Goldust

Nashville Predators
:rolleyes:OKAY, prepared to be shot down here (and no doubt will be), but ..... if we're serious about rewarding form and being competitive, Brad Miller is a must selection against the Cats.
Face facts, as the past few weeks has showed, we played much better with him in the team.
He kicked five for Coburg yesterday and was by all reports B.O.G and our one match-winning forward Jack Riewoldt looked far more comfortable with Miller around.
None of Riewoldt, Vickery or Griffiths as the tall forwards gave a whimper yesterday. I know he ain't the future, but he at least provides a contest and others seem to appreciated his presence around the contest.
They all seemed pretty timid yesterday.
For mine, it's Vickery to the ruck, Miller down forward with Jack and Griff this week.
:thumbsu:Also pleasing to see Mitch Morton among the best again at Coburg .... surely time for a recall.

Very dissappointed with The Sex Monsters game. Promote Miller and teach these young guys what it is all about.

I'd expect at least 4 changes this week and possibly 5 or 6.

Gus is the other one Goldy. After last week for Coburg surely he should of played yesterday.

Tuck must be ready to top himself after that performance.

Can they send Shane Edwards to kicking school because he hasn't hit a target all year.

How did Hislop go, he is due for a recall IMO

Its not good rewarding good performances.

Slops was not in the best.
By all reports Miller and Morton were the standouts!
And agree Rusty, I'm no fan of Gus Graham but certain his form at Coburg last week demanded a recall.
The Tuck one remains as baffling as ever!
When you get manhandled by a bunch of kids from Gold Coast, you know you have problems.

Very dissappointed with The Sex Monsters game. Promote Miller and teach these young guys what it is all about.

I'd expect at least 4 changes this week and possibly 5 or 6.

Gus is the other one Goldy. After last week for Coburg surely he should of played yesterday.

Tuck must be ready to top himself after that performance.

Can they send Shane Edwards to kicking school because he hasn't hit a target all year.

Nightmares still of that piece of play in the second quarter where Edwards handled it three times within a few seconds and eventually turned it over, as he had thretaened the previous two possessions, when all he needed to do was go back and kick it long in the first instance!

I'm not that fired up as some people on here because I see Hardwicks bigger picture. I reckon anyone who isn't going to be at Richmond in 2012 shouldn't get a game. Graham, Tuck, Miller). This allows us to get experience into the 15 blokes with under 80 games experience (Griffiths, Helbig, Batchelor, Helbig, Grigg, Houli, McGuane, Rance, Conca etc).

YOU don't think a few Gold Coast blokes walked that little bit taller yesterday because they had a guy like Campbell Brown in their team?
At age 28 no Richmond supporter would have a bar of him, but you need an experienced hand and hardened body!
Face it, with a plethora of youngsters out there yeterday, we were both timid and lost!

I'm not really upset either. The Suns were always a decent chance to beat us anyway. Btw Mcguane was close to our best player yesterday. His stopping ability gets taken for granted by our supporters and they rate him on his 1 mistake he tends to make most weeks. His kicking is pretty good and he's gradually improving his decision making. He was great yesterday :thumbsu:

Statements like this worry me:confused:. McGuae gradually improving his decision making. He's like 25, right? When will it will be termed "excellent"?

:rolleyes:OKAY, prepared to be shot down here (and no doubt will be), but ..... if we're serious about rewarding form and being competitive, Brad Miller is a must selection against the Cats.
Face facts, as the past few weeks has showed, we played much better with him in the team.
He kicked five for Coburg yesterday and was by all reports B.O.G and our one match-winning forward Jack Riewoldt looked far more comfortable with Miller around.
None of Riewoldt, Vickery or Griffiths as the tall forwards gave a whimper yesterday. I know he ain't the future, but he at least provides a contest and others seem to appreciated his presence around the contest.
They all seemed pretty timid yesterday.
For mine, it's Vickery to the ruck, Miller down forward with Jack and Griff this week.
:thumbsu:Also pleasing to see Mitch Morton among the best again at Coburg .... surely time for a recall.

Short term thinking - no thanks.
Cue in the rack and start preparing for 2012... Miller is not a part of 2012.

Short term thinking - no thanks.
Cue in the rack and start preparing for 2012... Miller is not a part of 2012.

Not short term at all ... I'm talking giving our predominantly young list a chance at taking the field confidently knowing they have someone who is going to do the hard work that they are not capable of and more seasoned blokes appear unwilling.
Yeah we can keep throwing in kid after kid and letting them go about it, but I fear the playing group is damaged goods right now and will be further damaged after a 100 point loss to the Cats.
I don't see anything positive in terms of development by sending out a down on confidence and not physical enough team that will stutter to five more losses.
Here's an observation for you ... 28 years has proven that the culture at Tigerland is a losing one. We can keep throwing kids to the wolves and the culture will remain a losing one as they will accept it!

Our forward structure both big and small is still at minimum a season away, so i reckon he will get another year, and based on that he should be bought back into the team as his form warrants it.

:thumbsu:Agree on both counts!
And likely he'll be back next week as I have an inkling Jack may be turned out for a rest!

Goes back to whether we are going to reward players based on performance, or whether we are going to gift games to youngsters.

I think Miller's game was that good that we would be setting a very poor example if we were to leave him at Coburg. The best thing about his game was that it was a well thought out game, not one where he simply outmuscled his opponent (although he did on a number of occasions). He led to the right spots, he positioned himself to block the defender from making spoils and as result consistently beat his opponent on leads despite the fact that the player who was on him for most of the game was quicker. It was the type of game that, if we set our structures right, could have easily happened in the AFL regardless of the quality of his opponent (at lets face it, with vickery and riewoldt in he is always going to play a third stringer).

While I hate his kicking style (gotta be one of the ugliest going around - high ball drop, very stilted/robotic) he was effective enough on the weekend.

Take some heat off Riewoldt, bring Miller in and give griff a rest. Also, Browne for Graham is a must!

Statements like this worry me:confused:. McGuae gradually improving his decision making. He's like 25, right? When will it will be termed "excellent"?

Put it this way. He's our best 1 on 1 tall defender. He's stuffs up 1 in 10 kicks compared to Edwards 1 in 2 kicks. The kicks he stuffs up are the short passes not being kicked long enough so it's all to do with confidence because he's a nice long kick. His decision making under pressure isn't too good of course but things will iron out for him once he gets 100 games under his belt. :cool:

Don't disagree he's our best 1 on 1 guy down back, but maybe a refkection of where we are at. I rate him higher than most on here, but I cringe a lot when he has the ball.
And agree, Edwards' disposal is abysmal more often than not!

Miller dominated early in the game for Coburg yesterday. We all kmow his limitations at the top level, but I have a problem with not playing him for a few reasons.

He has definitely made Jack's life easier when in the team.

Given that he most likely will be moved on next year, getting games into youngsters is sensible however it is also important to win games. Not only for the obvious reasons, but the young players need to develop in a winning environment if they are ever to be in a position to expect success. Wins generate a hell of a lot more than four pointsd to young players, so the one or two young guys who miss out for more experienced players are outweighed by the 13 still in the team who start benefiting from a win here and there. Note I am not saying that having Miller and Tuck in the team will mean we suddenly start playing clinical footy and winning every week.

Although not the most reliable kick, he can kick goals and one of our bigger problems ATM is not being able to get the score on the board. (There are many prolems ATM). I can see the benefits both ways but maybe it's just the fact that I am sick of losing and right now seriously pissed off with the club. Miller in for mine.

We have a more structured forward line with Miller playing.

Creates space for other players to lead into; he needs to play

Why does everyone say he's not in our future?
When everyone agree's were better with him?

So, why can't he be put into our plans? If we win with him, I don't care if he keeps a kid out of a flag.
We select to win.

I don't get that you guys want him out...

Why does everyone say he's not in our future?
When everyone agree's were better with him?

So, why can't he be put into our plans? If we win with him, I don't care if he keeps a kid out of a flag.
We select to win.

I don't get that you guys want him out...

:confused:The usual playing of favourites, Tigerland!
Some people simply didn't want him at the club and aren't going to be a fan no matter what he brings to the table, yet they'll delve in hypotheticals re the potential gretaness of players like Griffiths and Post.
It's simple, our structure is superior with him involved .. play him!
Not sure why we want to write off every player who turns 26 or older!
A list of players a lot of Richmond fans wouldn't have at the club because of age ... Adam Goodes, Robert Murphy, Joel Corey, Dustin Fletcher, Brad Ottens, Matthew Pavlich, Simon Black, Brent Harvey, Lenny Hayes, Heath Scotland, Chris Tarrant, Matthew Scarlett.
I'm sure they'd all fill a hole!

Fact is we are far better when he's in.
People carry on like he is 35 when he's actually 28!
Good form must be rewarded even if your name rhymes with plane ruck or something.
Poor form must be punished also.
Regardless of this theme of blokes not being part of the future(biggest bullshit piece of spin ever) listed players who are current and in form should play.It defies logic and has absolutely blown up in our face.I bet Hardwick and his silly red haired mate are too scared to play Tuck now because it will expose them as the dills they have been.

And further to this ridiculous part of the future them it is just as possible that a 19-24year old stealing games is just as likely not part of the future too because he is a rubbish player as evidenced down at Punt Road but hey let's just keep "developing" rubbish. We might end up with a full tip.