warnie

Warne Dawgs (DT)
I've put together some stats for the DT Talk Blog - www.dttalk.blogspot.com (sorry Beau Waters for PM!!)

Sooo... Kane, Chad or Bomber... hmmmmmmm..

Gary Ablett Jnr. 2007 Average: 98.5, Career Average: 73.4
vs Port - Average: 73.1, Last 5: 98, 93, 65, 64, 89.

Jimmy Bartel. 2007 Average: 114.4, Career Average: 86.0
Vs Port – Average: 87.0, Last 5: 111, 114, 182, 52, 63.

Paul Chapman. 2007 Average: 102.5, Career Average: 78.8
Vs Port – Average: 71.8, Last 5: 109, 80, 83, 84, 50.

Joel Corey. 2007 Average: 104.0, Career Average: 80.4
Vs Port – Average: 73.0, Last 5: 70, 94, 84, 104, 109.

Steve Johnson. 2007 Average:94.8, Career Average: 70.8
Vs Port – Average: 70.3, Last 4: 90, 75, 88, 40.

Cameron Ling. 2007 Average: 79.8, Career Average: 83.3
Vs Port – Average: 79.8, Last 5: 61, 96, 94, 106, 84.​
Port Adelaide

Shaun Burgoyne. 2007 Average: 79.9, Career Average: 70.1
Vs Geelong – Average: 85.3, Last 5: 112, 87, 122, 55, 63.

Peter Burgoyne. 2007 Average: 89.3, Career Average: 74.0
Vs Geelong – Average: 65.1, Last 5: 65, 37, 77, 88, 52.

Domenic Cassisi. 2007 Average: 87.5, Career Average: 61.0
Vs Geelong – Average: 49.8, Last 5: 74, 78, 58, 45, 27.

Chad Cornes. 2007 Average: 101.2, Career Average: 82.2
Vs Geelong – Average: 90.8, Last 5: 117, 109, 121, 85, 77.

Kane Cornes. 2007 Average: 107.4, Career Average: 84.2
Vs Geelong – Average: 93.4, Last 5: 114, 145, 131, 76, 68.​

No worries mate, I wasn't actually going to post anything since the finals DT competition is pretty fierce and I'm actually in with a chance at winning it.
That's just my competitiveness coming out i guess ;)
I won't be disclosing my captain choice this week, but of course I usually go by the stats rather than a gut instinct for the all-important captaincy role.

One thing to remember - Geelong and Port have never played each other at the MCG. You might need to take this into account when looking at their previous record... or maybe not :p

The captaincy for my team this week will go to the player I think will score the most points - regardless of whether they are a 'unique' player or not. I think this is the best way to do it.

Good luck to all.

what u boys think between the cornes this week?

k.cornes onto bartel? he went to corey last game but jimmy didnt play....

im leaning on chad or kane? jus gotta look at their records at the G

Of course Bartel would be the most popular choice.
I'm deciding out of three players.
One of them is ultra-consistent and frequently gets uber-high scores, but will be a popular choice, and may be negated due to a certain tagger.
One of them can pull the huge scores that you want from your captain, but may go missing and get sub 80s.
The other is similar to the one above, only this guy doesn't often get ultra-high scores like the above two players, he usually goes quite well. Except he, too can go missing.
After all my efforts to the contrary, its probably quite obvious who I'm referring to there. Oh well.

Corey will be a big chance to run loose all game.

Cassisi will go to Ablett Jnr, and I think Kane will get Bartel.

It's dangerous to worry about a tag too much, I got talked out of Swan last week cause of the Ling factor, and went Pendlebury.

Go with the best players you can get I reckon.

Ablett. Looked very dissapointed after the brownlow and will want to show the public that he is good enough to win one. Like his father did he will perform on the big stage!!!!

Corey will be a big chance to run loose all game.

Cassisi will go to Ablett Jnr, and I think Kane will get Bartel.

It's dangerous to worry about a tag too much, I got talked out of Swan last week cause of the Ling factor, and went Pendlebury.

Go with the best players you can get I reckon.

yeh i do agree, last week i did the same worried out of swan and opted for pendles, cost me top 20 spot, instead lingering away at 84th.
however i do think kane cornes will tag bartel and obviously cassisi gets g.ablett.

every1s midfield will comprise of cornes bartel and corey, however this leaves 3 spots to b filled by about 6 potential candidates..thats where the prize will be won and lost

I won't claim this analysis as my own but this is interesting none the less, in the past 7 years worth of GFs, 6 Brownlow winners have played in them and on only one occasion (Goodes last year) has the Brownlow winner got more than their DT average for that season.

Would that put you off Bartel as captain?

I won't claim this analysis as my own but this is interesting none the less, in the past 7 years worth of GFs, 6 Brownlow winners have played in them and on only one occasion (Goodes last year) has the Brownlow winner got more than their DT average for that season.

Certainly would.

Shh! Better keep it on the down-low then. ;)
Cheers for the heads-up smmorrow.

Not since the Red Sox sold Babe Ruth to the Yankees has a sporting decision been as important and likely to yield devastating consequences as the Captain selection imposes on this week's Dream Team coaches.

I don't know whether to submit to the hype and overlook the ever consistent brownlow winner in Bartel, or go for one the MCG owning Cornes boys that have such a fine record in recent matches against the Cats.

Maybe it's going to be an Indigenous player that runs away with the most points, like a Burgoyne or maybe even Pearce? Could it be a Grand Final appearance worthy of the Ablett name that makes Gary Ablett Jr the right choice this week?

Or maybe it's going to be someone a little quieter but no less effective, like Corey? Maybe, just maybe, one of the young guns like Selwood will stand up and reap in that elusive 125+ that will erupt into a 1000 point score.

Maybe Chapman will gather 32 possessions and kick five?

If only I had a crystal ball. :confused:

fryzie this is creepy, two posts i certainly agree, And their is much concern over the decisions at hand this week.

cornes tagged corey last time however bartel was absent, perhaps if it wasnt for his appendix he would have got tagged, who knows?

i feel it depends where you are ranked overall, top 20 can go for the consistency of the cornes boys, top 250 seeking to make a huge jump may have to give into temptation and get a chapman or ablett or even s.burgoyne who may prove to be at his devastating best on the big stage even with ling following him around, however he pushes forward could easily snare 4 goals, 20 touches 5 tackles, a worthy choice.

dilemmas dilemmas dilemmas

so stressful

i feel it depends where you are ranked overall, top 20 can go for the consistency of the cornes boys, top 250 seeking to make a huge jump may have to give into temptation and get a chapman or ablett or even s.burgoyne...
I agree, however, I would think if you were going for consistency then Bartel would be the stand-out choice.

its the kane cornes factor that worries me with him, otherwise i agree he is a shoe-in. however if you want to move up the rankings you cannot have bartel as capt because almost everyone will have him, cornes boys should do the trick if your part of that category

joel corey i reckon

Captain selection has given me a headache all week.

All the signs point away from Bartel with all of this weeks distractions. But if i take him off captain now, i know ill be kicking myself if he gets a top score.

Good luck everyone.