Review Bucks' Brief #7 Review - Sorry it's late!

Nicco_jj

Bigfooty Kid
Apr 27, 2011
Victoria
Melbourne Stars
Firstly, I humbly apologize.

Secondly, I have started a new thread so that people who want to read the review know that it has been done.

This is meant to be a start-of week- discussion starter, but as it is so late i will merely review it and won't put too much at the end. Thanks heaps for your patience!

1. "Obviously (it was) a good win against Brisbane. (we are) very happy with the performance of the 22 that went up..." - Bucks was very upbeat about the win.

2. "Peter Yagmoor... It was great to see him respond and get a good half of footy. I thought he was able to wipe the experience of round 1 against Hawthorn from his memory and perform very well and (fulfill) a role for us... Yagz' experience is one that he can build from from here".

3. QUESTION: WHAT HAPPENS DURING A MONDAY POST-MATCH REVIEW - "...we meet, as a coaching group, at 8 o'clock(am). We spend somewhere around two hours... going through the review of the game. The divisional coaches present what they have taken out of the game... As a coaching group we have an understanding of what the key messages are for the playing groups; both positive and improvements(sic)...". Bucks also explained that players get their body's right on Mondays and go through their review with their specific coach's (fwd, mid, bck) throughout the day.

4. In regards to Swan playing forward: Bucks praised Swan's contested ball winning ability and marking ability and his pace. "I've got no doubt that Swan... is a good player in any part of the field. We'll use him as a forward from time to time, but he is one of our best midfielders... so we'll expect him to be there more often than not."

5. In regards to if the coaches and players will look at last years GF before Friday's game: "No way. We'll be looking at, as we always do, Geelong's past 3 or 4 weeks; what they have done well, what the opposition has done against them, what has worked and what hasn't... Our major focus is on the Geelong of 2012, as we are the Collingwood of 2012... That's where our focus lies..."

6. "We do have a GPS on all of our players, other than when we play at Etihad... Marty Clarke is one of our best game runners, as is Steele Sidebottom. Scott Pendlebury is a very strong runner, as is Harry O'brien.... Dane Swan, as you would expect, has very high repeat speed efforts..."

7. Bucks on Steele Sidebottom stepping up: "I think it's just maturity and experience. He's definitely been exposed, at NAB Cup, to some inside roles as an inside-mid. I think the opportunity has come up for him to play through the midfield more as a wing-er and through the inside-mid positions rather than as a high forward which is where he has probably 'cut his teeth' over the last couple of years. So, definitely, he is ready for that progression, and his form in the last month has been excellent..."

8. Question about who pesters (in a funny way) Buck's most leading up to match day: "Well you can definitely add Heath Shaw... cause he doesn't often shut his mouth... Both myself and the rest of the players understand how loud Heath can be. The one... that actually spends more time around me is actually Kirk Ugle. He's been in good form in the 2's. I get a txt from him on a tuesday night - which is after our first match committee (meeting) - every week, asking if he's in the squad, what his role is, how he is going. So, Uugz' is very keen at the moment. So, I wouldn't say he pesters me, but he is on the front foot..."

That's about it for this week!
Go Pies!!

Re: Bucks Brief #7 Review - Sorry Its' late!

Good on you, Nicco. Much appreciated.

Living in China, patience is a given, so no worries waiting when people are busy etc.

Looking forward to the game tomorrow, albeit live radio and delayed replay as I can't go over to Hong Kong in time for the game this Friday.

Re: Bucks Brief #7 Review - Sorry Its' late!

Very interesting to hear about ugle, his got a young family to look after. sounds like he is super keen and dedicated, great to hear and hope he makes it.

Review Bucks' Brief #7 Review - Sorry it's late!