Stevens - McVeigh (tagging, ala Bell)
Gibbs - Stanton
Bentick - Watson

Forwards
Fevola - Ryder/ Fletcher
Fisher - Fletcher/ Ryder
Betts -
Wiggins - Lovett Murray

Please fill in what you think is right/ wrong....

Thoughts and input please...

Blues by 35 points

I would think that Jamison goes straight to Lloyd and, after last week, Setanta will start on Lucas with Waite going forward. Can always switch him back if Lucas gets on top.

Or Setanta might start on pine for the initial stages and see how things go.

I would like to see Armfield get McPhee

Essendon's defence might be in trouble as I don't think Fletcher or Ryder match up well on Fev, and we don't have a real CHF for Ryder to go to (unless Waite is up there)

I would think that Jamison goes straight to Lloyd and, after last week, Setanta will start on Lucas with Waite going forward. Can always switch him back if Lucas gets on top.

Or Setanta might start on pine for the initial stages and see how things go.

I would like to see Armfield get McPhee

I would think that Armfield would get Lovett...

Jamison said in last weeks press conference after the game that he prefers to play closer to the goal square... hence why i think Lloyd wont be the option as he will play further up the ground this week.

I would think that Armfield would get Lovett...

Jamison said in last weeks press conference after the game that he prefers to play closer to the goal square
... hence why i think Lloyd wont be the option as he will play further up the ground this week.

Sorry Jammo. You play where you are told or where you are needed.

Essendon's defence might be in trouble as I don't think Fletcher or Ryder match up well on Fev, and we don't have a real CHF for Ryder to go to (unless Waite is up there)

That's a good call Ole Gill, I think Essendon's backline might struggle a fair bit this week. It would be a good time for Hartlett or Edwards to get a call up to stretch them a bit more.

Jamo vs Lloyd
Carlos vs Lucas
Thornton vs Neagle/McPhee

Doubt very much that they would go for 4 talls in their forward line.

That would mean Waite can push forward like he did last week. His confidence appears to be pretty high at the moment, and he could be pretty dangerous their next week. With an inform Waite and Fevola, and with Fisher up there as well, the Bombers will have their work cut out for them on Sunday.

Also, our midfield is far superior to theirs, and we should smash them around the clearances.

Sorry Jammo. You play where you are told or where you are needed.

From a reliable source - Carlton MC believe Jammo is very well suited close to goal where his pace over first 3-5 meters is very good and is what is needed to stay close to a FF when he makes his lead.

Expect him to play most of his footy on last line of defence and other tall Key backs to play more across half back

From a reliable source - Carlton MC believe Jammo is very well suited close to goal where his pace over first 3-5 meters is very good and is what is needed to stay close to a FF when he makes his lead.

Expect him to play most of his footy on last line of defence and other tall Key backs to play more across half back

Yeah, you are right. In a post match conference he was moved off Medhurst last week as Medhurst was pushing up the ground more, and Jammo is more settled and more effective deep in the defensive 50.
If Essendon play like last week, he won't be on Lloyd. Probably Lucas/Neagle.

Also, our midfield is far superior to theirs, and we should smash them around the clearances.

I think smash is a little harsh. Your midfield is a LOT better than ours, no question, but we'll be getting first use most of the time. If we lose 40-60 in the middle, or better, I think we'll win the game, because our forward line > your backline, and our backline is about equal to your forward line (Joel Reynolds isn't playing).

Welsh -> Murphy
McVeigh -> Judd (half-tagging, half head-to-head)
Watson -> Stevens (head-to-head)
Lonergan -> Bentick

Ryder -> Fev
Fletch -> Kreuzer (zoning off in front of Fev)
NLM -> Fisher (ditto)
Slattery -> Betts

Lloyd -> Setanta
Lucas -> Waite
Neagle -> Jamison
McPhee -> ???
Monfries -> Scotland (sitting at home, making him accountable)

I think smash is a little harsh. Your midfield is a LOT better than ours, no question, but we'll be getting first use most of the time. If we lose 40-60 in the middle, or better, I think we'll win the game, because our forward line > your backline, and our backline is about equal to your forward line (Joel Reynolds isn't playing).

Welsh -> Murphy
Lonergan -> Bentick

Ryder -> Fev
NLM -> Fisher (ditto)
Slattery -> Betts

Lloyd -> Setanta
Lucas -> Waite
Neagle -> Jamison
McPhee -> ???
Monfries -> Scotland (sitting at home, making him accountable)

If knights decided to do this, i would be very happy.

whoever is manning up on fish will be chasing him out of the 50 towards the wings most of the matches. good luck for him trying to zone off in front of fev.

I suspect the order will be "Stay back, if he goes, don't follow him, and fill the gap in front of Fev"

If knights decided to do this, i would be very happy.

You can't tag everyone, and Judd and Murphy are your two most damaging atm.

With Hille and Laycock likely winning the ruck battle, I'm fairly sure that Watson will be pretty damaging to whoever he plays on.

If that is the instruction then Fish will be walking all over you.
Cloke and Kreuzer had a confidence boosting ruck performance last week.. the ruck battle will definitely be interesting.
Just because you are winning the taps, doesn't mean you win the ball.
Our midfielders roved Sandi's ball when we played Freo to great success

I suspect the order will be "Stay back, You can't tag everyone, and Judd and Murphy are your two most damaging atm.

With Hille and Laycock likely winning the ruck battle, I'm fairly sure that Watson will be pretty damaging to whoever he plays on.

hmmmm... see this is where our opinions differ... i'd venture to say Stevo's ball use would be a shade more damaging than young Jobe's in a head to head contest.. actually... more than a shade... probably closer to fwarking heaps.

I agree completely that you can't tag everyone, but i'd reckon you'd want someone slightly more damaging with ball in hand than Jobe as the choice to head to head with arguably our best field kick.

Welsh -> Murphy
Lonergan -> Bentick

Ryder -> Fev
NLM -> Fisher (ditto)
Slattery -> Betts

Lloyd -> Setanta
Lucas -> Waite
Neagle -> Jamison
McPhee -> ???
Monfries -> Carazzo

Carazzo is our primary BP, so will get your most dangerous FP which u have seemed to have labeled monfries.

Setanta - Lucas
Jammo to lloyd if he is close to goal, but after last week, neagle is a more likely match up
waite - mcphee
t-bird - whoever isnt picked up

armfield - lovett
giblett - stanton ( i like this as it allows gibbs to be involved in the play unlike the match-up vs shaw)

welsh - stevo
mcveigh - judd (HBF i'm taking your word on this one ;)) - if they attempt to go head to head with judd, then juddy's brownlow odds will drop :)
bentick - watson

I feel murphs form will force knights to tag him. I think a young kid might get a job on murph.

Ryder - MA MA MA MY FEVOLA
fletcher attempting to drop off at all costs.

just some of the key match-ups

I agree completely that you can't tag everyone, but i'd reckon you'd want someone slightly more damaging with ball in hand than Jobe as the choice to head to head with arguably our best field kick.

Jobe is our best in-and-under player. The disposal thing is also a bit of a beat up. Yes, his kicking, and his decision making under pressure leave a lot to be desired, but the fact remains that he has an 80% efficiency rate. Make of that what you will.

Myers on Stevens is another I'd like to see, with Watto on Russell.

Carazzo is our primary BP, so will get your most dangerous FP which u have seemed to have labeled monfries.

Gus plays on the McLeod-type players. That's Scotland for you. Rama (if he plays) will play on Carazzo. If Winderlich wasn't injured, it would have been him.

Setanta - Lucas
Jammo to lloyd if he is close to goal, but after last week, neagle is a more likely match up
waite - mcphee
t-bird - whoever isnt picked up

Waite to McPhee would be interesting. McPhee's work rate is top notch, and does Waite have the motor to keep up for four quarters?

Neagle I think can outmuscle Jamison if isolated, and that is a match-up Knighter should be trying to exploit.

armfield - lovett
giblett - stanton ( i like this as it allows gibbs to be involved in the play unlike the match-up vs shaw)

Both very possible, if not certain.

I haven't seen him play much, does Armfield have the explosive pace of Lovett?

welsh - stevo
mcveigh - judd (HBF i'm taking your word on this one ;)) - if they attempt to go head to head with judd, then juddy's brownlow odds will drop :)
bentick - watson

I feel murphs form will force knights to tag him. I think a young kid might get a job on murph.

Welsh has to go to Murphy based on form. The kid will get Stevens.

Juddy's brownlow odds will drop? Funny, I seem to recall this match-up in round 3, about the time when McVeigh won us the game...

Ryder - MA MA MA MY FEVOLA
fletcher attempting to drop off at all costs.

Or vice versa. Most likely what you've got.

Waite to McPhee would be interesting. McPhee's work rate is top notch, and does Waite have the motor to keep up for four quarters?

I haven't seen him play much, does Armfield have the explosive pace of Lovett?

Welsh has to go to Murphy based on form. The kid will get Stevens.

Juddy's brownlow odds will drop? Funny, I seem to recall this match-up in round 3, about the time when McVeigh won us the game...

Waite has enough of a motor that will allow him to run with mcphee, i know mcphee has a massive engine though. I think you'll find that waite will go forward or be shifted at some stage during the night as your forward structure changes. Thornton may be the option as you will most likely have hille up forward at some stage, allowing waite to go to him. So waite wont have to follow mcphee all night.

Army played on leon davis and dale thomas last week. They might not be as quick as lovett, but you'd put them in the same tagging bracket.

I doubt knights will feed a kid to stevens, despite how good they are, stevens is an accomplished player and is in good form. You let him loose and he is our most damaging player with his kicking. So much so that Choco played Kane cornes on him instead of judd.

Peverill played on judd for most of the night last time, mcveigh only went to him in the final quarter. Let's remember how judd's fitness was in round 3. Not taking anything away from mcveigh though, i have a high opinion of him and imo is your best midfielder, but if judd is given room, well u know what will happen. Just ask collingwood after the 4th quarter last week. :thumbsu: You seem to know what you are talking about, unlike the majority of other visitors we have here. Let's do this again sometime. :)

Waite has enough of a motor that will allow him to run with mcphee, i know mcphee has a massive engine though. I think you'll find that waite will go forward or be shifted at some stage during the night as your forward structure changes. Thornton may be the option as you will most likely have hille up forward at some stage, allowing waite to go to him. So waite wont have to follow mcphee all night.

Army played on leon davis and dale thomas last week. They might not be as quick as lovett, but you'd put them in the same tagging bracket.

I doubt knights will feed a kid to stevens, despite how good they are, stevens is an accomplished player and is in good form. You let him loose and he is our most damaging player with his kicking. So much so that Choco played Kane cornes on him instead of judd.

Peverill played on judd for most of the night last time, mcveigh only went to him in the final quarter. Let's remember how judd's fitness was in round 3. Not taking anything away from mcveigh though, i have a high opinion of him and imo is your best midfielder, but if judd is given room, well u know what will happen. Just ask collingwood after the 4th quarter last week. :thumbsu: You seem to know what you are talking about, unlike the majority of other visitors we have here. Let's do this again sometime. :)

1. Knights tends to feed the kids huge roles, and then sees how they cope with it. Myers, or possibly even someone like Reimers or Jetta (unlikely) will get a run-with role. The more I think about it, though, the more I think that it will beWelsh -> Stevens and Myers -> Murphy. Myers has had run with roles the past two weeks. He had Hodge against Hawthorn and Masten against West Coast. He'll probably take another youngster (Murphy) this week, freeing Welsh up for Stevens.

2. McVeigh was best on, purely because of his last quarter. At 3 quarter time the game was yours, until Spike volunteered for Judd, kicked a couple and won us the game. It was Peverill who Judd killed.

3. Cheers, mate. Carlton v Essendon is always a special game for me because:
a) I hate your ____ing guts:)
b) My two best mates are Blues fans.

Looking forward to a good game on Sunday. I'd wish you good luck, but I wouldn't mean it:D

I'd start like this in defene:

Jamison - Lloyd (he can do a job on him, it's the supply and a soft free that got Lloyd his goals last time)
Waite - Lucas (our best defender goes to their best forward)
McPhee - Thornton
Neagle - Setanta (the kid is huge, need big carlos on him)
Carrazzo - Monfries
Armfield - Lovett (good speedy matchup there!)

Midfield:

Gibbs - Stanton (Stanton is a reciever, Gibbs will tear him to shreds)
Grigg - McVeigh (Grigga needs to block McVeigh getting to Juddy)

Watson is good around clearences too, maybe put JR on him.