Collecting bad debts

• Thread starter Thread starter Deej

Originally posted by Deej

Don't get the last sentence.. how do I post? and how's it explained by what I've written here?

Seems pretty obvious to me. Your posts are often aggressive and emotive - just like your proposed letter to this mob. How many times have you threatened to beat up other posters? Nothing personal Deej but you yourself have admitted to anger management issues. And before you ask, no I'm not interested in meeting you in whatever section of the MCG or anywhere else so you can dish out your physical reprisal.

Originally posted by blurton

Don't get the last sentence.. how do I post? and how's it explained by what I've written here?

Seems pretty obvious to me. Your posts are often aggressive and emotive - just like your proposed letter to this mob. How many times have you threatened to beat up other posters? Nothing personal Deej but you yourself have admitted to anger management issues. And before you ask, no I'm not interested in meeting you in whatever section of the MCG or anywhere else so you can dish out your physical reprisal.

That sums up what I meant. Belligerence is a word that comes to mind.

So Deej,

What exactly was it that Joffa wanted transported and then refused to pay the fees for?

Banners? Song Lyrics? Cutlery?

Given some of your recent posts Deej, I'm surprised you haven't met 'John" down the pub and glassed the bastard.
;)

Your language in the letter is FAR too emotive and personal - always a no no in business correspondence.

Your client doesn't give a **** what you think of him, and carrying on about being called a liar etc is likely to make him pin that letter on the noticeboard for everyone in his office to have a chuckle at.

Remember, IT IS BUSINESS, IT IS NEVER PERSONAL.

Go with USAEagles effort - short, sharp and legal.
Follow it up with legal action if you state you will.
Idle threats will make you look bad unless you carry them out.

The man wrote a long winded personal letter to me, I haven't written the whole thing here, but I thought it justified a personal response. See I have a theory in business that there is too many clinical arseholes around and people can not only see through them but are for the most part totally sick of that approach, even if people don't outwardly acknowledge or even realise it. The service we provide is totally personalised and the team we are building is most definitely built on genuinely caring for our subbies welfare, that means not only making sure they are paid well but also on time every time, and also there is an open door policy where people are treated fairly as an valued member of a team, we NEVER treat anyone on our team as anything expendible. I'm trying to build a transport company where the drivers are fiercely loyal to the company because they feel they are important to a collective success...if the company does well they do well, and vice-versa. I've got subbies beating down on our doors wanting to work for us, and from such reputable companies as Camerons Trucking, Linfox, Gregorys Transport and others, because from what I've heard our drivers are just about the best paid in the industry.

I write this because I am proud that in life I am not a spectator, I am emotional and aggressive because I care. And it's not just with Carlton, it's with travelling, business, mateship, charities, beer, relationships, I am not an apathetic person by any stretch. People with nothing better to do in life get on the internet and make smartarse remarks to get a rise, I think that's bloody sad. I get on the net because I love footy and I see a way to help my club by creating a network. But when I come to work this morning and I see that of the last 4 posts, 3 include some bull**** personal snipes, I just think, non of you have even bloody met me!

Anyway again thanks to those offering the words of advice.

It seems you don't like honest answers to your question.
Am I correct in that assumption?

Fred, when did you attempt to answer the question I posed?

Mate don't fool yourself, you're a sniping sad man just like most of the others.

Fred, when did you attempt to answer the question I posed?

Mate don't fool yourself, you're a sniping sad man just like most of the others.

My first sentence in my first post answered your question - you just didn't like it.
As to the rest of the above, you're quite right. Dunno why you asked the question in the first place seeing as you are such a hotshot businessman.

Fred what's with the hotshot smart alec bull****? Am I to assume you are bored and stalking me as a target to vent your smartarse tendencies? Woohoo lucky me.

Yeah I reckon I will succeed but it will be because of honesty and respect and hard work. I also know my limitations if you hadn't noticed, that's why I posted this thread, to get advice. I reckon I know a lot, but not everything.

Fred what's with the hotshot smart alec bull****? Am I to assume you are bored and stalking me as a target to vent your smartarse tendencies? Woohoo lucky me.

Yeah I reckon I will succeed but it will be because of honesty and respect and hard work. I also know my limitations if you hadn't noticed, that's why I posted this thread, to get advice. I reckon I know a lot, but not everything.

Then my advice is to keep business strictly business. Be personable to the customers but the bottom line is you want their money in exchange for a service. Friendship plays no part, politeness does.
Calling a customer 'scum' isn't the way to go.

Oh and FWIW, I hope you do succeed.

Thanks. For what it's worth, I'd like to say that my vocab is at times quite crude, I write on the net the same way I speak, unfortunately often people think I'm getting upset or angry from my 'tone' but it mostly isn't the case. Only with Rohan was I genuinely ****ed off, but that was ages ago.

The man wrote a long winded personal letter to me, I haven't written the whole thing here, but I thought it justified a personal response.

The thing is, if you respond in kind, he's hooked you into his game and he controls it.

Respond in a clinical succinct manner and you control the situation.

Originally posted by Docker_Brat
The thing is, if you respond in kind, he's hooked you into his game and he controls it.

The major reason militating against an aggressive reply-in-kind is that in any possible legal proceedings, your correspondence will look as bad as the other fellow's. You are merely providing him with ammunition against yourself.

What you need to do is find a person to work in your organisation who could take care of these issues for you. Even on a part-time or casual basis. If you wish to grow as you say, you need somebody with the skills displayed in the posts on this thread to work for you,

My advice, FWIW, is to cop the $2400 offered and in future don't have any trucks available for this other organisation. You probably can't outright refuse to trade with him, for legal reasons. If you are having this difficulty at this early stage in your relationship, it's only going to get worse. You would be well within your rights to do a close check of the credit references he presumably gave you. This may also tell you whether his business is worth persisting with. I've found also that if there is one problem with a customer relationship, born out of smartarsedness, or ill-will, it's only a matter of time before other issues arise.

For you to get this wound up about this issue is a waste of your valuable time and is counterproductive. During the period you have spent stewing over this issue and writing about it, you could have been making money.

It's always good to vent in a letter like that, then burn it.

You've said what you had to say, it's just that the person in question never read what you said.

With scum like that guy you need to be clinical. Personalised service is great, but if they try to stiff you they are the enemy and should be afforded no emotion. He sent you an emotive letter HOPING you would respond in kind, thus blunting your defence.

You've obviously decided to take his short payment, now mark him as a credit risk and offer him COD terms only.

If I were you I'd send him, via registered post, witnessed copies of all correspondence and paperwork showing that he agreed to the terms and agreed that the service was delivered as specified, and due to his unwillingness to pay the agreed amount he will be offered COD only terms in future. He has a bad credit record with you, and you have the witnessed documents to prove it. He has nothing against you UNLESS you send him that letter.

You'll come across this many times in your life as a business owner. Don't let it get your knickers in a knot. It will cost you more than just money and you will be marked as an operator who is easy to manipulate and the scum will be attracted to you like flies to a dead dog.

Originally posted by Docker_Brat

What he said.
If it does get personal, do it on the phone at least - never do it in writing.

(and/or meet him in a pub and glass the bastard!)
:D ;)

I write this because I am proud that in life I am not a spectator, I am emotional and aggressive because I care. And it's not just with Carlton, it's with travelling, business, mateship, charities, beer, relationships, I am not an apathetic person by any stretch. People with nothing better to do in life get on the internet and make smartarse remarks to get a rise, I think that's bloody sad. I get on the net because I love footy and I see a way to help my club by creating a network. But when I come to work this morning and I see that of the last 4 posts, 3 include some bull**** personal snipes, I just think, non of you have even bloody met me!

You have created an internet persona of a thug. You did it - no one else. It's nothing to be proud of and if it's not real, then why the hell would you create it?

You are without doubt the most aggressive person I've seen post here. People are commenting on that and in response you bag them. Why not take it on board and change? Do you like intimidating people? Do you like people tip-toeing around you?

Develop some insight into how you're being perceived instead of just dismissing the comments as "People with nothing better to do in life get on the internet and make smartarse remarks to get a rise".