Car Radio Code

• Thread starter Thread starter The BIG X

Hey The Big X,
The code should be located in your car manual. When you get a new battery the code needs to be re-entered as a security precaution. It should be left in a little slip by the previous car owner inside the jacket (Well thats where it was in my manual). If you can't find it you should try to contact the previous car owner or if it's a new car the dealer you bought it from. The previous owners name and details should also be inside the manual.

Thanks Buddddylove
Purchased car at Auction ex Govt car - have looked through the Manuals etc but to no avail.

Guess will have to wait to Monday and ring a Dealer for assistance.

Thanks Buddddylove
Purchased car at Auction ex Govt car - have looked through the Manuals etc but to no avail.

Guess will have to wait to Monday and ring a Dealer for assistance.

Hello Big X.
The users manual is usually kept in a plastic cover is yours?
Inside that plastic cover there is usually a spot for one or two business cards.
If this is the case then I reckon that the radio code would be written down on one of those cards.
Be careful because some dealerships will even charge you to give you your code.

Some dealers charge, some dont. Have you VIN number ready when you ring the dealer. You can get that off your rego sticker. All they need is that. Its ridiculous that they can charge, but beleive me they do. My old man kept losing his and was charged a couple of times over a year when he disconnected the battery. Irony is, these days, its very unlikely that someone is going to steal a factory stereo out of a car. They are pretty basic, and there are heaps better ones to steal. I dont know anyone that works at a Mitsubishi dealer, so I cant help you there, Nissan on the other hand I could have got for you.

Thanks Bards

I have been fiddling around so much with the radio (NFI as Noos would say) and after reading the manual (if all else fails read the instructions) I cannot get the numbers to change on the display.
The manual states that I have to have the ignition on for atleast 1 hour and the am/fm button depressed - now worse off than yesterday.

Does this fit in 'a day in our footyless life'
Perhaps Grizz can advise me.

Have just had a new battery installed in my 2nd hand car by RACV and cannot locate code details - can anyone help please?? :thumbsu:

B

When the RACV guy changed mine over he put a little battery in the cigarette lighter to keep the essentials like the car radio from being deleted.

I would ring the RACV and complain and maybe just maybe they may have the details.

The service person should have known you would lose your radio when changing the battery over. Poor form.

S

Thanks RH - No gadget was put in the cig lighter prior to him replacing, however I note on the Invoice RACV man gave me state radio working prior to replacement yes/no answer NO
Radio working after replacement yes/no answer NO

Will ring the RACV and see if they care:rolleyes:

Get the VIN yourself, and call the manufacturers service head-quarters directly...as you bought at auction, no point going to a dealership. They will ask if you bought the car from them, then charge you.

It's like asking a band to autograph your burnt cd..they only go out of their way for people who purchased from them. :D

Thanks for all your help guys - now know my code - but cannot delete the no's from the screen - manual tells me radio must be on for 1 hour to delete the existing no's. - really frustrating!!:mad:

I drive along with a buzz from the car radio.

Perhaps I can have an opposing thread to Grizz - days in my car radio less life:eek:

Would have been quicker, and possibly cheaper (depending on what they charged for for the code) to pick up a new one at JB and install it yourself!

Thanks for all your help guys - now know my code - but cannot delete the no's from the screen - manual tells me radio must be on for 1 hour to delete the existing no's. - really frustrating!!:mad:

I drive along with a buzz from the car radio.

Perhaps I can have an opposing thread to Grizz - days in my car radio less life:eek:

Yank the cables off the battery for 10 mins BigX. Should send you back in time to the 2nd of Jan, but this time you have the code!

thanks GM - yes that makes sense - rushed out with my spanner undid the cables waited for 10 mins - screwed back the cables started the car turned on the radio (same codes still there) attempted to put in the correct code - nothing happened - cannot delete incorrect code.

I give up:(

thanks GM - yes that makes sense - rushed out with my spanner undid the cables waited for 10 mins - screwed back the cables started the car turned on the radio (same codes still there) attempted to put in the correct code - nothing happened - cannot delete incorrect code.

I give up:(

Bugger.

Find a teenager mate, probably have it sorted for you in 5 mins! :)

If not the flipping stereo and any loose change will mysteriously disappear. Win win.

Problem solved

Went to Dick Smith bought a $9.95 personal radio and attached it to the inbuilt car phone hoder with wife's headband elastic.

Works fine:D

Thanks to all contributors - much appreciated.:thumbsu: