J6shSC

San Diego Chargers, Orlando Magic
Looking through my team right now, with the help of TooSerious I am trying to decide when to trade out which Cash Cows I have. Obviously the best time is round 8-10 but we only have 6 trades in that time frame and most of us have more Cash Cows than that.

When do you think it is too early to trade a Cash Cow out? When do you think it's too late? Discuss!

They will peak around round 9 (if they have played all 9 games) they will still hold thier value after that time so its not like you will miss out on trading them you basicly have from round 8 - 22 to sell them ;)

That is where I disagree. While most will hold their value, you have to try and make sure you have other viable options to downgrade to. For example, I am seriously considering trading Cameron Hitchcock this round because he is set to make only $40K in the next 6 weeks. That's all well and good, but he was awful on the weekend and could be dropped, combined with the fact that Rockliff is ready to be scooped up as a big Cash Cow makes it a solid possibility that the time to trade Hitchcock is right now (under the right circumstances).

Yeah well then he isnt really a cash cow is he, he is just a spud rookie, do you even know what the definition of a cash cow is? A cash cow is some who you pick at the start or trade in with the sole perpouse of making you some cash, some times they can become keepers, like many people are planning on doing with Waters. A Cash Cow doesnt have to be a rookie, look at Maguire, Waters, Malceski and Co. they are pretty established footballer and are still considerd cash cows. For the record a real cash cow peaks at 8-10 games.

Why would you get rid of a 'cash cow' that's averaging 90+ per game anyway?

Some of the prems that could be possible upgrade targets would be averaging less?

I would suggest that if you have the likes of Barlow-PODS-Rockliffe in your squad that they could be longterm keepers???????

Seriously considering the Hitchcock >> Rockliff/Pods trade myself. Sure. It's a sideways trade but one that will earn you some cash and get another potential keeper into your team. May not bee all the money you hoped for but at the end of the day, he served his purpose. Albeit poorly.

Hithcock looked to be a fair option as a cash cow rd1. Just didn't pan out that way. No harm. No foul. Not every rookie that looked good at the start will end up delivering.

Okay so my reply was deleted, but I've been playing SuperCoach for years so don't be a little shit presuming I don't know what I am talking about. Regardless of what you think, a cash cow is a player who you brought into your team to make money. If they don't make as much as you would like it does not suddenly change what role they were supposed to play in your team. I bought Hitchcock to make money, he isn't doing it very well, shit happens.

CaptainChardonnay; I agree. Hitchcock had a very nice NAB cup and I (along with many other SuperCoaches) thought that would transfer into the season. Bad luck on our part, haha, but Rockliff is looking good. I just hate the idea of using another trade at this stage, even if it makes me $300K over the next 8 weeks.

seriously considering cashing in 2 this week, McGuire and Peterson for Schmidt and Podsiadly

Me too, but there a quite a few on the bubble to choose from..... Schmidt, Lucas, Melksham, Colyer, Pods, Rockliffe, Howlett.

I would rank them as follows for SC for the remainder of this year:

Rockliffe > Melksham > Pods > Lucas > Schmidt > Howlett > Colyer.

Me too, but there a quite a few on the bubble to choose from..... Schmidt, Lucas, Melksham, Colyer, Pods, Rockliffe, Howlett.

I would rank them as follows for SC for the remainder of this year:

Rockliffe > Melksham > Pods > Lucas > Schmidt > Howlett > Colyer.

And with the exception of maybe Rockliff, none of them are guaranteed a spot.

when is a cash cow no longer a cash cow? is is too late to jump on the barlow train?

just wondering. i got very lucky with my cash cows this year, very very lucky. this is my reasoning :D :

-Picked alex silvagni cause of his famous last name
-Maguire cause ive heard the name maguire somewhere
-Podsi cause he was at the bottom of the list for forwards
-Dustin Martin because he came to my school

seriously considering cashing in 2 this week, McGuire and Peterson for Schmidt and Podsiadly

unless you desperately need the funds mate, i'd consider holding both goose and peterson. they might not have had great games but there is still a fair bit of appreciation to go in both. would much rather be making at least 200k+ (preferably more) on each cow.

there will be plenty of downgrade opportunities throughout the year, no need to try and jump on all of them or you will end up using 20 trades to downgrade and find yourself with an extra ~2mil in the bank but with not enough trades remaining to use it

Pissing off Masten, just not sure what cow to bring. Lucas has looked alright in his 2 games, Should I bring Cunnington in straight away and lose more cash on Masten?? Any other thoughts on this one??

I wouldn't be bringing in a cow who hasn't even played senior footy yet. If you're after cunnington, give it until he's chalked up his second game. I wouldn't worry about masten leaking too much value, while his b.e is aroudn the 85-90 mark this week, he's only set to fall around 10k or so if he gets his average of ~60. The kid had 7 tackles last week and his usual number of disposals, he just went with a few more handballs rather than kicks which didn't help him (not sure how his efficiency was compared to previous weeks either)

If you're hellbent on trading him this week, however, then i'd suggest Lucas over Cunnington for the simpel reason that we've got an idea already of how Lucas plays at afl level btu we haven't had that luxury yet with Cunnington. Be mindful of Lucas' scores though as they have been against the crows and essendon, not exactly the benchmark sides in the comp this year (no disrespect to either side, simply pointing it out to support my reasoning) and the blues have a hellish 3 weeks coming up with the cats, pies and saints.

I wouldn't be bringing in a cow who hasn't even played senior footy yet. If you're after cunnington, give it until he's chalked up his second game. I wouldn't worry about masten leaking too much value, while his b.e is aroudn the 85-90 mark this week, he's only set to fall around 10k or so if he gets his average of ~60. The kid had 7 tackles last week and his usual number of disposals, he just went with a few more handballs rather than kicks which didn't help him (not sure how his efficiency was compared to previous weeks either)

If you're hellbent on trading him this week, however, then i'd suggest Lucas over Cunnington for the simpel reason that we've got an idea already of how Lucas plays at afl level btu we haven't had that luxury yet with Cunnington. Be mindful of Lucas' scores though as they have been against the crows and essendon, not exactly the benchmark sides in the comp this year (no disrespect to either side, simply pointing it out to support my reasoning) and the blues have a hellish 3 weeks coming up with the cats, pies and saints.

Decent post. Yeah I got a bit excited by Cunnington. Apparently is ready to replace Harding. Lucas has played pretty well and looked composed last week against Adelaide. I do agree the match wasn't great to go by and that the Blues have a tough run. I reckon he can hold his spot for a while.. Maybe..

Masten is just frustrating, Especially when rookies are outscoring him. Surprised his BE wouldn't be higher. Fumbled alot on Friday night and may have conceded a 50m penalty and some clangers. Just a poor score considering the Eagles won pretty easily. Just seems to be a rookie choice better then Masten in his current form plus it would give 250k for a future upgrade if I went the Kane Lucas route.

And with the exception of maybe Rockliff, none of them are guaranteed a spot.

Rockliff isn't guaranteed a spot either. Would expect him to hold for this week, until Black comes back, but then someone's got to go and he might be the loser out of him, Proud and Polkinghorne.

Okay so my reply was deleted, but I've been playing SuperCoach for years so don't be a little shit presuming I don't know what I am talking about. Regardless of what you think, a cash cow is a player who you brought into your team to make money. If they don't make as much as you would like it does not suddenly change what role they were supposed to play in your team. I bought Hitchcock to make money, he isn't doing it very well, shit happens.

CaptainChardonnay; I agree. Hitchcock had a very nice NAB cup and I (along with many other SuperCoaches) thought that would transfer into the season. Bad luck on our part, haha, but Rockliff is looking good. I just hate the idea of using another trade at this stage, even if it makes me $300K over the next 8 weeks.

Have to completely agree with this: Hopeful cash cows have been found wanting in years past and ended up being a cash calf....not so much the wrong call with Hitchy, had every chance, just isnt up to it....made you 60k - so calf-ish only.

These 'animals' though also serve another purpose - bench support. No matter what you need some bench players who play, there will be injuries down the road. With Hitchy - granted we'll see on Thursday, but a he's a big chance to be be in a sandwich come Friday - so a Pods/Rocky pickup in his place, both with breakevens -100 ++ will generate some serious mooooooooo-lah.......and give you the support you need in case of injuries over the next few weeks.

Thats why in my opinion, all animals are created equal, but some are more equal than others :)

Ive got so many cash cows im really hoping some of them can become consistent enough to stay in my side the whole year. Will take a lot of trades to move all of these out..

Waters, Silvagni, Maguire, Nason, Barlow, Bastinac, Martin, Shuey, Warnock, Podsiadily, Gumbleton, Hitchcock :D

Only dud rookie ive got is Lobbe, but I had him for the MPP option which is now useless because Tippett is a spud

Rockliff isn't guaranteed a spot either. Would expect him to hold for this week, until Black comes back, but then someone's got to go and he might be the loser out of him, Proud and Polkinghorne.

Hes also got buchanon and Adcock in the wings... I think he is going to lose out mabye if hes continues this good form he may get picked before a proud polkinghorn or a reddon but is going to be in and out this is why im unsure

I think im going to keep hitchcock for now unless he gets dropped and then the decision is made harder

Same here i think, Russea. Hitchcock may not be as fast a money maker as the likes of peterson, or potentially pods/rockcliff but so long as he continues to get games and doesn't start scoring like relton then he'll just be a slow burning cow.

With the exception of the Saints this weekend, Ports draw is looking pretty rosy for at least a few weeks with the crows, bombers, calrton, melbourne, richmond (with hawthorn and sydney after that).

IF, just IF, Shuey picks up ANOTHER LTI, who do I trade in? Lucas could be one to think about, but job security? I can just afford Lewis Jetta. Melksham is probably too risky. Thoughts?

Hmm not to sure the obvious pick is probley Jetta, could try Lucas. Melksham should NOT get dropped this week, but who knows WTF gos through Knightas head:p. Moles scoreing potential doesnt look to good and then could also go for howlett but again job security but if he gets picked this week could be one to look at with his b/e of -93 could be one to watch but i would go Jetta

Melksham is definitely in this week.