Cousins

STUPID THREAD.

one of the dumbest i have seen we would never go there and if we even thought about it i would screw up my membership.

LOL@ this thread.

Very much doubt Richmond is going to delist all 30+ players.

Barring injuries Cousins will stay, same for Brown and Richo depending on form/new coach.

The rest are history though...So unless you want Bowden/Johnson/Simmonds you are out of luck.

as a tiger fan I wouldbe happy to see richo go to the cats, for free, hedeserves better than the tigers and I would be happy to see him go to you guys for free * a 5th round draft pick)

He is 10 times the player Mooney and Hawkins are combined

Maybe have Cousins as our VFL captain next year. No way known would he get anywhere near our senior side.

Wouldn't mind Richo on the half forward line though. :thumbsu: Would love to see a forward line of:

HF: Richardson Mooney Chapman
F: S.Johnson Hawkins Stokes

He would be a walk up start for the premiers though:confused:

Surely he would be in your best 22 if fit.

This is total crap. Have you not watched Blake this year? He has improved every year over the last 3 years, and has taken further steps this season. And apparently he has hit his ceiling? Rubbish. This is absolutely not the right time to get rid of him as we will just start to see dividends on the investment we have made in him over the last few years. Blake is clearly more involved around the ground this year.

Trading Blake would leave us with West as back-up to Ottens and Mumford. Ottens is a great ruckman but brittle. Mumford is improving but not even close to being able to handle the #1 job in Ottens' absence.

I see this written time and again from Blake supporters. Tell me exactly how he has improved over the last 3 years? I don't advocate trading Blake but to be perfectly honest, Blake's improvement "is total crap". From watching nearly every game in the past 3 years his improvement has been minimal. In fact just a cursory glance at his statistics show no improvement in the past 2 years(apart from his hitouts going up). So some one tell me exactly how Blake continues to improve. I genuinely want a specific answer.

And West? Well, the last time we saw West in the AFL, he played a full game against Collingwood for a grand total of zero disposals. For a bloke whose strength supposedly is being a mobile ruckman who gets a fair bit of the ball, that is a pretty damning statistic.

Hmmmm... Blake played a full game against the Dogs and got just 5 possessions. Interesting that you lay into a guy who has only played 7 senior games compared to the guy you're defending who has played 67. Almost 3 seasons more senior experience. I know which guy I would feel more embarrassed defending.

He is 31 in a month's time. WAY past his best.

Cousins has not been a meaningful contributor to a team since 2006. Since then he has either been suspended or injured. I suspect he will never be a meaningful contributor to any team again.

If we were talking about Cousins circa 2006, then I would agree with you, but we aren't.

Firstly, how much footy you played lends no credence to your opinion. Posters on here only ever say "I played footy at this level or that level for 15 years" when they know that their argument needs help. And by the way, this is the internet so you could just be making shit up. I could come on here and say "I won a Brownlow, Norm Smith and played in a premiership" and no-one would be able to prove me wrong. So leave the attention-seeking bullshit at the door.

Secondly, are you sure you could pick him up for league minimum? And if he was on an incentive laden deal, all of these incentives (assuming he played well) would count under the salary cap. So if he actually plays a role in the team that contributes at all (ie. he played 17+ games) he would be expensive under the cap. So he aint no bargain.

This is total crap. Have you not watched Blake this year? He has improved every year over the last 3 years, and has taken further steps this season. And apparently he has hit his ceiling? Rubbish. This is absolutely not the right time to get rid of him as we will just start to see dividends on the investment we have made in him over the last few years. Blake is clearly more involved around the ground this year.

Trading Blake would leave us with West as back-up to Ottens and Mumford. Ottens is a great ruckman but brittle. Mumford is improving but not even close to being able to handle the #1 job in Ottens' absence.

And you are condemning Blake because "he isn't a young pup"? He is less than 10 months older than Mumford. Should we be getting rid of Mumford because he is too old?

And West? Well, the last time we saw West in the AFL, he played a full game against Collingwood for a grand total of zero disposals. For a bloke whose strength supposedly is being a mobile ruckman who gets a fair bit of the ball, that is a pretty damning statistic.

Getting rid of Blake now would be pure madness.
Agree with all of that. One below par game vs dogs and everyone is onto the anti-Blake rubbish. He is and will be a long term project, improves every year, and will eventually be #1 ruck. Ottens is not long in this footy world. Maybe West has to become a tall key defender. Mummy can be what Blake was in 07.

I see this written time and again from Blake supporters. Tell me exactly how he has improved over the last 3 years? I don't advocate trading Blake but to be perfectly honest, Blake's improvement "is total crap". From watching nearly every game in the past 3 years his improvement has been minimal. In fact just a cursory glance at his statistics show no improvement in the past 2 years(apart from his hitouts going up). So some one tell me exactly how Blake continues to improve. I genuinely want a specific answer.

What a joke. You want me to show how Blake has improved, but his improvement in HITOUTS is to be discounted? I've got a newsflash for ya - HITOUTS are the number 1 reason why a ruckman is in the team. Otherwise, why wouldn't we just put Joel Corey at 190cm in the ruck, lose every hitout, and play an extra midfielder? We would get smashed at the clearances because HITOUTS are important.

If you can't see that Blake has gotten physically stronger, to the point where he is a far greater contributor at stoppages/clearances than he used to be (thus the increase in HITOUTS, do you sense a theme here???) then you have some serious anti-Blake blinkers on.

Here is another newsflash for ya - Ruckman who are good at stoppages AND get alot of possessions around the ground are few and far between. Given the choice, I would prefer a ruckman who gives our midfielders first use of the ball at stoppages rather than a guy who gets an extra 10 disposals per game but is average in winning the tap. Given that winning HITOUTS is the primary job of a ruckman and all.

Hmmmm... Blake played a full game against the Dogs and got just 5 possessions. Interesting that you lay into a guy who has only played 7 senior games compared to the guy you're defending who has played 67. Almost 3 seasons more senior experience. I know which guy I would feel more embarrassed defending.

Here's the difference - West supposedly is a ruckman who's strength is his mobility. If your strength is mobility and you play an entire game without winning a possession, then wouldn't you say that is cause for some criticism? The match committee obviously thought so given that he hasn't been chosen since even whilst Ottens is injured.

Again, what a joke - you are allowed to criticise Blake, with a bunch of flowery/vague/bullshit reasons, but apparently West is "off-limits"? West is 22 in October and was drafted in 2005. He aint exactly a kid - and if he doesn't perform (which he hasn't to date) then he is subject to criticism just like evryone else.

JubJub that was a cheap shot mate!

Dont know why you would trade Blake for him, that is crazy speak.

Cous would be good at 50k at year plus match payments as a player in our VFL side awaiting injuries but I dont see how you could slot him into the firsts. Perhaps if he comes back and has a blinder second half of the season i would reconsider.

Richo wont swap clubs but I would love the bloke. Would it be too late for him to slot into our game style?

Bowden would be much welcome especially if Harley choose to retire. Would almost be a ready made replacement for Harles I reckon.

Can people just get one thing straight? Geelong will not be trading for a player, any player, from another club. They have no room in the salary cap. No room. It's very simple. All new players will be from the draft, because they are paid the minimum wage.

What a joke. You want me to show how Blake has improved, but his improvement in HITOUTS is to be discounted? I've got a newsflash for ya - HITOUTS are the number 1 reason why a ruckman is in the team. Otherwise, why wouldn't we just put Joel Corey at 190cm in the ruck, lose every hitout, and play an extra midfielder? We would get smashed at the clearances because HITOUTS are important.

If you can't see that Blake has gotten physically stronger, to the point where he is a far greater contributor at stoppages/clearances than he used to be (thus the increase in HITOUTS, do you sense a theme here???) then you have some serious anti-Blake blinkers on.

Here is another newsflash for ya - Ruckman who are good at stoppages AND get alot of possessions around the ground are few and far between. Given the choice, I would prefer a ruckman who gives our midfielders first use of the ball at stoppages rather than a guy who gets an extra 10 disposals per game but is average in winning the tap. Given that winning HITOUTS is the primary job of a ruckman and all.

Let's look at this rationally.

- Yes, his primary function is to win the tap but saying that is only what he has to do is complete rubbish. It's an antiquated opinion that belongs to how football was played in the 80s and earlier. I am not advocating that he should be racking up possessions like Cox but he should be adept at doing other things. His second efforts are non-existent. Don't believe me? Just watch him after the ball hits the ground. Last weeks game is a prime example. He is regularly standing off the pack watching. Looking at hitouts on their own, his average this year is misleading when compared to previous years. For all but 1 game he has been our primary ruckman, just like he was for the first 9 rounds in 2008. When Ottens returns his hitouts will drop. So far this year he averages 26.6 hitouts. Last year when Ottens wasn't playing, he averaged 23.3 and with Ottens, 19.7. It's not a strong argument for this supposed improvement he is going through that he's getting 3 more hitouts a game. Which is your sole argument.

- He is a terrible contested mark. I can only remember two contested marks he has taken in his career and one of those wasn't paid (against Adelaide this year). In fact he doesn't take many marks at all, uncontested included. The Cats went to him to 3 times last week, one was a bad kick by Scarlett that went over his head inthe corridor. The other two were around the boundary. He had the height and according to you the strength to compete. The result was Bulldogs clearing the ball easily.

- He is nearly always trailing his opponent to contests. On the odd occasion when he is with his man, he rarely makes enough body contact to spoil his opponent. He was caught out time and time again against Josh Fraser against Collingwood. How hard was it to realise that Fraser was going to be 5m ahead of the pack after the centre bounce. Where was Blake? Ball watching yet again. Don't believe me, go back and watch last weeks game. He does it time and time again.

- Tackling....... Averages just 1 tackle a game and those are mostly from behind. Because of his lack of agility, I wouldn't expect him to chase down an opponent so he needs to tackle at stoppages and god knows, he's at stoppages often enough. So why does he only average 1 tackle per game?

- His good points are that he's up there in hitouts, above average for hitouts to advantage and he's durable. That's all I can think of? Do you have any more?

If I have blinkers on then I am only borrowing yours. I can see his strengths and his weaknesses and for mine, his weaknesses far outweigh his strengths. I am not saying he has to excel at all of those criticisms but he has to do some of them in my eyes to be worthy of being the #1 ruck at Geelong. You rightly point out that West isn't a kid. He is 2 years younger than Blake and I can honestly say that he probably beats Blake in most of those areas I mentioned. Mumford too. With time I would expect West and Mumford to get more of the ball than Blake, especially if both of them had played 60+ games that Blake has played.

Here's the difference - West supposedly is a ruckman who's strength is his mobility. If your strength is mobility and you play an entire game without winning a possession, then wouldn't you say that is cause for some criticism? The match committee obviously thought so given that he hasn't been chosen since even whilst Ottens is injured.

Again, what a joke - you are allowed to criticise Blake, with a bunch of flowery/vague/bullshit reasons, but apparently West is "off-limits"? West is 22 in October and was drafted in 2005. He aint exactly a kid - and if he doesn't perform (which he hasn't to date) then he is subject to criticism just like evryone else.

Again, you don't take into account that you can count the the number of games that West has played on two hands. Some leeway has to be given to younger players in addressing their performance. I was at the game and was surprised afterwards that he had zero possessions. I never said criticising West is off limits.. Sure I was disappointed and posted that he needs to do more. The difference is that I can do that about West AND Blake. A sensible person would also say that Blake's performance on the weekend wasn't good enough for a senior player and rightly deserves criticism. Hmmmm..... All I see is you defending him.

It is laughable that I am accused of flowery, vague and bullshit reasons and all I hear from Blake supporters like yourself is the smoke and daggers line that "he's improving". Where is the substance behind that statement? Oh goody, he's getting more hitouts. Is there anything else he's improving in?

Here's the big question and if you only do one thing answer me this. Name one other ruckman currently playing whose only upside is hitouts and then tell me if you honestly think they are poor, average, good or elite players.

Did anyone see him last night?
Richmond are shocking. So many times he busted his arse to run to position and they wouldn't give it to him.

I still wouldn't trade for him but I know what role he could play for us.

Gaz could have more breaks down forward and cousins could be the guy that runs behind the packs for handball receives. He is perfect for it.

Won't happen of course. Too bad he isn't 26

After watching Mark Blake v Dean Cox, I would be prepared to say that Geelong would not win a flag with Mark Blake in the side. Gee, Mark Blake reminds me of a young Matthew Primus at Port Power. However, he does not have the mobility of a BRad Ottens and a the street smarts of a Damian Bourke to make it at the elite level.

The first step for the GFC is to budget for a ruck coach (Damian Bourke; Simon Madden or Sammy Newman: Sammy would do it for nothing because he loves the GFC) to teach Mumford, West and Blake the art of attacking ruckwork.

In reference to Benny COusins, I would love him at Geelong. He would add an extra dimension to our mid-field that would cause headaches for opposing clubs.

As Bomber said in his press conference, the Cats have to stay ahead of the other clubs. Hence, there is a need for an extra dimension to be added into our mid-field.

FInally, I would trade Mark Blake to GC17 for their first round draft pick!!

- Yes, his primary function is to win the tap but saying that is only what he has to do is complete rubbish. It's an antiquated opinion that belongs to how football was played in the 80s and earlier.

Here's the big question and if you only do one thing answer me this. Name one other ruckman currently playing whose only upside is hitouts and then tell me if you honestly think they are poor, average, good or elite players.

We play in an age where posession in football means more than ever and you think first possesion is now less important than it was in the 80's?

Aaron Sandilands was AA in 2008.

I hope Richo gets another couple of seasons at Richmond but if he doesn't ...

I love Richo and would love to see him rewarded for all he has done for football.

It would be nice to see him go to a club like Geelong for his last season or two.

The Cats would be getting the best mark (contested or otherwise) in the game. On the half forward line he would mark everything, just be sure that the running players are there to take the handball ... his kicking for goal can be a bit eratic :p