Breakout seasons

In terms of our list and where we're at having a breakout season to me is more to do with establishing themselves in the 22, which I'm confident Post and Vickery will both do. As for Farmer, I expect him to establish himself as a pretty solid small defender, was really starting to find his feet before he got injured, in that he was taking the game on and was becoming an important part of the backline.

Picking Cotchin is too easy as everyone expects him to finally step up, we'll be a much better sides when a few players who we're not expecting much from start to have real breakout seasons.

Fair enough. Then those players fit the bill.

Expect Post and Vickery to improve and play 15+ games. Connors should play all 22 if he doesn't go getting drunk and destroying Sydney hotels again.

Morton will gain a lot of recognition, but it'd only be a breakout year in terms of reputation, not actual performance. Since he went to the VFL everybody seems to think he was a failed trade to Richmond, despite being one of the best mid-sized forwards in the league for his first few years here.

Cotchin, obviously.

If Post is left at CHB he will have a big breakout year, otherwise he'll travel okay. He could cement his place as a backup ruckman but not gather AFL-wide recognition, but if he is used mainly as a forward he'll continue to do the odd brilliant thing and take a few screamers but then run around like a headless chook.

If Taylor really knuckles down he'll make a name for himself very quickly as a player.

Provided Dea recovers properly from his injuries he'll remind us all why he was rated so highly by the club, but will need a run of games to really adapt to the AFL, so will probably only be appreciated by Tigers fans for now.

I believe the Goo will step up to become one of the best young backs in the league.

Morton: Those last few games for the year in the midfield showed his potential, and with a pre-season to better adapt his body and learn the gameplan better I wouldn't be suprised if he becomes one of our best 22.

Gourdis: Should play all 22 next year, he has shown glimpses that he can hold down defence very well. He just needs to be able to do it for 4 qtrs.

The obvious choice is Cotchin with a full pre-season under his belt.
For the not so obvious.... could be anyone really but I'm going to say one of the ruckman. Which one of Gus, Browne or Vicks I'm not sure but one of them has to take the number 1 ruck duties!:D

Alex Rance and Tyrone Vickery i think are the two most likely. Rance dominates every time he plays vfl and is ready to take the next step. Vickery with some extra muscle after a big pre season in the gym should challenge gus for the number one ruck spot. And Mitch Morton will complete his transformation from mid sized forward into a great wingman.

Last season I predicted for a breakout year; JR:thumbsu:, Tambling:thumbsd: and Relton:o:D

So here goes for 2011:

1) Grigg: He will translate his VFL form onto the AFL stage and make our trading look inspired.

2) Astbury: Will make the CHB spot his own, with everyone talking about how bright his future is.

3) Graham: this may be a little controversial but by the end of the year we will think, hold on we've got ourselves a ruck.

The Flip-side

1) Rance: Won't come on, we'll be cutting our losses.

2) Nahas: Poor performances will make him the new whipping boy.

Luke McGuane to have a break out year. Based on the logic that by mid season our backs will fully understand the structures. McGuane will massively benefit.
Post - will finally get a role and not be a bit part player.
Cotchin. Fully fit, fully firing.
Jake King - will be the defensive forward we've yearned for for years.

Jake King will continue to dominate in his shut down forward role, stepping up in clinch games like he does every time.

Mitch Farmer will become one of the best small defenders in the comp, contrary to not being in many people's best 22, he was coming into stunning form prior to injury, a leader, has a natural football mind and backs himself.

Mitch Morton will continue to dominate off the wing and improve his disposal under pressure as he familiarises with the role.

Jayden Post will settle in as a stunning second ruck, reading taps left right and center, this will translate into on field confidence and will result in him actually taking marks when resting forward.

Edwards will start to build hype with his performances and play another 22 straight.

Angus Graham will continue his sissy ways, jump early, and go out of the game like this year. 2 good games does not a player make (see Polo)

Jake King will continue to dominate in his shut down forward role, stepping up in clinch games like he does every time.

Mitch Farmer will become one of the best small defenders in the comp, contrary to not being in many people's best 22, he was coming into stunning form prior to injury, a leader, has a natural football mind and backs himself.

Mitch Morton will continue to dominate off the wing and improve his disposal under pressure as he familiarises with the role.

Jayden Post will settle in as a stunning second ruck, reading taps left right and center, this will translate into on field confidence and will result in him actually taking marks when resting forward.

Edwards will start to build hype with his performances and play another 22 straight.

Angus Graham will continue his sissy ways, jump early, and go out of the game like this year. 2 good games does not a player make (see Polo)

Apart from Guss a great summary, and very well summed up.

Cotchin - with a full preseason (well by his standards) his 1st halves will begin to move up to dominating full games.

Martin - another obvious one but again being fitter we will see those 14 touched in the 1st quarter push to the 2nd and 3rd.

Hicks - I have high hopes for Robbie, is an absolute jet with good skills. I can see him playing the majority of the season up forward unless we nab Harper at 6. Still with his increased bulk is an instant upgrade on White.

Deledio - this is not so much break out as him just getting better again. In a similar way to Goddard who has continual improved to the point that after the grand finals he is probably the best player in the comp. Deledio will hopefully be given that same float around and do damage role as Goddard too.

Gourdis - will make FB his own this year. Just wish we had of got rid of Thursty as our KPB are starting to clog up which could hamper the Goos gametime.

And for a hit or miss Rance - he can do it but loses composure at AFL level. Somebody just needs to slow him down, a little like tambling in that he goes to fast for his brain.

Going backwards

White - not really going backwards but should be overtaken by a few others like hicks and Taylor plus with foley returning, griggs, houli and pick 6 should be pushed down.

Nahas - will go further backwards this year. No core strength which means he is too easily knocked off the ball

Astbury - kid is class and with his footy smarts will probably prove me wrong but with his extra bulk and Thursty, Mcguane and Moore probably getting first crack in defense may find himself being switched back and forth and in and out of the side.

Connors - not overly impressed with his complete lack of defensive awareness and will be found out this year as teams play through his direct opponent.

Morton -Would not be surprised to see Morton make a real name for himself in the midfield. He looked hard at it and found plenty of it in the last few games. Awesome find. A full season should see his name up in lights.

Rance - Rance could be a massive flop but I think he's got a lot of ability. Just needs to find composure which will hopefully come with experience. I don't think he's a key back, at least not yet, so place him on the half back line. He can run and carry and racks up the touches when playing half back in the VFL. Give him a run there and inject Lids into the midfield.

Grigg - somebody mentioned Grigg previously. Think this is a great call. Has shown plenty for a young player. Give him another preseason, some responsibility and a coach who has a clear game plan and he could thrive. Would love him to have more consistent disposal by foot but he is a ball winner and will hopefully spend most of his time dishing it out to Foley, Cotch, Morton, and Lids.

Graham - don't think he is all of a sudden going to be a Dean Cox but if he can play at his best more consistently he will be regarded as a decent player. Is capable up forward and can find the footy when he's fit enough to cover the ground. Not classy but could be a solid contributor.

Apart from that I think that Astbury, Post and Vickery are a good chance to show improvement but are most likely another year away. Browne is still some time away as well. Has the weight but doesn't look to have the body maturity yet.

For me -

Post: Has put on a fair amount of bulk over his first two seasons - this will be his first pre-season where he starts learning how to use it, as opposed to acquire it. Watch out for improved positioning, body-on-body work, and more opportunities forward for him to use those big mitts. He's the marking KPF we're looking for - next year he'll start to show it.

Gourdis: Set for a huge season. Excellent closing speed and physicality - will spend the offseason, like Post, learning the finer points of the game and will be starting from Rd 1.

We have had a number of holes in our line up over the past 10 years or so but I reckon the biggest most glaring hole has been the CHF spot.

We had Richo running rampant all over the forward line for years & now last year Jack broke-out but at CHF we have had a conga line of muppets or in many years under Wallace, a 'midget' sized forward half with just Richo as the big go-to dude.

I guess Ottens in his prime was sort of an answer but even under the Terry's Triangle set up he played quite deep.

God how I long for an honest to goodness, textbook 'full-time' Tiger CHF to emerge from our current group of young talls to cement himself in the spot.

Pity (in some respects) that Astbury is looking so promising at centre half back because I reckon he could be a class CHF.

Nothing better at straightening up a team, especially one with a good midfield (like we are building) than to have a proper marking target at CHF to either take the grab or to at least contest hard and get the ball to ground to our advantage.

Forget Terry's Triangle, for too long we have had the Bermuda Triangle operating just forward of the centre at Richmond. :cool:

While I agree with your sentiment.... I don't think Ottens ever played in Terry's Triangle.... TW started in 05 and Ottens started at Geelong in 05. :cool:

Quite right actually... :o

So who was the 3rd tall in Terry's triangle?
Richo
Staff
????

Quite right actually... :o

So who was the 3rd tall in Terry's triangle?
Richo
Staff
????
Pretty sure it was Troy Simmonds. Joined us that year.

Tambling. Crows will play him off the back flank all season as we should have done for the last three seasons when he showed that was his best posi.

maybe so. but i'd take deledio, newman and connors on our HBF before him. they'll all look better players than richie come the end of 2011.

well and truly established in the 22 by seasons end: farmer, gourdis

onto the top shelf: morton, connors, edwards

can't have players go up without players going down: nahas, thursfield