Carey-Richo swap

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

Not as far as I am concerned...

Carey is a great player no doubt but he is too old. Not to mention the possible chemistry problems associated with him and his 'wandering eye' shall we say.

If we HAD to trade him to North, I'd rather get David Bourke back. The rest are all such scum I wouldn't spit on them.

Imagine Carey in a Tiger uniform.

I'd rather have 3 wooden spoons with our current crop than 3 flags with Carey in the side.

He could be a big plus for our youngsters. Lets be honest, we have no winners at our club. No premiership players, a coach who played for a club that was a rabble and winning a wooden spoon was the norm. I guess that culture has rubbed off on us?
If you were a young player, who would you like as a mentor:- Richo, Cambo, DK, Knights or Carey? Who would you admire most, a bunch of born losers (our players) or Carey?
As for this crap about him screwing someones wife. Who gives a toss? Are all our players angels? Have they been caught out?
I'd rather take a punt on Carey, than take a punt on Richo. Their records speak for themselves.

Give me Richo, for all his faults, any day.

He IS Richmond.

And don't go calling our senior players "born losers". That is just stupid.

At the end of the day, when supporting a club, there is more to the caper than winning premierships.

Richo has a heart that is yellow and black which, from time to time, may do us more harm than good. But he is one of ours. Carey is not and never could be.

I really don't think the circumstances are right for Richmond to consider swapping Carey and Richo.

If we were a legitimate challenger for the premiership next year it MAY have been a different story - Carey knows a bit about dragging teams to Premierships and may well have been the tonic we needed.

As it appears now, our first priority is finding enough players who are capable of winning possession of the ball in the middle and then delivering it forward.

Having Richo still on our list means that we effectively have 3 - 4 years to make this a reality. Having Carey would only give us 1 - 2 years to make work. Not really enough.

On balance, if Richmond and Richo were to part ways, I would suggest it would be more likely for some early draft picks.

Originally posted by sandeano
If we HAD to trade him to North, I'd rather get David Bourke back. The rest are all such scum I wouldn't spit on them.

And you seem like such a wholesome person.

Imagine Carey in a Tiger uniform.

You and your type have been doing this for 10 years.

I'd rather have 3 wooden spoons with our current crop than 3 flags with Carey in the side.

Fair enough. I hope you are braced for the first of that 3 this year. I think the born loser theory someone else raised applies here.

well, that's exactly right.

What guarantee is there that they can pay him?

I was walking past the Arden Street oval last weekend and its condition is a disgrace. If they cannot afford to get some bloke in with a pointy stick and a sack to pick up papers, how can they afford half a million a year to pay a footballer?

well, that's exactly right.

What guarantee is there that they can pay him?

I was walking past the Arden Street oval last weekend and its condition is a disgrace. If they cannot afford to get some bloke in with a pointy stick and a sack to pick up papers, how can they afford half a million a year to pay a footballer?

What is more perplexing is the fact I will probably see finals footy this year. Remember them? Hope you taped last years.

You have to laugh.

Originally posted by NorthBhoy

What is more perplexing is the fact I will probably see finals footy this year. Remember them? Hope you taped last years.

You have to laugh.

what that has to do with the fact that your ground is grubbier than your ex-captain's love life is beyond me. It is old rubbish, it does not take much effort to clean it up. Actually, Carey is still on your list, get him down there and make him pick them up. Make him the only million dollar garbo in Melbourne.

no way!!!.yeah North can't afford him and Carey is too old.I still don't think Carey is even going to play AFL next year.

Originally posted by diggler
He could be a big plus for our youngsters. Lets be honest, we have no winners at our club. No premiership players, a coach who played for a club that was a rabble and winning a wooden spoon was the norm. I guess that culture has rubbed off on us?
If you were a young player, who would you like as a mentor:- Richo, Cambo, DK, Knights or Carey? Who would you admire most, a bunch of born losers (our players) or Carey?
As for this crap about him screwing someones wife. Who gives a toss? Are all our players angels? Have they been caught out?
I'd rather take a punt on Carey, than take a punt on Richo. Their records speak for themselves.

your always full of positives :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:.really with all the stuff you say about Richmond I must ask why do you even supporter them? :confused:.

what that has to do with the fact that your ground is grubbier than your ex-captain's love life is beyond me. It is old rubbish, it does not take much effort to clean it up. Actually, Carey is still on your list, get him down there and make him pick them up. Make him the only million dollar garbo in Melbourne.

Thats funny.

The ground is pretty run down. The City Council have been great to North. They even let us (after 6 months of continueous submissions and knock backs) build a small mural out the front of the social club. How much did they kick in to your new facility again?

I am glad you are proud of your home ground, and your state of the art facility. I will take my gutsy respected footy team thanks.

Thats funny.

The ground is pretty run down. The City Council have been great to North. They even let us (after 6 months of continueous submissions and knock backs) build a small mural out the front of the social club. How much did they kick in to your new facility again?

I am glad you are proud of your home ground, and your state of the art facility. I will take my gutsy respected footy team thanks.

All sledging aside, what else is the Arden St. ground used for apart from being a Roos footy training gound?

Does the NM cricket club play there?

Actually, at the moment, it is a State-of-the-Art hole in the ground! :D

How much did they kick in to your new facility again?

The facility is budgeted to cost $4.5 million.

Of this, Richmond Football Club will tip in $3.6 million ($2m being our share of the sale of Waverley and $1.6 million coming from the Jack Dyer foundation).

The balance is to come from the Government (which I presume, though am not sure means the Melbourne City Council)

Just back to the Carey-Richo thing for a moment, neither team would win out of such a trade, even if it was realistic.

Richmond View :
To replace a 27 y.o with 32 y.o is ridiculous. Wayne is undoubtedly the best player I have seen in my lifetime, but at best has only a couple of years left in him. Whereas Richo, with a bit of luck could have 5 or 6. Not that Richomnd shouldn't be interested in Carey if he comes up as a late draft choice, or a trade for Cameron, Rogers, Bidders, or Huddo i.e. a player of similar age, or whose role at Richmond is now obsolete.

Roos View :
With blokes like Morrell, Teague, Baird, Petrie etc.., the Roos have enough erratic young high-flyers ... why would they consider another erratic middle-aged high-flyer ? Not sure what sort of room they've got in their salary cap.

I see that the Roos today disclosed that they had to pay out $3/4 million to Carey for contract settlement ... that's gotta hurt!!

According to this morning's HUN, Carey has spoken to Mark Brayshaw about his playing future.

Hmmm.....?

All sledging aside, what else is the Arden St. ground used for apart from being a Roos footy training gound?

Does the NM cricket club play there?

They do. There was talk of them relocating to the North-Western suburbs, but I am pretty sure Arden St is still the venue for their weekly arse slapping.

What is the deal there? I'm assuming the ground (but probably not the stands and facilities) was built prior to the footy club's inception? I'm supposing that the situation is different depending on the ground and team, but if the NM cricketers play there, does the VCA kick in a few bucks to the ground's upkeep?

I'm a bit of an architecture and local history buff and it is a crying shame to see the disrepair Arden Street Oval is in. It IS a disgrace that the Council has ignored its cause. Seeing how much the property values in the suburb have skyrocketed over the last decade or so, the rates they would be collecting ought to be going towards some of their local icons. Although the local area around ground the is not the most pleasing to the eye, the Arden street oval itself has the potential to be be VERY attractive and is, of course, of great significance.

Makes you wonder what the council is there for in the first place.

Any idea whether it is heritage listed by the National Trust? Could be an idea for the club to look into that and see if the government could offer a grant for its preservation.

According to this morning's HUN, Carey has spoken to Mark Brayshaw about his playing future.

Hmmm.....?
how do you read this?
if we are talking to carey means one thing.and im sure richo can see the writing on the wall.

obviously we couldnt afford to have both richo and carey on our list.
is it just a smoke screen to give richo a clear message?

btw if we go after carey then i.ll start to wonder what direction we are really heading.

cheers!

I'm just scratching my head....if they are willing to court Carey then they MUST be thinking of offloading Richo, for there is no way, unless Carey is willing to play for a ham sandwich and bottle of Patra a week that we can pay both.

Geez...this is worrying.

What is the deal there? I'm assuming the ground (but probably not the stands and facilities) was built prior to the footy club's inception? I'm supposing that the situation is different depending on the ground and team, but if the NM cricketers play there, does the VCA kick in a few bucks to the ground's upkeep?

I'm a bit of an architecture and local history buff and it is a crying shame to see the disrepair Arden Street Oval is in. It IS a disgrace that the Council has ignored its cause. Seeing how much the property values in the suburb have skyrocketed over the last decade or so, the rates they would be collecting ought to be going towards some of their local icons. Although the local area around ground the is not the most pleasing to the eye, the Arden street oval itself has the potential to be be VERY attractive and is, of course, of great significance.

Makes you wonder what the council is there for in the first place.

Any idea whether it is heritage listed by the National Trust? Could be an idea for the club to look into that and see if the government could offer a grant for its preservation.

I also reckon it could be a very attractive place. The old grandstand has been off limits for a very long time, and I am not aware as to why it has not been ripped down. The ground is obviously made a whole lot uglier by the portable classrooms, and the KangaKasino (ohhh the wit). As you probably know we get absolutely nothing form the council, and can't really afford to fix anything of our own bat.

I would assume ( or bloody hope) the VCA pays for the upkeep of the ground ( which is a pearler by the way), but this would be obviuosly during cricket season. I have no idea if the ground is heritage listed.

I was looking through a book yesterday which has a few pages dedicated to all old suburban VFA and VFL footy grounds in Melbourne. It contains a shipload of facts and stories related to each venue, and has some kick arse photos also. The author says the same thing re the lack of council support for the Arden St. You probably should check it out.

Funny you should mention that book, Northbhoy as I was planning on taking a wander down to the local mall to see if they have it. I'm assuming we are talking of the same publication, "Football Grounds of Victoria" or something similar?

I'm sure that the Council could find that a revitalised Arden Street Oval could become something of a financial goldmine if handled correctly. Back when the Roos used to play there every second week I'm sure that local businesses beneiftted greatly from the amount of visitors to the area and, if you ask 90% of Australians what they associate with the words "North Melbourne", the answer will be the footy team.

About time the council gave something back.

To tell you the truth, half of the attraction of AFL to me is its history (when you support Richmond you get that way ;). When we start neglecting that history then the game loses much of its soul.

Arden Street is just too important to let go.

Funny you should mention that book, Northbhoy as I was planning on taking a wander down to the local mall to see if they have it. I'm assuming we are talking of the same publication, "Football Grounds of Victoria" or something similar?

I'm sure that the Council could find that a revitalised Arden Street Oval could become something of a financial goldmine if handled correctly. Back when the Roos used to play there every second week I'm sure that local businesses beneiftted greatly from the amount of visitors to the area and, if you ask 90% of Australians what they associate with the words "North Melbourne", the answer will be the footy team.

About time the council gave something back.

To tell you the truth, half of the attraction of AFL to me is its history (when you support Richmond you get that way ;). When we start neglecting that history then the game loses much of its soul.

Arden Street is just too important to let go.

Thats the book alright. I only flicked through it.

For someone like me, Arden St is really the only thing I have connecting the footy club I support now, and the one my grandfather supported. With the new social club and admin offices heading to Colonial, I hope all of the ugly sections of the ground can be removed, the grandstand re-done, and the ground returned as a status symbol of the area again. I didn't experience it, but I wish that I could go there every 2nd Saturday and watch the Kangas.