Longy413

Veteran 10k Posts
This might be a little from left field, but then against Kevin Sheedy is our coach so expect the unexpected.

I get the feeling that the day we decided we would draft Jay Neagle under the father and son rule, the thought of playing Fletcher, Watson, Reynolds and Neagle all in the one side crossed the mind of the great man.

Now, we know two things about Sheedy. He likes throwing the youngsters a challenge, especially on Anzac Day and he likes his footy history/romance.

I know Neagle isn't ready, but our Full-Forward is out and we don't really have a ready made replacement. Not a fit one anyway.

Reynolds had a good pre-season and Bolton is out injured. Joel has played on bigger bodied forwards in the VFL and played at Full-Forward as well. And done that well.

Fletcher and Watson are obviously safe in the side. Could this be the week we see all four run out together?

Longy413 said:
This might be a little from left field, but then against Kevin Sheedy is our coach so expect the unexpected.

I get the feeling that the day we decided we would draft Jay Neagle under the father and son rule, the thought of playing Fletcher, Watson, Reynolds and Neagle all in the one side crossed the mind of the great man.

Now, we know two things about Sheedy. He likes throwing the youngsters a challenge, especially on Anzac Day and he likes his footy history/romance.

I know Neagle isn't ready, but our Full-Forward is out and we don't really have a ready made replacement. Not a fit one anyway.

Reynolds had a good pre-season and Bolton is out injured. Joel has played on bigger bodied forwards in the VFL and played at Full-Forward as well. And done that well.

Fletcher and Watson are obviously safe in the side. Could this be the week we see all four run out together?

hope not!!!!!

if we lose this it will be a long road back. the next 4 -6 games are going to shape our season cause we do have a hard run in the middle section there.

Neagle is a long way off senior footy, his game is a little too one dimensional at the minute.

Had Dempsey not got injured i'd reckon he would have been a monty to play Anzac day even though his form really wouldnt have warranted it, that move has sheeds written all over it.

I get the feeling Johns may be picked out of sheer necessity, injury permitting of course.

bigbomber said:
if we lose this it will be a long road back. the next 4 -6 games are going to shape our season cause we do have a hard run in the middle section there.

Aye. When i looked at the draw i thought we'd want to win about 5 of our first 7 to make the 8.

BTW Longy you could add the Hird name to that i reckon. Don't think it'll happen this week, at least i hope not. I don't see how Reynolds deserves a game ahead of Dyson and Nash, and Winderlich who would probably be the one to make way for him.

That said i'd prefer Reynolds at FF than Welsh.

Darealrath said:
BTW Longy you could add the Hird name to that i reckon.

Who? ;)
I knew there was someone I missed.

Darealrath said:
Don't think it'll happen this week, at least i hope not.

I don't think it will happen either, nor do I won't it to. But it will at some stage and I guess Lloyd not being there, the issue was there to be raised.

Darealrath said:
I don't see how Reynolds deserves a game ahead of Dyson and Nash, and Winderlich who would probably be the one to make way for him.

Lloyd and Bolton are out. Hille is the only one that picks himself.
I don't think Winderlich would get dropped and Reynolds has been every good as Nash and Dyson over the past 6 weeks.

marcuz said:
Neagle is a long way off senior footy, his game is a little too one dimensional at the minute.

Whoever we play there, I guess their main role will be to bring the ball to the ground. The reports were Neagle has chased and tackled really well in the past two games. His efforts have been very good, just hasn't found enough of the footy.

I know that means he isn't ready. Nor was Johns, although I guess that is good enough reason not to pick him.

marcuz said:
I get the feeling Johns may be picked out of sheer necessity, injury permitting of course.

One of Johns or Neagle will play I reckon. Johns won't be ready to play for Bendigo on Saturday, it's just a matter of ready or not he's ready to play come Tuesday.

One thing he should have that he didn't last year, is confidence.

Longy413 said:

Next Year YES, this Year NO.

Dyson played very well against the pies last time we played them and also in 2004 he kicked a beauty from the boundary in the last quater aswell.

Bring him in.

I get the feeling though sheedy will opt with abit of experience and bring in pev.

Hille a definate in. Either Nash or dyson, yep one of them will be in. Those two changes are pretty much a given imho.

Johns a possibility for a third change but it seems unlikely.

Longy413 said:
One of Johns or Neagle will play I reckon. Johns won't be ready to play for Bendigo on Saturday, it's just a matter of ready or not he's ready to play come Tuesday.

One thing he should have that he didn't last year, is confidence.

gday longy, I was hoping johns might be picked this week. Have you heard anything about his commitment to training because there has been an article posted on bomberblitz that there are rumblings about him being lazy etc which is the main reason that we probably wont see him till he loses the attitude. I found this quite surprising because he hardly comes across as lazy to be in the shape that hes in and to have come back from that sort of injury. your thoughts

I haven't heard anything about it. But then again I've never considered trying to find out.
If true, I would also find it suprising.

In the past it's been his attitude to training and work rate on the track that has got him a game, even though his form didn't suggest he should. In 2003 he got promoted and nearly played in a final simply because of that.

If things have changed since then, I don't know.