bonus challenge???

timetochange08

:thumbsd:some dude has taken the bonus to task and has it being challenged in the courts is it likely they will stop payments now??? after promising it to people.

i need to know I got bills to pay etc.I can't believe they are still hearing the case in early april when we're supposed to get the payments.

ordinary people need these payments to survive.its expensive to live for gods sake!! who is this loser that challenged it? it just makes people anxious not knowing.

We as a society need to stop taking and start giving. So what if you don't have money to pay of the plasma..maybe you didn't really need it in the first place and why the world is in the mess it is now.

The last recession i can't remember people needing money from the govt to pay for their over indulgence as much as now. Sure we had debts, but the real people in trouble were the upper class and morons who over borrowed in the 80s. Now everyone is in the same boat...trying to find ways to pay for their greed.

Society has gone backwards in 15 years.

There is no reason for the "stimulus package" and labour are just playing populist politics. Watch when the money runs out and the same people praising Rudd will turn and vote out the government.

We as a society need to stop taking and start giving. So what if you don't have money to pay of the plasma..maybe you didn't really need it in the first place and why the world is in the mess it is now.

The last recession i can't remember people needing money from the govt to pay for their over indulgence as much as now. Sure we had debts, but the real people in trouble were the upper class and morons who over borrowed in the 80s. Now everyone is in the same boat...trying to find ways to pay for their greed.

Society has gone backwards in 15 years.

There is no reason for the "stimulus package" and labour are just playing populist politics. Watch when the money runs out and the same people praising Rudd will turn and vote out the government.

Every country pretty much is doing a stimulus package!!! Correct me if I'm wrong but the recession of the 90's is a walk in the park compared to this one I can't see how anybody can compare that recession to this one!!! its just not the same.Sure I don't expect handouts but nobody should of promised them if they weren't valid to deliver.Why tell people you'll get them and then some guy goes and challenges it at the 11th hour.Its pretty unfair.The rudd government should of made sure it was valid to begin with and looked at any loopholes that could be discovered by rich twats like this guy!!!!

well the last recession ppl didnt live on credit like most ppl today...hence why the issues we are facing.

when a mate of mine who really had no assets or stable income was given a major loan in 2006 to only piss it all on rubbish he didnt need i knew shit was going to hit the fan sooner rather than later.

I am fine as i don't have major debts like a LOT of people out there atm. A McMansion, two new cars, big loan from harvey norman pus 4 ccards all maxed.

**** eh.

well the last recession ppl didnt live on credit like most ppl today...hence why the issues we are facing.

when a mate of mine who really had no assets or stable income was given a major loan in 2006 to only piss it all on rubbish he didnt need i knew shit was going to hit the fan sooner rather than later.

I am fine as i don't have major debts like a LOT of people out there atm. A McMansion, two new cars, big loan from harvey norman pus 4 ccards all maxed.

**** eh.

Look I totallu agree people should not be buying things they can't pay back and maxing out 4 credit cards.I don't agree with that.but life has changes alot .its harder to live now more than ever!Credit cards still existed in the 90's.You can't tell me people didn't use them then.

My issue is don't promise people help ...if you can't deliver it.the rudd goverment surely should of realised somebody would challenge the bonus package.

And if you don't spend the ecomonmy starts shutting down like it has .

we have to spend to keep jobs.I tell you I saw 11% unemployment in the last recession it ain't pretty and I we may see it again if we do see it again hang onto everything as crime will rise and it won't be a nice world.Thats why this stimulus package is very important it may not be to the twat thats chalenging it cause he'd rich buts its important to everyday people who are struggling with general living expenses.

Honestly, how much is $900 going to get you out of the crap anyway? I'm on a 'straight outta uni' wage, I rent a pretty nice place, I have a nice car and one small debt that I can easily afford to pay off each week.

I don't need the $900 because I don't spend outside my means. I can see why people need it because they didn't prepare well enough, but it just annoys me.

To clear it up though, I'm quite happy to accept the $900 if it comes my way. Happy either way.

I find it annoying from a personal perspective - its my first handout if/when I get it. Everyone else has been getting handouts for years and just when its my turn this stuff happens!

That being said this is probably just going to delay it while they sort it out.

Dunno how the challenge will go, but the package is a very shrewd political move, and a very questionable economic move. It seems akin to putting a bandaid on a shotgun wound.

**** eh.

i think is one of the biggest myths out today, people saying everybody has got the harvey norman max out debt, 90% of people aren't fu*kin stupid, they know that harvey norman charges 20% interest after the interest free period is up, and most people have one or two credit cards, its the minority of people who are too fuc*in stupid to realise how much debt they are in then go running to ACA or TT saying credit card companies took advantage...

Only stupid people are going to get themselves into trouble, I mean that.

I am 24 years old, I am about $250k in debt but am living comfortable with a rather large buffer between me and the wall.

I am already paying $450 a month in excess of my loan repayments and have 12 months worth of repayments in savings should I find myself somehow out of work.

Interest rates could go back up to the 8's and I wouldn't even have to change what my repayments have been.

We are going to get ourselves even further ahead a little later in the year when we will be living completely off one wage with the other going completely to the mortgage, no we don't earn a massive amount but we just don't waste our money on crap. I struggle to imagine how anyone could, I have done the sums and we could even afford to keep our house if (touch wood) we both lost our jobs and were forced onto unemployment. We would just need to cut a couple of luxuries.

Now I'm not going to say no to the $900 but I can't believe the attitude of some people out there, the amount of times I have heard people talking about this "w***er who wants to stop us getting our money" is rediculous. Your money?

They are getting pissed because dumb bogans have already spent it.

If I get it I get it, if I don't it won't bother me. All it will do is go to my little renovation savings and help me put in a new kitchen. Which, unlike electronics, pokies or holidays, will add to the value of my property and thus increase my equity.

Now some might say "but Nick, the housing market is going to burst, you will lose equity, you were sucked in by the FHOG/FHOB"

Well, it's true that prices may still fall a bit but you'll find that for those that will fall, they have already done most of the falling. I got my place for $47,500* below original asking price and you know what? People who bought in my situation don't want to sell for years yet. (*I was helped by it being over priced a bit at first and getting passed in - owner lowered the price but it had already been marked off many people's lists who checked it out the first time - I offered even lower, one person offered more than me so I made a final offer by not increasing my $ offer but by bringing settlement forward by 2 weeks - the vendor had already moved and was under pressure to sell quickly so I got it without the highest bid)

There are many who are "waiting for the sucker FHO's to get into mortgage stress and be forced to sell low" so they can "come in and sweep up bargains". I ask where is this 'mortgage stress' going to come from? Interest rates will remain low for the forseeable future and even should unemployment rise, most of the home owners won't be effected. Thus they will sit on their purchase - low rates will also discourage investors to sell and so demand will outstrip supply and increase prices (or atleast keep them steady).

Lets say though that prices do fall, and the house you like has fallen $25k. Ofcourse there are more people bidding against you now, you have missed out on the extra $7k FHOB and at $300/wk your rent for the past year has set you back $15.5k, so you're $2.5k better off right? well no, at the end of a year I will have paid over $6k off the principle.

All that said, if you cannot afford the house without the grant or if you couldn't afford several rate rises then do not buy. If you want to know what is required, work out what your repayments would need to be, then add a generous amount on top of that, subtract what you pay in rent and each fortnight transfer the difference into another account. Soon you will get used to the amount of disposable money you have and will have a nice little bit saved up to go with your deposit.

ordinary people need these payments to survive.its expensive to live for gods sake!! who is this loser that challenged it? it just makes people anxious not knowing.

If you need the bonus payment 'just to survive' then $900 isn't going to help you out much. WTF are you spending money on to get yourself into trouble that much. You've obviously got an internet connection. Cut that off. Thats $50 a month right there.

The 'loser' is a university of law professor who is questioning the validity of the word 'bonus.' Maybe you can buy a newspaper with the $900 you will eventually get and read up on whats going on.

Its basically a tax rebate, not much of a bonus, But Nick85 is right.

If your smart, look after your money and investments, then it will look after itself.

I know scrimping now means in 40 years time ill be able to live in comfortable retirement, while many people i know will be suffering because they wanted these big plasmas, 50k cars etc etc.

:thumbsd:some dude has taken the bonus to task and has it being challenged in the courts is it likely they will stop payments now??? after promising it to people.

i need to know I got bills to pay etc.I can't believe they are still hearing the case in early april when we're supposed to get the payments.

All this OP indicates to me is what happens when kids go through their school life not getting exposed to lifes' disappointments.

No good at sport, easy we'll modify the rules to be inclusive. Too good or too competitive, don't worry we'll get you out of that naughty habit.

Not too bright? That's ok we'll still pass you so you don't feel bad about yourself.

A kid's having a birthday party, don't dare hand out the invitations at school unless some poor kid misses out and is disappointed.

You would've still had the bills without the $900 so what's the point?
If you've racked up additional expenses in anticipation of the $900 then you're an idiot.
Time for a pint of HTFU.

Even if this challenge does get up, the Government can still refer to section 96 of the constitution, and give the stimulus package money out via the states. Were that to happen, it'd be interesting to see the distribution.

Would WA suffer for voting the ALP out? Would the NT and ACT get the same as the rest? Would NSW get more than what is necessary given the need to prop their government up to at least be competitive at the next state election? A lot of questions really.

All this OP indicates to me is what happens when kids go through their school life not getting exposed to lifes' disappointments.

No good at sport, easy we'll modify the rules to be inclusive. Too good or too competitive, don't worry we'll get you out of that naughty habit.

Not too bright? That's ok we'll still pass you so you don't feel bad about yourself.

A kid's having a birthday party, don't dare hand out the invitations at school unless some poor kid misses out and is disappointed.

You would've still had the bills without the $900 so what's the point?
If you've racked up additional expenses in anticipation of the $900 then you're an idiot.
Time for a pint of HTFU.

Says it how it is all the time.

I do find it slightly amusing that the Government had to actually fight to GIVE the general public money.

Slight exaggeration there..

And if you think its expensive to live now wait untill the ETS comes in to go with raised taxes to pay off this debt.