East Rottnest
Yep this weekend we can teach Carlton a few lessons from all the flak they've given us in the past.

This visit to Subi (or is that W...best Stadium), they will be without the greatest sucker up to umpires, SOS, the scragger who is weighed down with extra metal, Manton, and maybe one or two booze merchants.

It's a worry saying this is a danger game for Freo, as going on form the Blues should be presented with an early September present which will not look good next to all the silver spoons in their cabinet. It's been rare for Freo to be in this position.

Some of the Freo boys can lift more, so that is good as it shows we are not playing at 100% capacity yet. JLo looked like he wanted to play against Brissie (mum may have had a flea in his ear), the Dwarf is due for a couple and Croady and Farmer are programmed to "show off" in front of the home crowd.

I'd be a bit peeved off if we didn't win by 45 + points as we must win the game (say by half time)and then punish sides if we are going to be a feared team in the coming years.

Who better to thump than the Blues, well the Colliewobbles come to mind ......

I'll be happy if we come away with the 4 points. Lets not get complacent. They've got Ratten back, and we've always had trouble beating the Blues.

I'm not sure my heart could take it but a one point win after Carlton get dudded by the umpires would be nice!

Well done to the Freo boys. My wish of a 45 points plus victory was a little out but then I didn't allow for this object called "rain".

Cory McKernan must have killed a couple of "chinamen" in the off season, as his luck has gone walkabout. Get thumped in a game but get it inflicted by a team mate, just shows you how he's going.

Great to see Craig Bradley playing in his "last" season, I think someone gave him some aggro pills.

Special mention to Macca who showed alot of players how to keep his feet when others were kissing the grass around him.

Yeh it was good to see the boys have a win over Carlton. I was a bit worried about the rain before the game, because I couldn't remember the last time freo had played in the rain and I thought if those conditions would favour anyone it would be Carlton.

After getting given wooden spoons during the week, it would have had one of two effects on carlton.

1) Fired them up for a huge game.
or
2) Completely destroyed their confidence.

Early in the game it looked like they were very fired up and with the inclusion of Ratten in the midfield, they were causing them some real problems. However when McKernan came off I knew that we'd have the advantage in the middle with snake against Hotton. I mean Hotton does a really good job for the blues, but when he is asked to lead the rucking duties for the whole game, you know Carlton had big problems in that area.

The flooding in the game was absolutly crazy, with the majority of carlton players always being at least outside their own 50, if not completely in the Dockers half. It was good to see Pav push forward and Connolly placing him and Brown outside 50 to try and take long shots at goal to break the flood.

I think Farmer should be alright and if a report is laid against him for that incident I'll be pretty surprised. It looks like Ratten gave him a chop to the nads, but the footage was kinda dodgy, so I think he'll be let off too.

As for the Dockers players, it's great to see a player like Paul Medhurst who has a real footy brain. He backs his judgement and knows when to give a little push at just the right time to avoid getting a kick given against him. That bit of play when he tapped the ball to cunningham and then they got it onto Croad was awesome.

The umpiring was pretty dodgy all the way through, but I guess they were consistantly crap for both sides so it pretty much equals itself out.

At the moment with the freo team I'm just liking the feeling that when the ball is in the forward 50, unlike other years I was actually pretty confident that we could kick a goal from it. I guess the next few weeks are really going to show where we really are in terms of the race towards the finals. With the Doggies, Collingwood and Sydney (??) coming up, they all seem like winable games and if we could come through it with 2-3 wins then we'd be well placed to make a charge towards the finals. Lose these 3 and it'd be pretty tough to make it from there.

Go the Dockers!!!

It was a great win after the Blueboys started so well. Although I felt we could have won by more as in the last quarter I felt we had a chance to flog them and didn't take it. But still, another good win :)

And how good was Magnificent Paul Medhurst!!! That tap to Cunningham was marvellous