Oct 18, 2006
melbourne
liverpool-soccer
So we let another premiership slip by.

This is why when a team makes a grand Final one must take your chance and make it count,becuase you don't know when you will be there again.

We lost on the weekend in my opinion not because of injuries ,thats no excuse but because positional changes were't made when geelong changed their forward structure.

Even a novice like me could see Hawkins had to be stopped straight away.Dawes was doing nothing up forward,when the game was in the balance we should have reacted,something Malthouse has let slip for years,this has cost us in the past.
Quick reaction may have worked ,shake things up,ie Dawes to Hawkins Reid to the forward line.Although Malthouse too slow to react,result we lose.

Nathan Buckley looked a lonely figure on Suday morning,a man in deep thought who a lot of people are quick to write off ,but just remember he will be the one to make a few hard calls ,mould this great side we have and in short space of three years take us to our next flag.
He will achieve in 3 years what took Malthouse 12
He has a had a great teacher in Malthouse but he himself i believe has got a great footy brain.Time will show that he will become a great coach.

If Buckley has any negatives its his reqiurement for excellence.
Buckley has learnt a lot since his day as one of our greatest players now get ready for Buckley to beacome a great coach.

Buckley can and will deliver ! Bookmark it!

At first I was worried that Buckley would be too demanding and get too many players offside, like his early days as Captain, but now I think we need that hard edge. I think Bucks will put more stock in results than blind faith like Mick did a lot of the time, I don't think Didak will get away with having another season like this one and still be in the side come years end for example. He's also a noted critic of the boundary gameplan so I think we'll see the corridor used more often thank god.

Our boundary-line gameplan is central to what has been a very successful strategy of the Pies (the rolling zone). The rolling zone is not possible without going by the boundary line.

You simply can't zone off the whole ground, so by going by the boundary you are
a) Reducing the addressable area that needs to be covered by the zone by half, and
b) Allowing more stoppages and therefore more time for your zone (which is generally behind the ball) to catch up and get in place.
c) Allowing more stoppages which enables more pressure to be put on the ball carriers and therefore more chance to kick quickly and cause turnover.

If Bucks decides to be a corridor team, then the rolling zone won't work, and the whole game plan will need to change. Given how good we are at it, I would suspect only small changes to the gameplan initially.

I do not think anyone truly knows what sort of success Buckley will have with your group ....

I, like the rest of the football world, will be watching very closely.

Personally I think it will go only one of two ways .... very successful or a train wreck.

He has the my way or the highway mentality that all coaches need ... he is a strong person so that does bode well ... I feel his negatives are that he may find it difficult to take advice from others and that unlike Mick (who was also hard arsed) is difficult to approach and may not have that special bond with the playing group ... which is always essential.

I am licking my lips waiting to see what happens .... Geez I love this game of ours!

Our boundary-line gameplan is central to what has been a very successful strategy of the Pies (the rolling zone). The rolling zone is not possible without going by the boundary line.

a) Reducing the addressable area that needs to be covered by the zone by half, and
b) Allowing more stoppages and therefore more time for your zone (which is generally behind the ball) to catch up and get in place.
c) Allowing more stoppages which enables more pressure to be put on the ball carriers and therefore more chance to kick quickly and cause turnover.

If Bucks decides to be a corridor team, then the rolling zone won't work, and the whole game plan will need to change. Given how good we are at it, I would suspect only small changes to the gameplan initially.

Personally I can see us developing at least the ability to go down the middle in waves.

The best team, Geelong, goes wide and long when the play is slow, and straight up the middle when the play is quick and open. A few good handpasses and chips and they can chop teams open.

Basically, Geelong have mastered both the press and the corridor play. They use the ball well out of defence, and their only weak links come when either beaten in the ruck (rarely), or beaten at the contest (rarely).

Collingwood needs to be a better team than Geelong, Hawthorn, Carlton and West Coast next year. Not sure if any others will threaten the current top 5 for the last weekend.

In order to improve, the Pies need to be able to respond with a quick thrust forward, rather than solely taking the opposition's ball and responding via the cape.

It doesn't mean throwing everything out, it doesn't mean that the manic assault on the ball isn't coming back, it just means a few more strings will be added to the bow.

Would have happened under Mick, but now can happen under Buckley.

FWIW I hope we snag Paul Williams from the Dogs to help Bucks, but not certain if that will occur. (Not entirely certain how Willo and Bucks get on)

Good post. That may indeed limit Buckley's ability to make wholesale changes to your tactics. Added to that everyone may be kicking it long next year copying Geelong's anti zone tactics, should make for an interesting strategical evolution next year.

If Buckley has anything going for him it is that brilliant football head on his shoulders, may just see Collingwood return to the front of the tactics curve yet.

Personally I think it will go only one of two ways .... very successful or a train wreck.

I think it could be anything. I'm thinking it could well be a successful reign but maybe not premierships, or if one, just the one.

It would not surprise me for Collingwood to be brave but not good enough to win a flag under Buckley. But it would have been the same whatever coach was there.

Fact is, the leadership group at Collingwood is first class, and they will be the ones to deliver the tone of the response to the team. They can use this defeat as a stepping stone if it drives them to further success.

The "win it for XXX (insert Davis, Tarrant, Malthouse, Buckley, whoever)" factor has to stop though. Win for your bloody selves, it's a Grand Final, and the fact we were looking for this sort of added motivation at 3QT shows we were shot to bits tactically and emotionally.

Am looking forward to it - on Saturday we saw everything that was wrong with MM

1 - Blind faith in underdone players
2 - Plan A, if plan A fails - see 1
3 - If a match up gets out of hand, see 1, again, again, again, still out of hand = switch match-up - too bad game is already lost

Honest I don't care what Buckley does - as long as he does something different, if we don't we will get rolled by Geelong again next year.

Higher long kicking will just bring back the flood.

That is right. It will be a mixed strategy. What made Geelong so good this year was that they mixed it up. They were capable of short kicks, long kicks, flicking it around by hand and running the ball.

I also see Collingwood playing a little bit of a mixed strategy. They should still stick to their current game plan mostly but will cut back into the corridor occasionally. The last two weeks have shown that if you stick to the boundary religiously then teams who prepare for it can hem you in there.

Also you can't write off the effect of injuries, suspensions and speculation on Mick had on the team. It reminded me very much of the bombers in 01 and the shit feeling of a position of power slipping through our fingers. We also had a similar period of dominance in the grand final where it looked like we might run away with it.

That said, you could have lots of blokes having post season surgery and other reasons for interupted preseasons. Then get injuries and suspensions early in the year. This will expose your depth and young players. If you were to lose a few games like that those depth players could lose confidence and derail the season from the start, rather then at the end.

If Collingwood do have a dream run with injuries and suspensions, like West Coast this year, they will be unstopable next year. If they were to have a Freo like run then they'll struggle to make top 4. I personally think Buckley will try and manage the list like Scott did for Geelong this year.

I do not think anyone truly knows what sort of success Buckley will have with your group ....

He has the my way or the highway mentality that all coaches need ... he is a strong person so that does bode well ... I feel his negatives are that he may find it difficult to take advice from others and that unlike Mick (who was also hard arsed) is difficult to approach and may not have that special bond with the playing group ... which is always essential.

I am licking my lips waiting to see what happens .... Geez I love this game of ours!

(Bolded section) That's just extreme ends of the spectrum half baked stuff mate.
He wins a flag, you're right....
he doesn't do a long term stint, you're right
No flags as a long term coach, you're right

All with the hope that it goes oh so wrong. That's fine.

Good article by Rohan Conolly, one of only two good journos who work for the Age;

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/dont-write-off-a-magpie-return-to-top-20111002-1l443.html

Next year, they'll have a new coach in Nathan Buckley busting his boiler to get down to business, and armed to the back teeth with all the information he needs to turn second into first again They had the fifth-youngest list in the AFL this year, and only three players 30 or older in their grand final team, two of whom, Leon Davis and Chris Tarrant, had great seasons.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/dont-write-off-a-magpie-return-to-top-20111002-1l443.html

Fifth youngest list, and we pushed the oldest team in the league for 3 quarters in a GF.

Heaps of improvement to come, and Bucks will ensure everything goes to plan in 2012.

Bucks also sits safe with the knowledge he has a 3 year contract, unlike Malthouse who knew he was going out, and made that abundantly clear to all.

We'll be right, in fact, we'll be better under arguably our greatest player.:)

Why has this troll been allowed to post on our board all day is beyond me....

The problem is, Cats have a COUNTER for that strategy.
They have loose players in their forward and midfield that punishes the boundary method.... Cats win the stoppage they kick to the corridor, then another deep kick to the goal square or a one on one 20m away from the goal... and a crumber running forward from the midfield (boundary side of the stoppage).

Cats have it figured out.... Pies "defense" is very very vulnerable this way against the Cats anyways.... who are excellent stoppage team.

Buckley needs to make a coaching decision regarding fitness management based on Arizona Off-season trips.

(1) It is highly effective to the players endurance capacity.
(2) Its also detrimental to "recovery" portion for the players, which doesnt hurt the first half of the season, but leads to players running out "energy" and needing a couple of weeks "breather" towards the end of the season.

I think, Arizona offseason trip is still too good of a fitness benefit to forego...

The thing is, the players need to have "planned" breaks in the 2nd half of the season.... just like Cats did.

What happened to Magpies is that a few players got "rests" towards the end due to INJURIES... minus Heath Shaw... but he got 8 weeks rests which is WAY too long.

If I was Bucks, I'd strategically "rest" players every round after the first half of the season.
The older players specifically like Jolly, Tarrant, Davis, B.Johnson etc will get "extra" rests in the first half so that they peak in the later rounds.

This way, the Pies also get to "blood" a few young players, who can only be good for the future.

I said it before and will say it again... Minor Premiership is fine if the team doesnt sacrifice player "recovery" and "rest".

But Minor Premiership is REDUNDANT if it negatively affects your finals campaign.

Cats would of won Minor premiership if they hadn't "rested" players and managed their list as the season went on IMO.

Pies could of definitely used a couple of "tactically" placed "rest" weeks for the players....

Top 4 finish is enough.

Unless you have to play Eagles in Perth in either week 1 or 3 of the finals.

You need to get top 2 to ensure you are there with the home advantage through the finals.

My thought is that the finals series makes a big advantage for the winner of 2v3 because 4th tends to be cannon fodder when the whips are cracking. 4th have won the flag only 7 times in history; and only twice in dud finals systems have teams won from lower.

The current finals series has seen 1st win 5 times, 2nd win 5 times, and 3rd win twice.

The times that 3rd won the flag, they lost first week but got lucky and played 4th BOTH times in the prelim.

Facts are that beating 3rd in the prelim is heaps tougher than beating 4th, and it shows in the GF.

So to be honest, best thing Collingwood can do is finish 2nd with all their team up and firing at the right time, win their first final (possibly in a titanic struggle), then go BANG-BANG flag.

Bucks will be terrific and we should be able to build a geelong/brisbane lions dyansty over the next 3-4 years hopefully. Will deff need to repalce L.Brown (maybe with hille) and johnson/davis (maybe with peirce) and also jolly... apart from that our team is gnona get better as most are pretty young

Troll? Thought it was a well written post and agreed with all of it.

Guess you aren't all that good at spotting a well disguised troll then.
Check out his work in "why we lost thread" that says Ed and Bucks cost us a flag and we should stay clear of Eade cause he is a failure and if thats not enough check his posting history on the main board.

If I call someone a troll they are one.

I don't think too much will change. Bucks was quoted during the week stating the fact that everyone knows we are a boundary line team. A sudden shift or mass change may upset our structures so we don't want to mess around with it too much.

However, I do expect us to be more assertive and brave to execute the corridor kick or switch when the occasion calls for it. Too many times we have seen free plays inside but nobody is prepared to either look inside or take the risk, meaning teams deliberately set up "wide" of the corridor because they know that's where we are going to move the football. Teams such as Adelaide and Hawthorn and recently Geelong have been doing this exact thing against us and it has troubled or ball movement, run, flow and even our ability to score or create effective chances without having to overwork for them.

I have faith that Buckley will be able to deliver us back to the top of the competition - premiership glory - where we rightfully belong. It may not happen immediately (ie. 2012), but it WILL happen.

Guess you aren't all that good at spotting a well disguised troll then.
Check out his work in "why we lost thread" that says Ed and Bucks cost us a flag and we should stay clear of Eade cause he is a failure and if thats not enough check his posting history on the main board.

If I call someone a troll they are one.

I apologize that I don't patrol threads like you I'm a little busy for that, just took his comment on this thread on face value and it was fine.
You must be an internet guru with your confidence in picking someone trolling as opposed to having an honest opinion which conflicts with yours, and once again I apologize for that.

Buckleys new reign will deliver!