News Cousins Decision Within 3 Weeks

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

BEN Cousins will know within three weeks whether he has a future in the AFL.
Richmond president Gary March yesterday revealed a decision on whether the champion midfielder plays on next year was imminent.
March said coach Damien Hardwick and football boss Craig Cameron would make the call in consultation with Cousins, 32.
"It will be made in the next two or three weeks - certainly before the end of the season," March told the Herald Sun.
"Contrary to some speculation, there hasn't been a firm decision made. It will come down to a pure football decision."
To me it sounds like they are planning on letting Cousins go, if they weren't then why make a decision before the end of the season as there is no real rush. Why wouldn't you wait until after the GF, where Cousins would have had a month off to recover and see how the body had pulled up.

Also in the same article:
- Losing the Royal Oak pokies had cost us $300k.
- Contract talks with Jack & Dustin are progressing well but the club plans to be well under the cap again next year.
- Tassie games were still on the table.
- The hunt for new sponsors to replace Dick Smith & Luxbet has started.
- Punt Rd redevelopment should be finished by Xmas.
- Have requested home games against Essendon Carlton & Collingwood for next season.
- Club would make a small profit this year but remains $4mil in debt.
- March believes that this transformation was the real deal rather than another false dawn.

To read the whoe article click here: http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...n-playing-future/story-e6frf9jf-1225901338253

I'd say it's more that the speculation on his future is starting to wear pretty thin on everyone involved, and they just want to make a decision, one way or the other, and put the issue to rest. I'm not sure that they've made a decision yet, probably still a touch early to be making list management decisions for next year.

FWIW I hope they decide to hang onto him for one more year, he was great on the weekend.

Good article and this also stood out.

March said captain Chris Newman was the unsung hero.
"I don't think Chris has got the accolades he deserves," he said. "He had a tumultuous first year as a new captain and has shown unbelievable leadership. He is the catalyst and I don't think people realise that - not even some supporters and members."

I love Newie:thumbsu:

To me it sounds like the "Gaspar" talk, just not in the middle of the year.

It will be up to Ben - "We want you to play on but no guarantee you will be picked in the side week in week out, form, match-ups and injuries will decide when you play - are you certain you want to go on like that?"

Ben .........?

If he carries current form through he'll play every match - if he drops off a bit, gets injured it will back to/through the two's - will Ben keep the fire up like that?

Personally i reckon he'll give it a shot - he's enjoying himself too much at the moment. If it gets ugly he'll just do a Simmo.

If they're keeping duds like Hislop, King and White which I hope is not true then really logic suggests he is gone. Not many more to cut in terms of senior listed players.

I'd cut him. He's playing okay but is 32, we need to look to the future. He's already slowed down a lot this year, will slow down even more next year and who's to say he will be best 22? A lot can change. Would he be willing play at Coburg? Too many questions and players going on 1 year too many as we have all seen before (Akermanis this year, etc) is not ideal.

- Tassie games were still on the table.

I really wish they wouldn't go down that path. We are a Melbourne based club & as such should play ALL home games here in Melbourne where they belong. But if we keep pulling pathetic 19,000 crowds like last weekend we won't have much choice.

I would be tipping that reading between the lines, Gary has thanked Ben for his services to the club and patted him on the back for what he has achieved and patted us on the back for giving him the opportunity and bid him all the best in the future with his career after footy. ;)

That's it Cogga, I think he's done. Will be good to see him off against Port in the last Round.

whichever way it goes, given supporter sentiment toward Benny, I just hope it is handled well and it comes out as a "mutual" decision Ideally, if he is no longer wanted, it would be released via Benny advising of his retirement rather than Richmond advising that it will not provide another contract to him.

I suspect that, sadly, cuz is gone. That's why they will announce it before the end of the season - so he can have a fitting send off in round 22.