Draft Pick

When are they allowed back into the first 2 rounds of the draft? 04 or 05?

Sad but true. However we won't have picks 1 and 2 (2002) or pick 5 (2003) this year so if they have enough else on us from a previous year, they will wait until we have more to lose to bring it out.

Originally posted by The Old Dark Navy's
Sad but true. However we won't have picks 1 and 2 (2002) or pick 5 (2003) this year so if they have enough else on us from a previous year, they will wait until we have more to lose to bring it out.
Fitzy is on the commission now, the essendon vindictive bias has been somewhat balanced, I don't think we'll get rooted up the anus again like they did to us on black friday whilst Fitzy is there.

Originally posted by Deej
Fitzy is on the commission now, the essendon vindictive bias has been somewhat balanced, I don't think we'll get rooted up the anus again like they did to us on black friday whilst Fitzy is there.

Id lube up if i were you. The essendon connection love nothing better than dealing out the medicine to the blues.

Originally posted by marcuz
Id lube up if i were you. The essendon connection love nothing better than dealing out the medicine to the blues.
I'm not disagreeing with you on that, it was shocking what was allowed to happen to us. And the rest of the Elliott-hating footy public stood back and laughed. A truly pathetic and corrupt moment in AFL history.

We have long memories though mate, remember that.

I liked Elliott.

I'm not disagreeing with you on that, it was shocking what was allowed to happen to us. And the rest of the Elliott-hating footy public stood back and laughed. A truly pathetic and corrupt moment in AFL history.

Yes but for anything to happen a carlton man would have to have some power on the commision....it will be a cold day in hell before we let that happen.

he said, conveniently not mentioning that the reason the penalties were imposed was due to your club's deliberate cheating of the system...it wasn't because of Elliot, it was becuase you cheated. Seeing Elliot go down was a secondary delight for everyone he has abused over the years (rabble anyone?). The only pathetic display was (and is) Carlton's bleating at getting caught, and as fo corrupt, well pot kettle black should do nicely.

but hey deej, if a single mother on welfare with 11 kids can buy a bmw, carlton can pull themselves out of this one, eh?

they're going alright, btw, better than expected.

Originally posted by Bluemike
Get over it

We cheated

We got punished accordingly

It's in the past now

It's still a bloody good reason to sink the boots in though...even if it does make bomber fans look hypocritical.

Get over it

We cheated

It's in the past now
Nope, will never forget what happened, ever. And when we win our next flag, hopefully soon, i will absolutely shove it down everyone's throat in barrel loads.

Originally posted by kahuna71
he said, conveniently not mentioning that the reason the penalties were imposed was due to your club's deliberate cheating of the system...it wasn't because of Elliot, it was becuase you cheated. Seeing Elliot go down was a secondary delight for everyone he has abused over the years (rabble anyone?). The only pathetic display was (and is) Carlton's bleating at getting caught, and as fo corrupt, well pot kettle black should do nicely.

but hey deej, if a single mother on welfare with 11 kids can buy a bmw, carlton can pull themselves out of this one, eh?

they're going alright, btw, better than expected.
Yeah you keep believing the afl spin, lemming.

oh, I'm sorry, so you didn't repeatedly cheat the salary cap? everyone got it wrong did they?

as has already been mentioned, accept it like a grown up, stop your pouting and move on...everyone/every team makes mistakes - credibility comes from facing it instead of denying it like a child.

Get over it

We cheated

It's in the past now
Relax, it's not a whinge. The thread is about when we can come back into the first two rounds of the draft. The rest is flippant cynicism.

Originally posted by kahuna71
oh, I'm sorry, so you didn't repeatedly cheat the salary cap? everyone got it wrong did they?

as has already been mentioned, accept it like a grown up, stop your pouting and move on...everyone/every team makes mistakes - credibility comes from facing it instead of denying it like a child.
I hope you don't break your leg while you're climbing down off your high horse.

What would have been a fairer punishment Deej?

Keeping in mind that it wasnt the first time you guys were caught rorting the cap and you benefited to the extent of a premiership. Further why would the AFL be out to 'get' Carlton or was it an anti-Elliot thing in your eyes?

These are serious questions, I'm not trolling and I dont want to hear an anti Essendon/AFL barrage unless its in the context of a genuine answer. I'm genuinly interested in your answer.

I have a John Elliot poster in my bedroom.

I am in the process of creating a shrine at the posters base.

as i said everyone/every team makes mistakes (i'm st kilda, so I should know) so there is no high horse. In carlton's case most supporters seem to have accepted the bad judgement made by the club, taken the hit and have moved on. And I respect that, not just in football but in life. I have nothing further to dig into carlton about. In fact, they are recovering ahead of schedule and are very competitive compared to 12 months ago.

Deej is incapable of doing that and continues to whine about the unfairness of it all, and probably doesn't even accept that Carlton broke the rules excessively and repeatedly. It's childish.

The reason why it seems such a harsh penalty is also exacerbated by the fact that carlton is the first club to have this level of penalty handed down. The next time it happens the precedent has been set.

So to all Blues who accept they screwed up, hate the penalty but have accepted it, good for you. For those can't, and won't, even admit guilt well enjoy your ulcer.

Until when?
Until whenever. Its a shame he ran Carlton into the ground the way he did as he was always good value for comments. you wouldn't trust him as far as you could throw him, but so what? One of the few characters in an off-field role.

Also, the AFL were a lot more on edge with him around because they knew he wasn't a lackey.

Originally posted by localyokel
What would have been a fairer punishment Deej?

Keeping in mind that it wasnt the first time you guys were caught rorting the cap and you benefited to the extent of a premiership.

Hmmm...I don't remember us being caught cheating the cap for the 1995 season. Please explain.

I hope you dont trip over your knuckles with your Carlton blindfold on.