a lot of the ball, he just pulled a couple of goals out of his arse and took plenty of marks on the wing. Harry spoiled quite a few contests and wasn't disgraced.

A good read, this thread. I think, however, that Milburn up forward isn't a new ploy. Seems to me that he's had quite a few cameos before in the forward line. It's a good idea when things aren't working because he's a strong mark and dependable kick.

I thought the reason the Milburn move was made was because of his ankle he wouldnt have had the agility to handle the responsibility of defence. Turned out ok

When Otten is returned, I would like to see him in the team as a FF

-drop hawkin but DON’T TRADE HIM AWAY!
-leave Blake and Mumford in the ruck
-move BIG CAM up the ground say at hff, just outside 50 where he would need to win the footy – kicks long for goal (I think he is better off kicking on the run than a set up shot) or if he is can’t make the distance, at least put it to the hot spot
-Otten would mark it at the goal square and goal or bring the ball onto the ground where one of our smalls forward would finish off the job

fpm84 i think you should get a job down at the cattery! great ideas there, and i can see alot of them being used which makes them even better.

Interesting about Taylor, we hear about how he can play both ends of the ground, but we are yet to see much of this. Against a side with small fowards i wouldnt mind him having a go down foward.

Along with Milburn I would personally also like to see Mackie drift to just inside the forward 50 more often. He appears very confident kicking for goal from quite a distance out as shown in the Saints game and his two goals against the Kangaroos a few weeks back.

Ottens is the worst at set shots known to man. Him being up forward has been tried before and hasnt really worked. Great mark and athletism, but cant kick a goal.

Along with Milburn I would personally also like to see Mackie drift to just inside the forward 50 more often. He appears very confident kicking for goal from quite a distance out as shown in the Saints game and his two goals against the Kangaroos a few weeks back.
Agreed. Watch the 2004 season highlights - Mackie kicks goals from everywhere! He's definitely capable, and has kicked some handy ones for us this season already.

Reminder that everytime we win a game of footy, usually all of the small forwards would distribute a couple of goals each.

There have been two BIG GAME: GF07 and 09 rd14 - on both occassion we failed to kick above 100 points!
Also, our small forwards failed to fire on both of these games.

I love them all but this is my worry for the rest of the year!

I really thought Harry was pretty good overall. Riewoldt didn't actually get a lot of the ball, he just pulled a couple of goals out of his arse and took plenty of marks on the wing. Harry spoiled quite a few contests and wasn't disgraced.

I agree that people here are being harsh on Harry Taylor. Riewoldt is the gun CHF in the comp. and Harry did a good job on him. Who else would you have played on Riewoldt ? I would like to see Harry up forward as well but we do not have any other options at CHB.

I thought the reason the Milburn move was made was because of his ankle he wouldnt have had the agility to handle the responsibility of defence. Turned out ok

I agree but he has been used in nearly all positions. Remember when he played on the ball in '99. BOG week after week.

I don't rate Ottens up forward, sucks far too much focus from our forward entries, making us predictable.

Worse of all, his goal kicking isn't much better then Mooney's.

Lets face it, our forwards are out of form!

Mooney is possibly showing glimpses that he's sorting his kicking out and is getting fired up again.

Hawkins is still demanding a good defender and will kick another bag of 4 or 5 before the year is out.

Ottens, only used sparingly up forward to throw opposition structures out, but majority of time in the ruck.

On another note - when we come up against the likes of Sam Fisher, Hodge etc I want Rooke playing as a defensive forward/tagger the whole time. We know what happened when Max was taken off Hodge in the GF. Fisher had 12 touches in the first quarter yesterday and when Max went to him at quarter time he only had another 8 for the match. Max also kicked a goal on him - a definite win to us post quarter time.

This is what really frustrates me, it takes so long for this change to happen, i think we had Stokes on both Fisher and Hodge when they did damage, Stokes isn't a defensive forward so why we play him there is beyond me completely.

Everyteam has a defender who sets up the play, and they are usually obvious as to who they are, so why is it we seldom seem to start Rooke on them?

I don't rate Ottens up forward, sucks far too much focus from our forward entries, making us predictable.

Worse of all, his goal kicking isn't much better then Mooney's.

Lets face it, our forwards are out of form!

Mooney is possibly showing glimpses that he's sorting his kicking out and is getting fired up again.

Hawkins is still demanding a good defender and will kick another bag of 4 or 5 before the year is out.

Ottens, only used sparingly up forward to throw opposition structures out, but majority of time in the ruck.

Agreed. There is no way we can fit Ottens, Mumford and Blake in the one team so forget Ottens as a permanent forward. I would ruck either Blake/Mumford/West (haven't decided whose best yet) for 60-65% of the game with Otto spending some time in the middle and some up forward in short bursts. He is not a permanent forward these days - lacks the mobility and is best just used in a pinch-hitting role.

If Hawkins does not start to demand the footy, start leading hard rather than just playing passively behind his opponent then he has to go out for Gamble. Simple as that. We can play with only the one tall forward in Mooney if we have SJ and Gamble in the team.

I missed the game live...saw from 5 min left in 3rd until the end. Reading posts whilst listening to Issac Hayes song "Shaft". There is a line..."Who's the Cat that won't cop out when thens danger all about?" Smacks of Max Rooke. Looking forward to watching the full match to see the job he did on Fisher after 1/4 time. He is so important in negating the rebounding / key attacking defender of the opposition and is able to score or create contests leading to scores in or front half. Hard as a Cats head!

I agree that people here are being harsh on Harry Taylor. Riewoldt is the gun CHF in the comp. and Harry did a good job on him. Who else would you have played on Riewoldt ? I would like to see Harry up forward as well but we do not have any other options at CHB.

I dont think people are being Harsh on Harry, this thread is complimenting him saying he can be so versatile and if we come up against a team without tower fowards it would be nice to see his abilities in the foward line cos he can play both ends. No doubting he played an excellent game, loved that mark in the third quarter, too easy! pops his hand up taps it foward in the air and marks in front of Riewoldt....superb!
REMEMBER: he is a second year AFL player! and already a crucial part of our backline.