Browne's game

Pretty weak of anyone to knock browne after 10 games.

I agree MT, it's not Browne's fault people like you and Hardwick and the match selection committee have absolutely NFI and threw him into the worst kind of footballing experience for a young player - one where you're not even close to ready to compete and your confidence gets broken in half.

A couple of years from now he might be a much more viable proposition if he can mentally get over what some very stupid men who should know better (I'm not including you in that group mate ;)) have put him through this year.

I agree MT, it's not Browne's fault people like you and Hardwick and the match selection committee have absolutely NFI and threw him into the worst kind of footballing experience for a young player - one where you're not even close to ready to compete and your confidence gets broken in half.

A couple of years from now he might be a much more viable proposition if he can mentally get over what some very stupid men who should know better (I'm not including you in that group mate ;)) have put him through this year.

I don't understand what you and MT see in him FFS he was 39 pick in the rookie draft in 2008 add the 85 picks in the national draft that year and he was taken with the 124th pick. Now why do you think that is so?

Because he is a football player made to play in the 70's. Everyone can see that but people still say give him time. why? he has shown what he can do and that is not enough to make it at AFL level.

We have put 2.5 seasons into him. If he was a top 20 or even a top 50 pick then maybe it could be argued that he has some ability that could be brought out but at 124 we should cut our losses and when his current contract expires , send him back to the bush.

I have to agree. Goes shows the desperation to select players who just are not cut out for the seniors. Sorry to say this but browne has no idea on what to do went has the ball. He stands still most of the time when he possess the ball and look to pass it off. Not many time where he has possession and takes for the 3 strides before giving the ball to a team mate. Too lanky for this level of footy. Miller is no better. Just to slow also. Bring back tuck I say. Jayen Post, well, trade him. Not cut out for seniors.
I was so appalled with game that I ended watching another game. Thats how furious I was with their performance. Selectors need a fire cracker up their ar... Its this kinds of crap that I wont buy a membership. Buying a member isnt going to make an ounce of difference. Bugger supporting the clubs, How about the club support its fans by choosing the best possible better. I dont want hear youth policies. These same youths that are selected are simply not good enough ie Post. Thats what the reserves are for, to refine your skills and prove your worth. They all have the skills but cant apply them when its required. May be its the pace, who knows.

Pretty weak of anyone to knock browne after 10 games. Coward acts. Something that cogga rules lives for. :cool:

I mean FFS some people a just pure tools who have shit for brains...they will wait for 5 years for what isnt going to happen and then with the next canditate they will automatically say he is part of the future, and wait another 5 years to see if what they hoped they see eventuates...so after 10 years of falied players, they will get one right and come out saying i toldyas...
These kind of shitheads will come out and say pretty weak to knock someone that has NFI on how to play at this level. ;)

I don't understand what you and MT see in him FFS he was 39 pick in the rookie draft in 2008 add the 85 picks in the national draft that year and he was taken with the 124th pick. Now why do you think that is so?

Because he is a football player made to play in the 70's. Everyone can see that but people still say give him time. why? he has shown what he can do and that is not enough to make it at AFL level.

We have put 2.5 seasons into him. If he was a top 20 or even a top 50 pick then maybe it could be argued that he has some ability that could be brought out but at 124 we should cut our losses and when his current contract expires , send him back to the bush.
Agree. At the moment we are royally ****ed! Which is the lesser of 2 evils? - Gus - The ruckman who can actually play but is lazy and doesn't put in the effort or Browne - The ruckman who has a crack but is just not up to it and probably never will be? do we play Gus and hope he pulls his finger out or do we play Browne and hope for a huge miracle that he might actually come good?

I don't understand what you and MT see in him FFS...

Which part of me saying he 'may be a viable proposition to play at AFL level two years from now' lumps my opinion on Browne with MT's ridiculous over-inflation of his current ability in your mind?

When you take a ruckman with that sort of pick you put him on the list and just forget about him for at least 3-4 years unless he happens to be a complete freak who everyone has missed, in which case you play him.

It's just not even close to realistic to expect ruckmen taken that low in the draft to become competitive no.1 AFL rucks by their third year of football. We don't see those kind of players playing for other clubs because their coaching staff aren't completely clueless, they're paddling around in the VFL and slowly developing the tank to play at the much higher level.

One thing's for sure, you're almost certainly never going to jag a ruck from late in the draft if you dump them all because they haven't started to become competitive in the no.1 role by their third year, all rucks beside the very occasional freak require much more patience and development than that.

I mean FFS some people a just pure tools who have shit for brains...they will wait for 5 years for what isnt going to happen and then with the next canditate they will automatically say he is part of the future, and wait another 5 years to see if what they hoped they see eventuates...so after 10 years of falied players, they will get one right and come out saying i toldyas...
These kind of shitheads will come out and say pretty weak to knock someone that has NFI on how to play at this level. ;)

Here's the knob again with his usual language. Would love to catch you at a game. You'd be going off bagging half our players and laughing while we're getting smashed. I'd put you in your place. You'd be shitting your pants like a plump 5'3" woman with 3 chins :cool:

Rucks don't tend to break out until they get to their mid-20's, Browne may learn to play with the benefit of his size but at the moment I don't think he is anywhere near it - I haven't seen many good effective disposals from him, even in the Essendon game.

If you look back, guys like Cox and Sandilands didn't really step it up until they were around 24, Jacob is having his first big year at 23, Goldstein's about to turn 24 and is in his break out year, Jamar came on a little bit later, Jolly was also more like 25.

It's really normal for rucks to start to hit their straps in their mid-20s, it's the most physical position on the ground and their bodies mature and fill out a little later.

Goldstein turned 23, 2 days ago.

Browne is completely useless. Makes Spider Burton look like Usain Bolt. Zero capability around the ground and often gives away free kicks because he has no idea. Might be a good bloke, but is one of the worst we have had in ages and should be exited immediately

Re: Brownes game

I have wondered WTF with the crap that has been spruiked about his previous games, but he got a vote from me for this week. Major improvement in this game, when talking ruckwork. The rest is still neither here or there. Unfortunately for him the rest of the universe knows that he will look for a handball rather than kick. Its something that if he doesnt address will lead to him being a top ruckman at VFL level of below. ;)

Brownes Game; Well l thought he actually battled his heart out winning his share oftaps (although were sharked by Melbourne). I would of given hin at least 1,or 2 in (5/4/3/21).Against Carlton he was terrible. Did not jump whaen competing , whats that all about? At least Vickery & Post jumped & competed like they meant it... Really not sure if Browne / Graham derserve to be kept on list. If we get a good ruckman from else where then, my question is answered, they go! Watched the last quarter of St.Kilda's game, McVor (not sure who its spelt), took 2, or 3 big marks from long kicks. When was the last time we even had a ruckman that can take strong marks. In a tight contest, we can not win games if we have a ruckman that can not take marks. Remember Seaby, L'berger in the last quarters against us? both played 15 meters in front of Jack & took easy marks. As forMcvor probably won the game for Saints in the last 8 minutes;
Francis Jackson, if the deal is not allready done with a ruckman, identify, & attack! we have lost atleast 5 - 6 games in the last 2 years on the back of the opposition ruckman.
Has anyone noted how often a ruckman is in the votes against Richmond...

Dunno what to make of this :cool:
Browne should be played for the rest of the season

having been to my first tigs game where i had a good view of the game (afl members on the wing, purrrfect viewing), i was right on the centre circle.

either browne had a leg injury or had forgotten how to jump, it was actually embarrassing the way that warnock would just hop over him and get a tap down into the path of a carlton on baller.

around the ground....dont even get me started, just really lacking in ability, not entirely his fault. i would like to see graham get the last half a dozen games of the season, i actually thought he stringed some good games together last year and competes on the ground a little better.

as for brownes long term future....well i think he deserves another season or 2, he is a mammoth of a man and could possibly develop further. lets not forget that sandi-pants was a rookie selection...

having been to my first tigs game where i had a good view of the game (afl members on the wing, purrrfect viewing), i was right on the centre circle.

either browne had a leg injury or had forgotten how to jump, it was actually embarrassing the way that warnock would just hop over him and get a tap down into the path of a carlton on baller.

around the ground....dont even get me started, just really lacking in ability, not entirely his fault. i would like to see graham get the last half a dozen games of the season, i actually thought he stringed some good games together last year and competes on the ground a little better.

as for brownes long term future....well i think he deserves another season or 2, he is a mammoth of a man and could possibly develop further. lets not forget that sandi-pants was a rookie selection...

Yup, what worries me about Browne (& Gus too) is their inability to actually get off the ground and launch themselves into a rucking contest.

Browne is better at boundary chuck-ins because he is such a huge plinth of a human that if he gets infront, he has some hope. (Though 3rd man up from the other team thwarts this move)

Both Browne & Gus have little impact at centre bounces and bounces around the ground because they have little athletic ability. Often shorter dudes can easily just spring a foot higher and beat them pointless.
(I reckon the brief moments that Grifff & then Post did some rucking on saturday we at least looked capable of equalising the rucking contest)

To digress a little, I actually meant to coment on this too...

On Saturday, it happened in the first quarter for most of the centre bounces... the stupid maggot umpires had virtually every bounce not going up vertically, but veering a few meters towards the Carlton goals. (Not enough to recall though... & this always shits me too in those circumstances... idiot comentators will say "the bounce favours Richmond" just because it heads towards the Tiger ruckman... well that's just crap IMO... such bounces favour the other ruckman because if it's coming in your direction, you end up standing under it and jumping straight up whereas the other dude gets a run up & we all know you can get greater elevation with a run up)

Early on Saturday, most of the centre bounces seemed to go this way so Warnock was getting a run up at it and Browne was camped under it... Judd, Murphy et al pretty much knew they would be winning the tap and the momentum of the ball would be going their way and would be running towards goal to shark the ball... our guys were often back-pedaling and a bit off balance... certainly made the job of getting centre clearances a lot harder for our mids.

Anyway, back to Browne, needs to hack away at Coburg for another year at least to learn to use his size because he aint going to 'learn to be athletic' and Gus has only a little time left to find some legitimacy.

We need to urgently find a spring heeled 'athlete' to at least jump at the centre bounces to at least equalise the contest to give our young mids any hope... :cool:

Yup, what worries me about Browne (& Gus too) is their inability to actually get off the ground and launch themselves into a rucking contest.

Browne is better at boundary chuck-ins because he is such a huge plinth of a human that if he gets infront, he has some hope. (Though 3rd man up from the other team thwarts this move)

Both Browne & Gus have little impact at centre bounces and bounces around the ground because they have little athletic ability. Often shorter dudes can easily just spring a foot higher and beat them pointless.
(I reckon the brief moments that Grifff & then Post did some rucking on saturday we at least looked capable of equalising the rucking contest)

To digress a little, I actually meant to coment on this too...

On Saturday, it happened in the first quarter for most of the centre bounces... the stupid maggot umpires had virtually every bounce not going up vertically, but veering a few meters towards the Carlton goals. (Not enough to recall though... & this always shits me too in those circumstances... idiot comentators will say "the bounce favours Richmond" just because it heads towards the Tiger ruckman... well that's just crap IMO... such bounces favour the other ruckman because if it's coming in your direction, you end up standing under it and jumping straight up whereas the other dude gets a run up & we all know you can get greater elevation with a run up)

Early on Saturday, most of the centre bounces seemed to go this way so Warnock was getting a run up at it and Browne was camped under it... Judd, Murphy et al pretty much knew they would be winning the tap and the momentum of the ball would be going their way and would be running towards goal to shark the ball... our guys were often back-pedaling and a bit off balance... certainly made the job of getting centre clearances a lot harder for our mids.

Anyway, back to Browne, needs to hack away at Coburg for another year at least to learn to use his size because he aint going to 'learn to be athletic' and Gus has only a little time left to find some legitimacy.

We need to urgently find a spring heeled 'athlete' to at least jump at the centre bounces to at least equalise the contest to give our young mids any hope... :cool:

Not a problem Roacha...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umEGSm9v4tc&NR=1

Imagine Browne coming in like that in a center bounce ruck contest...;)

We can blame Browne and Gus all we want, as long as we put in our mids as well. First time in a long time I have seen a Tigers game in the flesh and our mids were nothing short of meek and horrible. Giving a guy like Judd so much space at every stoppage is a joke, and Wayne Campbell I'm sure he is our mid coach better pull his finger out or **** off:thumbsd:

Thats the trouble he ISNT our mid coach this year. Last year when he was our mids were in the top 5 for center clearances and stoppages. Why do people have to blame Campbell for everything.

Who is then, and last year Cousins and Tuck were in the middle so he wouldn't have had to tell them what to do around the stoppages!! And if Hardwick ok's those types of stoppage set up's, we are in massive trouble for another 5 years:mad:

Brendan Lade... who was perhaps described as a 'lumbering ruckman'.
Perhaps Browne is his protege?

Brendan Lade... who was perhaps described as a 'lumbering ruckman'.
Perhaps Browne is his protege?

OMG! So our mids are going to be cloned to play outside the contest like the Burgoyne sisters:eek: I flew over with Carlton fans, even they were near pulling their hair out at our midfield set up!

OMG! So our mids are going to be cloned to play outside the contest like the Burgoyne sisters:eek:

dude, tipping the tigers brains trust would each give their right nut to have those two sisters in this line up.

What the sisters had that our mids dont is a big angry daddy slotting the ball and other assorted items, down their throats at ruck contests..;)

Senior Coach - Damien Hardwick
Opposition and Training Coach- Wayne Campbell
Stoppage Coach - Brendon Lade
Defensive Coach - Justin Leppitsch
Offensive Coach - Danny Daly

Senior Coach - Damien Hardwick
Opposition and Training Coach- Wayne Campbell
Stoppage Coach - Brendon Lade
Defensive Coach - Justin Leppitsch
Offensive Coach - Danny Daly

Ok, Lade just got added to my out's come season's end.