AndyLucimitis

Chelsea
Happened to see a replay of the 1970 Grand Final again over the holidays and still marvel at how much of a gun Brent Crosswell was.

I didn't see a lot of him but my lasting memory of him, is him charging the length of the field in the 1977 Grand Final to take on a rampant Peter Moore.

What are peoples memories or stories of Brent Crosswell.

What were the circumstances behind his mid-season departure in '75 to North ?

I know him pretty well, his son's a mate of mine. Lovely bloke, like's to keep a low profile these days but is a wonderful guy to talk to.

A great player but an even better journalist, if you ever want to read some really good footy stories look up some of his.

Has Menieres disease which knocks him about a bit and affects his hearing.

Was a real eccentric during his playing days, not a wannabe like certain others.

Tiger was the original bad boy of Carlton. Starred in two premierships with us, and did it again at North after he exhausted the club's patience in 1975.

The nickname "Tiger" is apparently because he couldn't remember anyone's name at the club, and just called everyone Tiger to get by (that's from Robert Walls). He didn't hang around the place or socialise with other players like footballers usually do.

I remember him contracting some bizarre disease in France during an end-of-season trip and missing several games. Most of us thought it was the clap, but I distinctly remember one media report claiming it was a disease previously only seen in sheep.

David Williamson's "The Club" was written around a character modeled after Crosswell.

I remember him taking a screamer at Glenferrie Oval one day, but typically, it was using a teammate as a stepladder (Jezza in fact). One other time I saw him and teammate Vinny Waite boxing on in the middle of Moorabbin Oval. The umpire took one look and decided he didn't want to deal with that paperwork. That was in 1975, so draw your own conclusions. He was never the team player, but he was a winner. Sound like anyone we've seen recently?

He had that surrogate father/son thing with Barrassi which was both funny and endearing. They drove each other mad, but ended up together at three clubs.

Martin Flanagan's "The Last Quarter" dedicates a good amount to Crosswell. He was definitely a character.

It's a great pity that he's suffered from Meniere's all this time. He could have made a solid career as a writer. I must admit, I wish his son had taken up footy instead of athletics, but then Brent never had much love for the game he excelled at.

I do recall that screamer at Glenferrie Oval. From memory he had a crewcut after starting his career with a Beatles-style mop top and long sideys's.

Also you mention his sons - didn't one of his sons play for Fitzroy (Cavanagh ?)

I do recall that screamer at Glenferrie Oval. From memory he had a crewcut after starting his career with a Beatles-style mop top and long sideys's.

Also you mention his sons - didn't one of his sons play for Fitzroy (Cavanagh ?)
Correct, not the sons I was talking about though.

I remember him taking a screamer at Glenferrie Oval one day, but typically, it was using a teammate as a stepladder (Jezza in fact). One other time I saw him and teammate Vinny Waite boxing on in the middle of Moorabbin Oval.

Was when he had the crewcut, during his Hanoi-Lennon phase.

Helluva player, loved the big occasion, smart as a whip, and totally nuts white line fever.
Changed his kicking style every year.

Had a genuine on field presence, even on one leg Barassi played him off the bench in the 1976 gf, could barely move, but on he came 25 minutes into the 3rd quarter, and goals within a minute.

An all time favourite.

I remember Crosswell kicking the goal to put us in front in the 70 GF. Got a free as a result of being taken high by Tuddenham (I think).

The thing that struck me about him the first time I heard him talk was how well-spoken he is. To me it completely contradicted his on-field image.

Tiger was the original bad boy of Carlton. Starred in two premierships with us, and did it again at North after he exhausted the club's patience in 1975.

The nickname "Tiger" is apparently because he couldn't remember anyone's name at the club, and just called everyone Tiger to get by (that's from Robert Walls). He didn't hang around the place or socialise with other players like footballers usually do.

I remember him contracting some bizarre disease in France during an end-of-season trip and missing several games. Most of us thought it was the clap, but I distinctly remember one media report claiming it was a disease previously only seen in sheep.

David Williamson's "The Club" was written around a character modeled after Crosswell.

I remember him taking a screamer at Glenferrie Oval one day, but typically, it was using a teammate as a stepladder (Jezza in fact). One other time I saw him and teammate Vinny Waite boxing on in the middle of Moorabbin Oval. The umpire took one look and decided he didn't want to deal with that paperwork. That was in 1975, so draw your own conclusions. He was never the team player, but he was a winner. Sound like anyone we've seen recently?

He had that surrogate father/son thing with Barrassi which was both funny and endearing. They drove each other mad, but ended up together at three clubs.

Martin Flanagan's "The Last Quarter" dedicates a good amount to Crosswell. He was definitely a character.

It's a great pity that he's suffered from Meniere's all this time. He could have made a solid career as a writer. I must admit, I wish his son had taken up footy instead of athletics, but then Brent never had much love for the game he excelled at.

What a top little bio. AD, you have a real gift with the words, champ. Blueseum please take note. Great stuff. :thumbsu:

He was intelligent, and a reader. I think he actually went to uni and studied political science, but I'd have to check to be sure. However, like a lot of young wanna-be intellectuals that meant thinking Marx (and not Groucho either) was some kind of genius.

Can't really sum it up better than AD..

No: 17, did see him play in the early 70's, was one of those players who could turn a game and spin magic, bit like someone who used to play for us .. there is a great synopsis on Bluseum.com check it out.

Enigmatic, eccentric..I really loved to watch him play and I remember my sister had an almighty crush on him (he was a big of a darling, big grooby mop of hair)...a wonderful character.

Shame about his illness.

Glad his son is blue boy tho'

I'm gonna watch the 70 GF again, god I love that game, my all time fave I reckon...I didn;t go I was to young, listened to it on the radio, my sister did, I remember her coming home we could her her two blocks away.

Back to Tiger, he was a superstar no doubt.
show_image.php

Good point AD, his son was never allowed to play footy. He was an excellent soccer player before he started running. His older brother is also one of the best soccer players in the state.

Even though he didn't play, his son is a big Blues fan :thumbsu:

He did actually have a son that played AFL Football - Tom Kavanagh was taken by Melbourne under the Father and Son rule in the late 80s (I think) - he was a child born out of wedlock.

It was hoped that a very recent Number 1 Draft Pick would find his way to Carlton via that route. ;)

I saw his debut game against Geelong I Ithink, still the best I have seen from a Carlton first gamer.
I remember reading an article, supposedly written by him, in a paper called The Digger (?) in the late 60's early 70's about a game at Glenferrie when he alledgedly smoked a joint before the game and he said he spent the game in the forward pocket watching the trains go by.
He was out of the game for a season with a bone disease, osteomyelitis?
A great player that could turn a game with a genius piece of play or mark.
With Crosswell and Jezza in the same side, it was a pleasure to be at the footy each week.

He was intelligent, and a reader. I think he actually went to uni and studied political science, but I'd have to check to be sure. However, like a lot of young wanna-be intellectuals that meant thinking Marx (and not Groucho either) was some kind of genius.

He definitely went to La Trobe Uni. He was in my East Asian history class in 1976. Groucho was a genius also.

He did actually have a son that played AFL Football - Tom Kavanagh was taken by Melbourne under the Father and Son rule in the late 80s (I think) - he was a child born out of wedlock.

True, has already been mentioned above.

The sons I was talking about were raised by him in Hobart.

I saw his debut game against Geelong I Ithink, still the best I have seen from a Carlton first gamer.
I remember reading an article, supposedly written by him, in a paper called The Digger (?) in the late 60's early 70's about a game at Glenferrie when he alledgedly smoked a joint before the game and he said he spent the game in the forward pocket watching the trains go by.
He was out of the game for a season with a bone disease, osteomyelitis?
A great player that could turn a game with a genius piece of play or mark.
With Crosswell and Jezza in the same side, it was a pleasure to be at the footy each week.

Has anyone else heard the 'legend' that Crosswell actually experimented with acid (lsd) at one stage during his playing career - even playing at times whilst tripping?

Some sort of player was Tiger - up there with The Dominator as the ultimate 'big game specialist'. :thumbsu:

Hey go easy :( :p

Couldn't resist mate. :thumbsu:

Any chance you could ask Tiger about his (on field) acid experience? Assuming it's not simply legend that is.

Brent Tasman Crosswell. Impressive name. He arrived in 1968 as a teenager, both he and Wallsy debuted in the same year. Wouldn't happen these days as 17 year olds are still in the TAC competition. Continued the run of great footballers from Tasmania. Started as an onballer and played most games in the first year. He broke his collarbone [close to the finals] and may have missed a game. If you watch the 68 GF he is still pretty sore. One of the first footballers who looked like a modern footballer. Crozza liked to look good. Pace to burn, fierce at the ball, a great high mark with a slightly awkward kicking style. I sat in the top level of the Olympic Stand for the 70 GF. He put us in front late in the 1970 GF when he sized up the situation and forced Tuddy into a high tackle. Jezza's bouncing ball goal soon after clinched the match. Thinking about it still gives goosebumps. My brother-in-law, newly arrived from Sunderland, was so impressed he was crying. I think Crozza would have won the Norm Smith that day. Illness forced him from the scene [blood infection that made its way into his bones] in 71 [?]. Came back in 1972 and took a great mark at Glenferrie Oval in front of the Art Deco stand. Had a crew cut which made it even more memorable. Missed the 72 GF through injury. Went back in 73 and became a great rebounding defender. Doull, Southby and Crosswell - no wonder we won premierships. I remember a game at Arden Street in 1973. Barassi in his first year as coach of NM. Showed Richmond Carlton's 'weakness' that day. Crosswell V Kekovich. A shake of the hand prior to the game and a promise that both would play the ball. Slamming Sam didn't like how the contest was going and belted Crozza, who was in front, with a round arm. Sitting on the fence, no blood rule in those days, he crossed the boundary close to where I was sitting and I couldn't make out facial features as a result of the blood covering his face. Eventually had to leave the ground because the blood could not be stopped and the ambulance was called. This was just before half time. Wallsy, one of the bravest I've seen, running, with his back to the ball, looking over his shoulder, was following a high ball when he was cleaned up by Phil 'Snake' Baker. A cowardly act that would get you a season these days. Wallsy arrived in the rooms on a stretcher where Crosswell was waiting, in a wheel chair, for the ambulance. I'm told he had to be restrained from trying to enter the oval again. Crosser eventually crossed to NM during the 1975 season. Lots of things happened but that's all history. I happened to be a Carlton u19s hopeful at the same time who, because of lack of opportunities, crossed to NM at the same time. It's a proud recollection that the Footy Record wrote an article entitled 'Grasshoppers' - players who had been cleared to other VFL teams during the season. There was my name in print with the great BT Crosswell. Being involved at Carlton and NM meant rubbing shoulders with a lot of heroes. Up close Crozza was a show-off extroadinaire. At NM he loved getting on the speedball before training and give it to us uncordinated juniors as he pummelled and I missed even second hit. Over 200 games, 4 premierships. What a player. As you can tell the man who wore number 17 at Carlton still excites me today.