funkyfreo

Freo
Only took about 2 minutes into the Pies Bullies game for him to mention with ridicule that Clement was "dumped" by Fremantle.

It is just annoying to hear a respected commentator blatantly misrepresent the truth that Clement wanted to go to the pies and there was not much we could do.

funkyfreo said:
Only took about 2 minutes into the Pies Bullies game for him to mention with ridicule that Clement was "dumped" by Fremantle.

It is just annoying to hear a respected commentator blatantly misrepresent the truth that Clement wanted to go to the pies and there was not much we could do.

Or the fact that Drum was an idiot.

i thought this thread would be about his bias towards the bullies

i didnt hear the incident btw but he has mentioned it numerous times before

I was waiting for "ex fremantle player Brodie Holland" earlier this week. But I guess he has moved on. He is now recognised as ex 'Dancing With The Stars' Brodie Holland.

Cometti does not know the facts, Clement openly admitted in an interview he played well below his best for Fremantle so he would get traded I have disliked Clement ever since.

Drum wouldn't play him. Thats why. Dust off the Demolition Derby and see Clement own Phil Matera.

Drum didn't rate him, didn't play him and therefore Clement wanted to go (funny that).

Every time I see Clement play I see a guy that should have played 250-300 games for the Freo footy club and through stupidity we lost.

Anything else is rose coloured glasses IMO.

Freo Big Fella said:
You can't deny it's got some accuracy though, he looked disinterested towards the end when he was with us.

I just didnt think he had actually said that. I dont think for a moment he ever wanted to play for Freo. He was an Eagle lover who wanted to play for them AND Mick. When he was drafted by the Dockers it was his worst nightmare and he never had the motivation to play at his best. But then he wasnt an orphan. Freo management was hardly inspiring either.

Rob said:
Some bloke called Bell. Perhaps you've heard of him.
About as close as my relationship with Megan Gale:

Draft pick 39 traded to Fremantle by Collingwood for James Clement and Brodie Holland and draft selection 22 (used to pick up Richard Hadley)

We picked up Adam McPhee with 39 but on the whole I'd say Clement and Holland were comprehensively dumped -- subject to the fact they would probably have gone into the pre-season draft and we would have got nothing.

Peter Bell (Kangaroos) traded to Fremantle for Jess Sinclair, draft selection 6 (Kangaroos used to pick Dylan Smith) and draft pick 37 (used to pick Steven Sziller)

WA ROO said:
How would trading Clement to Collingwood get Bell from North Melbourne?
Bell cost you draft picks and Jess Sinclair,if my memory is correct

From memory, Holland and Clement were traded for draft picks which were on traded to North for Bell. They were certainly part of the Bell deal.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
About as close as my relationship with Megan Gale:

Draft pick 39 traded to Fremantle by Collingwood for James Clement and Brodie Holland and draft selection 22 (used to pick up Richard Hadley)

We picked up Adam McPhee with 39 but on the whole I'd say Clement and Holland were comprehensively dumped -- subject to the fact they would probably have gone into the pre-season draft and we would have got nothing.

Peter Bell (Kangaroos) traded to Fremantle for Jess Sinclair, draft selection 6 (Kangaroos used to pick Dylan Smith) and draft pick 37 (used to pick Steven Sziller)

Clement & Holland were used to get Pick 8 (Motlop) which went to the Roo's as well.

Collingwood got pick 8 from Sydney for Paul Williams.

Drummie wanted Bellie back for some leadership.

Ironically anyone previous who had shown leadership (Burton , Bond , Clement at times) got the flick. :rolleyes:

raffrox said:
Drum wouldn't play him. Thats why. Dust off the Demolition Derby and see Clement own Phil Matera.

Drum didn't rate him, didn't play him and therefore Clement wanted to go (funny that).

Every time I see Clement play I see a guy that should have played 250-300 games for the Freo footy club and through stupidity we lost.

Anything else is rose coloured glasses IMO.
No one really commented on what I said.

Do people agree / disagree?

raffrox said:
No one really commented on what I said.

Do people agree / disagree?

Drum didn't rate him at all.
I can't understand why as it was Clements tackle on Scott Bamford against the Cats that inspired Drummie's first win ever as coach in 1999.

Who can forget his statement after the trade that the only one that might come back to bite us would be Brodie Holland.

Derr, I reckon Clement , Burton (delisted FFS) , Andrew McGovern (Delisted - provided great onfield leadership , little general mk 2) all hurt us heaps.

However after Clements 5 goal effort in the first derby of 1998 , MM had love in his eyes and proceeded to ring him every week for a chat.

Clement was always one of my favorite players and you could tell he had real talent and it was a mystery to me why he couldn't get a game.

Of course after He deserted ship I have wiped him. :)

Freo Shark said:
I just didnt think he had actually said that. I dont think for a moment he ever wanted to play for Freo. He was an Eagle lover who wanted to play for them AND Mick. When he was drafted by the Dockers it was his worst nightmare and he never had the motivation to play at his best. But then he wasnt an orphan. Freo management was hardly inspiring either.

Now that comment is from someone who knows the truth, the ironic thing about Clement is that no Club showed more interest in getting him than Collingwood but unfortunately it was clearly obvious that Fremantle were going to take him as part of their zone selections. It is no secret that Mick always rated him as a player and a person and the Eagles tried on more than one occasion to get him while Mick was there. As for Clement and Fremantle it's a fact that Clement was a more intelligent person than the Dummies that were running Fremantle at that time.

Commetti- very astute and well informed commentator!!