Broken Collarbone

• Thread starter Thread starter Freakie

Freakie

Cool cool cool
10k Posts Pantskyle Brisbane Lions - Tom Rockliff 2012 Player Sponsor Brisbane Lions - Tom Rockliff 2011 Player Sponsor Brisbane Lions - Todd Banfield 2010 Player Sponsor
Brisbane Lions
The Roys FC
Well after 15 years of riding I finally broke my collarbone last week! Anyone else done this and what were your recovery times like?

Came off the MTB at 35km/h and knocked my self out. Suffered severe concussion and have some awesome bruising on my chest...

Put the roadie on the wind trainer last night and rolled the legs over for 20 mins

Well after 15 years of riding I finally broke my collarbone last week! Anyone else done this and what were your recovery times like?

Came off the MTB at 35km/h and knocked my self out. Suffered severe concussion and have some awesome bruising on my chest...

Put the roadie on the wind trainer last night and rolled the legs over for 20 mins

Have snapped my collarbone (not while cycling) before. Was alright to go in about 6-7 weeks.

Have broken both at seperate times but from footy not a bike. Fracture or a clean break makes a difference. First time only half the bone was fractured, felt ok after a fortnight or so but i was about young teen age and after 4 weeks in a sling the doc said it was ok. Same day I managed to fall backwards from a 1m or so high stuffing around and spent another 4 weeks arm in sling.

Second time was in my 20's and it was the opposite side and broke almost all the way through, and a hurt a lot more. Wore a brace to pull my shoulders back for a few weeks but still now (about 8 years later) this shoulder sits higher than my other. The pain from this one hung around for a few weeks, it was hard enough to sleep let alone any kind of exercise.

If its not a bad break you should feel fine in a couple of weeks but in terms of full recovery they will tell you 6-8 weeks. It all depends greatly on if you manage to land on it again any time soon.

Broke mine earlier this year in footy. Complete break but didnt require surgery. Expert at hospital said it should be right in 4-6 weeks, was still getting xrays 6 months later to see if healed properly. Local doctor was always amazed they didnt operate every time i went back with new xrays. She reckoned the bad alignment was the reason for slow healing.

Feeling fine now and strength comes back pretty quickly. Although i reckon i did some rotator cuff damage which is still giving me trouble.

2 and a half weeks on my chest is still black! Must have hit the handle bars hard! Collarbone is starting to heal and feels alot better than even last week..

Broke some ribs in a MTB crash on Christmas Eve (nice timing). Just had my first ride back today (very easy 40km around the flat Geelong river tracks) five weeks after the accident.

Main issue not the pain of the ribs (pretty intense for the first week or so), but the shortness of breath from lungs not quite working properly.

In short - don't fall off headfirst into a 6 ft deep ditch and land on your handlebars.........

Did mine on bike a few years back. Didn't have an op, they just sent me home in a sling, then had a month or so of physio after about 6 weeks.

Back on the trainer after about a week, and on the road after a month (which was a bit too soon ...). Took a year or so to get full mobility back, to the extent that I forgot about it completely.

Haven't fallen since - touch wood.

had a diving mishap pre-Xmas and almost broke my neck
been hell trying to get back into competitive shape
fat and slow
one thing I learnt other than don't dive when you are unsure of depth is
dry accupuncture is awesome and the physio that has gone with it has been amazing
never fear little things like needles-has made the world of difference
not sure it can help a collarbone but just saying if you are broken do everything to fix it

Never broken a bone in body, more luck than anything else.

Came of last december while on the road while doing around 35 like you, no idea how it happened. Wasn't holding my handle bars and was fixing one of my gloves when i fell. Was a lot worse than any football hit ive been on the edge of. Full body ache for about a week and some killer road rash.

Bump.

Broke mine yesterday at Lysterfield on an embarrasingly easy log jump, landed in a bog heap and went over the bars. Managed to break right through and its now out of place a bit. Go back in a week to re-xray and see if I need surgery. Inspired by the pro's I figured I'd ride back to my car along the fire trail, until I reached a hill, those guys are nuts.

Bump.

Broke mine yesterday at Lysterfield on an embarrasingly easy log jump, landed in a bog heap and went over the bars. Managed to break right through and its now out of place a bit. Go back in a week to re-xray and see if I need surgery. Inspired by the pro's I figured I'd ride back to my car along the fire trail, until I reached a hill, those guys are nuts.

No good, rest up. Sleeping was a bitch.

Youse are all weak as piss done mine when i was 15 the first time and just started training a week after as had a state bmx title to win in 4 weeks time as dad back then would of went right off at me for being weak so they dont hurt that much. my best mate rides down hill and second best in the world but he has titanium collarbones.

Can I have your autograph?