Chasing Kerr?

I wouldnt mind having kerr at richmond.
BUT if they want like heaps for him why bother. He would help boost up our midfield and could free up players like Lids Cotchin Foley tuck.

And he would be filling in Johnson's place. I think Richmond need to get a couple of experienced players too boost up the side.

Will go for More then Judd, Kerr just wants a 4 year deal at a club, Rather have it at west coast but he's thinking about his Future.

Still has a year to go on contract. and i doubt the eagles will want a repeat of losing what could of been their best player ever for pick 3-20, and Kennedy

Would want two top 10 picks and a handy player, its not that he's hell bent on leaving like Judd, you would have to pay over the odd's for him,

Will go for More then Judd, Kerr just wants a 4 year deal at a club, Rather have it at west coast but he's thinking about his Future.

Still has a year to go on contract. and i doubt the eagles will want a repeat of losing what could of been their best player ever for pick 3-20, and Kennedy

Would want two top 10 picks and a handy player, its not that he's hell bent on leaving like Judd, you would have to pay over the odd's for him,

Supposedly he didnt go to a compulsory team meeting the other day.

If thats true, i'd say hes gone. I doubt he'd go for more than Judd to be honest. Hes no Judd, and since he IS on a contract, im hoping we dont pay over the bill for him. Sure, have a crack at him, but if they ask for to much, then dont bother. :thumbsu:

Supposedly he didnt go to a compulsory team meeting the other day.

If thats true, i'd say hes gone. I doubt he'd go for more than Judd to be honest. Hes no Judd, and since he IS on a contract, im hoping we dont pay over the bill for him. Sure, have a crack at him, but if they ask for to much, then dont bother. :thumbsu:
Better yet don't bother at all. Why the need for Kerr to help our midfield when we have a replacement for Johnson already on our list. Would much prefer going after a trade that fills a need rather than a want. Will be a much easier deal to achieve than trying to organise the picks WC wants for Kerr.

Lets have a look at the pluses Kerr can offer us though.

Im with you on not going overboard. If the WCE demand everything, there is absolutley no way we should agree to it. However, if they are fair with us, then we should definatley have a go.

Kerr is a proven midfield performer. With or without Judd or Cousins. He played without Juddy and Cousins for a large majority of 2007, and actually played arguably his best season. He played so poorly this year because he had absolutley bugger all support. At Richmond, he'll have Tuck, Deledio, Cotchin and Foley to support him too. He'll have great support, BUT he'll make our midfield look far better, and theres really only two senarios.

1) Kerr gets heavily tagged out of games. Alright, thats to be expected. But Tuck, Foley and Deledio are now proven midfielders that can tear a game to bits if they get the chance. Cotchin, with a pre-season and some muscle could do anything. So lets not cancel him out either. We are also not forgetting that Kerr CAN handle a tag pretty well, so its not like he wont be contributing either.

2) Opposition coaches start to target one of Tuck, Deledio or Foley and let Kerr loose. We know what Kerr can do when he runs free. With our discipline and game plan, Kerr could very easily go to that 30+ possesion game winner he was in the 06/07 season with the Weagles.

And what if Coughlan gets back to his best? Not saying its a definate. But our midfield would be without a doubt, one of the best in the league with Kerr, Tuck, Coughlan, Foley, Deledio and Cotchin. I'd also like to point out that one of Kerr's best attributes is his tackling and physical presence, which is exactly what Wallace wants on the field.

In my opinion, somebody we should definatley look at recruiting. :thumbsu:

Lets have a look at the pluses Kerr can offer us though.

Im with you on not going overboard. If the WCE demand everything, there is absolutley no way we should agree to it. However, if they are fair with us, then we should definatley have a go.

Kerr is a proven midfield performer. With or without Judd or Cousins. He played without Juddy and Cousins for a large majority of 2007, and actually played arguably his best season. He played so poorly this year because he had absolutley bugger all support. At Richmond, he'll have Tuck, Deledio, Cotchin and Foley to support him too. He'll have great support, BUT he'll make our midfield look far better, and theres really only two senarios.

1) Kerr gets heavily tagged out of games. Alright, thats to be expected. But Tuck, Foley and Deledio are now proven midfielders that can tear a game to bits if they get the chance. Cotchin, with a pre-season and some muscle could do anything. So lets not cancel him out either. We are also not forgetting that Kerr CAN handle a tag pretty well, so its not like he wont be contributing either.

2) Opposition coaches start to target one of Tuck, Deledio or Foley and let Kerr loose. We know what Kerr can do when he runs free. With our discipline and game plan, Kerr could very easily go to that 30+ possesion game winner he was in the 06/07 season with the Weagles.

And what if Coughlan gets back to his best? Not saying its a definate. But our midfield would be without a doubt, one of the best in the league with Kerr, Tuck, Coughlan, Foley, Deledio and Cotchin. I'd also like to point out that one of Kerr's best attributes is his tackling and physical presence, which is exactly what Wallace wants on the field.

In my opinion, somebody we should definatley look at recruiting. :thumbsu:
Thats all well and good but why do we need him when we have a ball winner of our own to come back in Coughlan, seems everyone has forgotten about him. Add Coughlan to the mix alongside Deledio, Tuck, Foley & Cotchin and it gives us the same result. Most opposition sides wont have enough taggers to cover all of them so 2-3 of them will get a free run weekly. If we were to land Prismall or Thomson, for a player and 3rd rounder, as well we would then have a much better outcome than only getting Kerr for our first round pick plus the likelihood of having to trade to get another. Remember we have problems in other areas, most notably talls. Keeping pick 8 gives us a very good chance to add a player that fills that need.

Spot on mate - couldnt agree more.
we realy dont know what we will be getting with a number 8 pick.
unless this vickery kid looks like being something special then we should at least try to snare Kerr.

we hold the cards here - not the eagles!:thumbsu:

yes you do hold the card...we will bow to richmonds needs..all hail the tiges :D...face it kerr will be too $$ for most clubs and he will stay with a long term contract. Its the contract length which is the only sticking point.

The bloke has made it clear he is going. didnt even turn up to your team meeting on Monday.

The Eagles will trade him and it wont be for 2 top 10 picks.

We can afford him.

doesnt mean you hold all these cards lol...you will have competition you know...

Last year I said I wouldn't trade Pick 2 for Judd.

This year I'm saying I wouldn't trade pick 8 for Kerr.

Kerr will only be useful to us for 2 years tops.

Our window doesn't begin until 2011 FFS, Kerr will be 29 years old by then while Pick 8 will be 21 years old. I don't wanna have 2 years at the top then another 10 years of failure, I want 10 years of success from 2011-2020.

Last year I said I wouldn't trade Pick 2 for Judd.

This year I'm saying I wouldn't trade pick 8 for Kerr.

Kerr will only be useful to us for 2 years tops.

Our window doesn't begin until 2011 FFS, Kerr will be 29 years old by then while Pick 8 will be 21 years old. I don't wanna have 2 years at the top then another 10 years of failure, I want 10 years of success from 2011-2020.

If we play finals next year theres no reason why we wouldnt be a real chance in 2010. Kerr will be 25 at the start of next season.

That makes him
26 turning 27 for 2010
27 for 2011
28 for 2012
29 for 2013
30 for 2014

Thats a 5 year period that he will be playing at a top level at least.
Those years will be in our supposed window.

He is a gun.No Doubt.
Our drafted player at number 8 could not be.

Giving up one top ten pick in 2008 doesnt stop the club bringing in players afterwards. If you believe the one player we would get at pick 8 is the difference between us being a top side for 10 years or not I think you are mistaken.

Has JON's lack of progress so far crippled the club?

If we got 5 years of top footy from that 8 pick it would be a success.
Kerr gives us that.

If we play finals next year theres no reason why we wouldnt be a real chance in 2010. Kerr will be 25 at the start of next season.

That makes him
26 turning 27 for 2010
27 for 2011
28 for 2012
29 for 2013
30 for 2014

Thats a 5 year period that he will be playing at a top level at least.
Those years will be in our supposed window.

He is a gun.No Doubt.
Our drafted player at number 8 could not be. That's assuming a bit much isn't it? Bartel was picked up at 9.

Giving up one top ten pick in 2008 doesnt stop the club bringing in players afterwards. If you believe the one player we would get at pick 8 is the difference between us being a top side for 10 years or not I think you are mistaken.

Has JON's lack of progress so far crippled the club?

If we got 5 years of top footy from that 8 pick it would be a success. It won't happen, and we don't NEED another midfielder, they are a dime a dozen.
Kerr gives us that. No he doesn't and you won't get him from just pick 8, they would want at least two items - either two picks, a pick and a player or two picks and a player. He is not worth the price he is. We need to keep blooding youth into our team. Three players is better than one guy who is past his peak.
No for Kerr, see bold in above.

I'd prefer White and pick 8 anyway!

yeah i like whitey, he takes them on and always backs himself, sure he might stuff it up a few times, but soon he'll learn to take a few better split second decisions.

Its just who else would we sacrifice if we were to get Kerr?

Eagles hold the cards... They dont have to trade him, he still has another year left on his contract.

We'd be stupid to pay West Coast's ransom for him. Let Carlton pay him under the table in a paper bag I say.