Camping

Eagles, Indiana, Chelsea
Camping is a lot of fun...either in the bush or at a camp school...what have been your best and worst camp memories?

At a recent camp to kalbarri....

Best: Abseiling, sandboarding, the hot chicks ;)

Worst: doing the above things in 40+ degree heat :(

camping.gif

Best camp was by far my year 9 camp at school. It was one day for cross country skiing and 4 days of bushwalking. It snowed during the bushwalk which made it even better. Was a challenge but a great experience.

Worst would have been the next it. It was 5 days of canoeing along the Murray. This was straight after the head of the river that year and on the 4th morning I collapsed with dehydration. I was taken to Wangaratta hospital in a bumpy old ute where I stayed the night. Might sound soft but I never want to go through that again.

Outward Bound. Year 11. 10 days in the middle of the bush with nothing but a piece of plastic for shelter, no toilets and no showers. At the time everyone thought it was a load of **** but looking back it was one of, if not my best, highschool memories.

Best - around 19 with a bunch of girlfriends doing tomboy stuff but spend most of it drinking all night and telling dirty secrets. The next night we invited some boys over....

Worst - when a friend of mine fell off a bridge crossing a river and we all thought she broke her neck. Ruined the weekend of course.

Originally posted by mandy5
Eeeeeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwww.

Camping's dirty.

And feral. :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

I don't stay anywhere unless it has a comfortable bed, hot & cold running water, a shower & proper toilet, not some disgusting hole in the ground. :(

I hate camping! One memory that sticks out in my mind is a Year 9 camp to somewhere near Falls Creek - we stayed in cabins for a lot of the time, but we did this hiking and camping part. The days were stinking hot and we had to carry great big packs everywhere, and the nights were FREEZING! And the damn teachers wouldn't let us sit out by the fire. :mad: It was a bad experience but it's put me off camping for life!

I don't mind going bush, but as long as it's to a cabin of some sort. ;)

Worst - Year 12 "Orientation" school camp - stayed on a Horse riding ranch in tents - ran out of gunja after 1 night.

Best - Early 90's - went camping with a bunch of mates & one of them brought his little sis' along (she was 18).
My mate feel asleep & his champ little sister blew me - funny stuff !
Seeing as I dont associate with this guy any more, it makes it all the more memorable.

Ahh a subject near and dear to Syddie's young heart!

Love my camping and fishing weekends.

Try the Resort at Murramarang (near Batemans Bay) a 5 star resort and yes for the ladies you can even book your own site with a private ensuite (so you dont have to use those feral facilities all us commoners do).

Right on the bay, great fishing too.

Also have a hidden spot up on the Hawkesbury I'm off to in a couple of weeks. Not 5-star but like most campgrounds has a reasonable amenities and shower block plus, yep, good fishing.

We bought a 3-level inflatable queen sized mattress so its comfy as. (My missus doesnt rough it), so we got all the mod cons a camper could possibly get. tv, fridge (very important) lights, you name it, we got it.

Yep, I loves my camping.

Originally posted by beckybiglands
That was one sweet festival, damn i miss it, i was in 2000 too

All I remember is the dust, the grog and the bogans we were camping near. Twas good.:)

Originally posted by Joel
Syd, that's not camping. LOL! I can't stand taking all that crap away when you camp. What's the point? You might aswell stay home, and watch TV.

Joel the mod cons are to get the missus to go camping. I dont want a tv around (mind you the fridge is handy).

Me I'm happy on the boat catching fish, then cleaning em, cooking em and eating them while consuming copious amounts of beer!

Now thats camping!! :D

Originally posted by Syd
Joel the mod cons are to get the missus to go camping. I dont want a tv around (mind you the fridge is handy).

Me I'm happy on the boat catching fish, then cleaning em, cooking em and eating them while consuming copious amounts of beer!

Now thats camping!! :D

Fair enough.

Yep...that's campin'. Bwuudiful!

:D