Sacramento Kings
OK so AFC are going to est him for some 4 regular season games to ensure he has a succesful end to his career. The question is who comes in to play FF when Carey is resting? IMHO this is an opportunity to blood some youngsters. Rutten, Bock, Hentschel, Smith, Perrie and Schell are all capable to play as FF and some of them as CHF.

Rutten

Has the physical attributes to handle himself well at AFL level. IMHO I think he has what it takes mentally as well.

Bock

Is capable of playing as a FF and will work hard to keep the ball in our attack but has he got the strength?

Hentschel

Has potential but his body has a history of breaking down. Physical shape suggests he is not far off the mark but has he got it mentally?

Smith

Played his junior footy at CHF and prefersto play as a forward. Played mainly as a defender in SANFL with the magpies. Takes good mark and is a decent kick but is he ready?

Perrie

Works hard but has no skill. Towards the end of 2001 he showed that he is capable of playing close to goal but his kicking lets him down more often than not. Is he the answer?

Schell

Very Very Soft Soft Soft!!!!!! Enought said:mad:

There are other posibilities such as playing Biglands, Burton, Welsh, Bassett and Ricciuto as FF but I think we really need to get a couple of players to stand up before the likes of Carey and Stevens retire.

Personally I would look to give Rutten and/or Hentschel a go in these games. If Hentschel can get his body right and his confidence up he would be an ace to play FF. Rutten IMHO is more advanced at this stage of his career.

Thoughts??????

Stiffy we have to manage Wayne's season as if he was put in Cotton wool his body has been pounded for years at the Roos while playing chf & if we hope to get more than one year out of him then what the club are proposing is the only way to go,

As for possible replacements at ff if young Hentshcell was fit i would go with him to start of with if not try Bassett there with B Rutten at fb, not sure about Bocks size or strength for a kfp would like to see on a flank probably at hb,

Nothing against the player because he has achieved a lot in the game. He hasnt played CHF for nearly 4 years He plays about 25 mtrs from goal. If you are going to nurse him when he has had 12 months off then you are kidding yourselves. The bloke should have no niggles and should be raring to go. He was supposed to have kept himself in shape, so he says.
Personally, I reckon he'll help your young players out immensly but as for value on the park, well, time will tell nut i dont think he'll be much value there. Wheres Mark Stevens going to play? What about Welsh? They are 2 players that left North because they wouldnt get a kick with Carey being the focal point. It would be good for AFC if Carey can do for one of your young blokes what Dermie did for Sav when Sav kicked 90 goals.

Originally posted by CAAS
Nothing against the player because he has achieved a lot in the game. He hasnt played CHF for nearly 4 years He plays about 25 mtrs from goal. If you are going to nurse him when he has had 12 months off then you are kidding yourselves. The bloke should have no niggles and should be raring to go. He was supposed to have kept himself in shape, so he says.
Personally, I reckon he'll help your young players out immensly but as for value on the park, well, time will tell nut i dont think he'll be much value there. Wheres Mark Stevens going to play? What about Welsh? They are 2 players that left North because they wouldnt get a kick with Carey being the focal point. It would be good for AFC if Carey can do for one of your young blokes what Dermie did for Sav when Sav kicked 90 goals.

There is no question that it was risky to get a player who is 31 but it was done for 2 reasons:

1. It gives us the type of forward that we need to be real premiership contenders.
2. For our young guys to learn from the best in business.

As for how wil Carey work wth Welsh and Stevens it did not prove to be a probelm in our trials so far. Although Welsh didn't play due to OP, Stevens and Carey formed a formidable combination with stacks of crumbers around them. The bottom of the line is that none of us expected Carey to play every game. Even before we got him in a trade it was obvious that he will be managed and given a rest at some stage during the season. What I personally exppect from Carey is some 16 - 18 games and some 50+ goals.

He will provide a target and release some of the pressure off the likes of Stevens, Welsh and Burton.

If Carey manages to play some 16-18 games and kicks some 50+ goals and sets up a few then I will be happy, since the likes of Rutten, Bock, Smith and Hentschel have already benefited from Carey presence.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Hentschel

Has potential but his body has a history of breaking down. Physical shape suggests he is not far off the mark but has he got it mentally?

Hasn't trent only had the one long term injury - broken ankle at alberton last year playing against port power "reserves"

bit harsh judging him on that alone?

After hearing too much idiotic talk about "gee, is Carey going to last the season?" or "should he be rested?", I think some people need to take a step back and think about what the purpose of having Carey on the side really is.

Who cares if he is rested during the season? The guy is not in the side to win us game #3 or game #11 or game #15. He is in the side because we need him during the playoffs. He is in the side for games like last year's preliminary final against Collingwood, when nobody in the forward line could take a mark against the Pies D.

He is in the side because when we get to the Grand Final, he will provide the kind of on-field leadership that will lift the team and help them win the game. Whether he kicks a hundred goals is not the point. The point is that the TEAM will know that they are never out of a game as long as they see Carey sitting in the goalsquare. That they WILL have a sniff as long as they keep pumping the ball forward.

That kind of confidence leads to great comebacks, which in turn lead to great wins.

And THAT is why Carey is on the squad.

P.S.: I also agree with many of the other posters here that he will provide invaluable tutelage to the youngsters on the team. That alone is enough to make him worth a shot.

Originally posted by lacrow
Who cares if he is rested during the season?

Me, we didnt draft him to have him sit on the line. Rest him at FF and dont play him at CHF. :mad:

Burton would be my choice or Basset as a pinchhitting FF; maybe Perrie will get blessed by a leprechuan come Round 1
:D

The bloke should have no niggles and should be raring to go.
Erm I assume you are still talking about Carey here? The guy's had (all in the last 5 years) OP, both ankles, and both shoulders, plus hammy problems. You don't just return to peak physical form by taking a year off. He will carry remnants of most of those problems for the rest of his life. Just like my dodgy ankle incurred during a drunken night when I fell off the dancing stage at Players bar ;)

Originally posted by topjars
Me, we didnt draft him to have him sit on the line. Rest him at FF and dont play him at CHF. :mad:

Agreed.

I think it would be better if they tried playing him for a half and then swap him with Biglands or another tall in 4 games, rather than leave him out all together.

Jerome

1. If we play him 25 metres out from goal I'm not gonna be happy. For mine, we need to play him from the square so he has more room to lead into - like we did with Mods in the early days.

2. Mark Stevens will play CHF. One of the bonuses of Carey - and I saw this on Friday night - is that every bugger will worry about Carey and Stevo will slip under people's guards. This version of the Stevo/Carey forward line will work for us.

3. Welsh will play on a flank/pocket a wing if need be. Again he will slip under people's guards if all goes to plan.

4. I am hoping that the long term benefit of Carey is that he can groom our younger KPP's. We don't have too many experinced, consitiant forwards at the club anymore (except Robran). His on field leadership will be of great benefit to us.

For example, I will be keen to see how McGregor goes this year with Carey on the list as Carey has been one of his boyhood heroes. Having Carey around to give him advice might be just waht he needs.

Jerome

Re: Re: Carey Dilema

Originally posted by eddie eagle
Hasn't trent only had the one long term injury - broken ankle at alberton last year playing against port power "reserves"

bit harsh judging him on that alone?

Unfortunately that was not the injury I was refering to. Trent missed a couple of games last year due to back injury which has also hampered him this off season. I think he injured it about 3-4 weeks ago and if you read macca23's training report, he said that it looked really odd cos all he was doing was kicking a ball to a team mate in a kick and catch session. Having a bad back myself I know what kind of pain in the backside it can realy be:)

Originally posted by eddie eagle
ok - thanks for that stiffy - I hadnt read macca's training report

No probs. I am personally a big rap for Hentschel if he can get his body right cos he would be one hell of a player. Could surpass Modra as the best ever forward at AFC. I just hope he has a bit of luck and gets his body right. I just don't want to see him become another Ryan Fitzgerald who had unlimited potential but no luck what so ever.:(

Re: Re: Re: Carey Dilema

Unfortunately that was not the injury I was refering to. Trent missed a couple of games last year due to back injury which has also hampered him this off season. I think he injured it about 3-4 weeks ago and if you read macca23's training report, he said that it looked really odd cos all he was doing was kicking a ball to a team mate in a kick and catch session. Having a bad back myself I know what kind of pain in the backside it can realy be:)

It would be about 4 weeks ago now Stiffy, and it was exactly as you said. Bugger all in the incident - just kicking the ball.

If they get his back right, Hentschel is the one, because he is a natural FF. It is his spot. Has every attribute and gives 2nd and 3rd efforts.

Rutten is a possibility because he is a 100%er. Mightn't get too many himself, but he would get the odd one and compete well enough to create chances for the crumbers.

Barring Hentschell, Crowell or Burton are the most likely as fill-in FF's. Burton as a leading FF who can take a speccie, and Crowell who is quick off the mark as a leading FF.

One possibility that I do like is changing Ricciuto and Goodwin at FF and on the ball. Would be very unbalancing to the opposition, as they wouls need a small, not a tall to stand them, and very difficult to beat these 2 on a one out basis. Similar to what Pork Powder do at times with their smalls.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Carey Dilema

Originally posted by macca23
It would be about 4 weeks ago now Stiffy, and it was exactly as you said. Bugger all in the incident - just kicking the ball.

If they get his back right, Hentschel is the one, because he is a natural FF. It is his spot. Has every attribute and gives 2nd and 3rd efforts.

Rutten is a possibility because he is a 100%er. Mightn't get too many himself, but he would get the odd one and compete well enough to create chances for the crumbers.

Barring Hentschell, Crowell or Burton are the most likely as fill-in FF's. Burton as a leading FF who can take a speccie, and Crowell who is quick off the mark as a leading FF.

One possibility that I do like is changing Ricciuto and Goodwin at FF and on the ball. Would be very unbalancing to the opposition, as they wouls need a small, not a tall to stand them, and very difficult to beat these 2 on a one out basis. Similar to what Pork Powder do at times with their smalls.

I just hope Trent fixes his back up because I think we have a very good spine for the future at AFC

FF: Trent Hentschel
CHF: Ben Rutten
C: Jacob Schuback / Martin Mattner
CHB: Ken McGregor
FB: Matthew Smith

Some pretty good potential there IMHO. Rutten will take tima to develop into CHF but as you said he would provide contest and is very good in body on body marking.
Hentschel is a goalkicking high / contested marking forward with good 2nd and 3rd efforts. Schuback and Mattner a real goers and Kenny is already our no 1 CHB. Smith is developing and barring injury he will make it. All we need is a good young developing ruckman and possibly another tall capable of playing at both ends of the ground.:)

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Carey Dilema

I just hope Trent fixes his back up because I think we have a very good spine for the future at AFC

FF: Trent Hentschel
CHF: Ben Rutten
C: Jacob Schuback / Martin Mattner
CHB: Ken McGregor
FB: Matthew Smith

Some pretty good potential there IMHO. Rutten will take tima to develop into CHF but as you said he would provide contest and is very good in body on body marking.
Hentschel is a goalkicking high / contested marking forward with good 2nd and 3rd efforts. Schuback and Mattner a real goers and Kenny is already our no 1 CHB. Smith is developing and barring injury he will make it. All we need is a good young developing ruckman and possibly another tall capable of playing at both ends of the ground.:)

That looks a pretty good spine for future years Stiffy all we need to look for now is an up&coming young ruckman ready to take over from M Clarke,

Have never seen M Smith play so will be keen to have a look at him in the next couple of weeks.