Game Day Changes & Pre-match Discussion - RD 4 vs. Carlton. Thur 03/04 @ 7:30pm (MCG)

Give me strength. Pendles was semi rested in a the middle of three games close together. If Jamie needed some management he doesn’t need it off a bye.

Don’t be a rester.

Jamie is looking springier than ever. It’s like he’s been drinking Ent draught.

Carlton w***ers having a cry on their board about Fly texting Voss last week. Impressive that a negative can be found over what was a decent gesture i thought. Cant even be a mate to a bloke you've spilt blood and tears with in 3 premierships in without these paranoid dickheads sooking it up in a sad circle jerk over it. Lets flog these irrelevant flogs and officially commence rebuild number 26 this century for them
I would have thought if anyone was going to have a winge about this, it would be us.😏

Carlton will come out strong in the first half. They generally run out of legs late, so we just have to manage the minutes.
Hopefully our goal accuracy is elite & Blues have a night of misery in front of goals.

Be interesting to see what, if anything, Voss changes considering he's finally acknowledged they're not running out games well.

Carlton will come out strong in the first half. They generally run out of legs late, so we just have to manage the minutes.
If we come out strong in the first half as well, they'll just fall in a heap after half time.
If they're behind at half time they'll be gone.

he will be managed eventually anyway but would be less likely to be humming come September considering he turns 33 in late August
Is the logic here one of attrition? The best way to manage the attrition of a season is to bring forward the eventually.

Selection is a headache, for all the right reasons.
I think Ned Long should be in the 22. He has earned the right to take on Cripps.
I think Frampton needs to come in for Reef as there is every chance McKay will play, and they also have Kemp who poses a threat forward.
Therefore, the dilemma: who to drop, and who is sub?
Others have mentioned that Cox does not offer a way to counteract TDK's skills (playing around the ground with his athleticism almost like an extra midfielder).

This might well be true, but

a) Cox has consistently provided a stable structure for our game, with his ability to contest the hitouts and also marks down the line. Also, McStay will be exempted from being in the ruck, and that I think will make him far more effective as a threat in our F50.

b) Cameron will run with TDK around the ground, and if Cox is backing up Darcy by taking many of the ruck contests at stoppages, TDK will be run to the human limit.

c) With Kemp, Curnow and McKay, Carlton are also playing alot of talls, so we would not be losing a "runner" by retaining the two ruck combo.

For mine:
Out Reef (inj), In: Frampton
Out Membrey (unlucky): In Checkers

Sub: Lippa (also unlucky)

I don’t think we will have Long tag Cripps or anything like that, we may see him next to him at stoppages a bit but ideally we want him shrugging off their other short people like he has been doing and dishing off to our mids. Cripps may be one who can actually tackle him.

Cox played 16 games last year for a return of 6 goals.
He just doesn’t contribute much to our scoring anymore.
Slightly????

We also went 10-2-4 last year. 3 of those 4 losses was when we started the year crap. 1 was the Sydney robbery.

I don’t care too much about his scoring. He averaged 4 scoring involvements last year. Membrey averaged 4.7 score involvements.

We kicked 52 points in OR this year. Against Port? We kicked 136. Last year, 126 points.

We “look” better with Membrey in the forward line, but it’s not 100% that we are functioning better and winning games yet.

For all the comments that McStay in the ruck is “not a big loss” compared to when Cox is in the ruck. Membrey & Mihocek aren’t the most threatening KPFs for 20% of game time. So not are we almost guaranteed to get beaten in the ruck, our forward line looks weaker.

It’s not like we are running Shaun Grigg (Richmond days), we are literally using our most potent KPF. Equalivent to Giants using Hogan or Cats using Cameron.

I digress. We’ll wait and see how the year plays out.

We also went 10-2-4 last year. 3 of those 4 losses was when we started the year crap. 1 was the Sydney robbery.

I don’t care too much about his scoring. He averaged 4 scoring involvements last year. Membrey averaged 4.7 score involvements.

We kicked 52 points in OR this year. Against Port? We kicked 136. Last year, 126 points.

We “look” better with Membrey in the forward line, but it’s not 100% that we are functioning better and winning games yet.

For all the comments that McStay in the ruck is “not a big loss” compared to when Cox is in the ruck. Membrey & Mihocek aren’t the most threatening KPFs for 20% of game time. So not are we almost guaranteed to get beaten in the ruck, our forward line looks weaker.

It’s not like we are running Shaun Grigg (Richmond days), we are literally using our most potent KPF. Equalivent to Giants using Hogan or Cats using Cameron.

THis is the first time we'll have them all fit, so will tell us what combination they currently prefer. That preference might change though and frankly having them all fit probably won't happen that often. It's nice yto have some depth and options.

I don’t think we will have Long tag Cripps or anything like that, we may see him next to him at stoppages a bit but ideally we want him shrugging off their other short people like he has been doing and dishing off to our mids. Cripps may be one who can actually tackle him.
Will be more of a defensive mindset than all out tagging I imagine. So rather Long chasing his own ball he will take more a defensive positioning at the stoppage. Expect his tackle count to be high.

I don’t know why you quoted me in your post.

You said - “In the minority, but Cox > Membrey. Maybe having Membrey makes our forward line slightly more agile. ”

I posted - “Slightly???”

We are certainly more than “slightly” more mobile in our forward line with Membrey instead of Cox.

You didn’t respond to that so why quote me?

Class, smarts and field kicking skills way better than Carlton’s so if we bring the pressure and tackling and take our chances to go with these we should do them. Also look to be connecting with each other more like 2023. Pies by 30 at least hopefully. Go Woods !!!!

Probably right against other teams, but not against Collingwood....

Carlton came back from behind and almost won the game last time.... recall Cripps literally winning every contested ball in the last 10 minutes.

Cox had 8 disposals against the Bulldogs, only one of which was in the forward 50. An easy miss at goal.
I just don’t think he offers enough to justify his inclusion, at this stage.

It would be foolish to not go with the key forward lineup we had against Port.

Cox to miss out. Membrey has taken his spot, for the moment at least. Cameron can handle ruck duties with McStay a more than adequate second ruck. frampton coming into the team also means an extra ruck option should we get an injury.

If we can take Weitering out of the play it will go a long way to us winning.
With the 3 mobile tall forwards does it give us more flexibility to keep trying to drag him back to the goal square or take him further up the field so that we can keep targeting the player he isn’t picking up at the time.

Hard to Invision what will happen this game,
I can see us being too strong and dominate with skill and poise across the ground and have too much fire power up forward for them to handle.

I can also see them coming out strong and making a big statement and actually converting in the second half and not getting run over this time..

Hopefully not the latter that's just my always imagine the worst case scenario speaking.
We have a great side who have half a dozen players capable of scoring multiple goals, that provides me with confidence for getting the job done.

Fly did hint in the presser yesterday we want to keep our old DNA but also with a new fit forward looking line this year avoid some potentially close games by kicking away, something we haven't done in years consistently I'd love to see that!

Probably right against other teams, but not against Collingwood....

Carlton came back from behind and almost won the game last time.... recall Cripps literally winning every contested ball in the last 10 minutes.

Last year we didn't handle it when we were defending a lead and teams were rolling the dice in Q4 comeback mode with runners just taking off in all out attack and swarming us. That was one of a fair few games when we were leading comfortably and had teams come back hard when we were in clock killing mode. Hopefully we've sorted that out.

If we can take Weitering out of the play it will go a long way to us winning.
With the 3 mobile tall forwards does it give us more flexibility to keep trying to drag him back to the goal square or take him further up the field so that we can keep targeting the player he isn’t picking up at the time.
Basically just don’t do what we did in OR with Taylor, just dump kick it so he intercepts everything

Seems the logical McKay option. Billy has a bit of see you en tee in him as well so McKay would want to be on the ball mentally
McKay doesn't deal with bodywork particularly well so Billy would be ideal.
Cox had 8 disposals against the Bulldogs, only one of which was in the forward 50. An easy miss at goal.
I just don’t think he offers enough to justify his inclusion, at this stage.
Came in late then got punched in the head. Not an ideal night to dominate.
Selection is a headache, for all the right reasons.
I think Ned Long should be in the 22. He has earned the right to take on Cripps.
Long has played 57% game time and remains our 2nd highest tackler behind Schultz. He’s also shaping up as an important clearance worker. While he’s a bit one paced, he’s building nicely and getting closer to be included as a starting 22 than as a Sub. Appears coachable and sticks to his task.
Our outside runners, Perryman & Lipinski need to consistently achieve 300m+ meters gained games to impact and finish off our stoppage work. While solid contributors, both need them to influence matches consistently when the whips are cracking. Lippa, I reckon is set for another Port like performance tomorrow night.