"on the prowl"
Northern Saints/VFL Pies
>link >>>>>> A flogging a week for Craigieburn under 14 footy team<<<<<<

N48HO303A1C.JPG

Simon Craig 27May08 Hume Leader said:
A LEADING child psychologist has warned of the potential for long-term damage to the young players of a Craigieburn junior football team.

The Cragieburn Eagles under-14 fourth-division team has endured a weekly thrashing at the hands of typically bigger opponents in the Essendon District Football League.

The team had 736 points scored against it in the first five games of the season.

In response, the boys have kicked just two behinds.

Craigieburn Eagles results, rounds 1 to 5

Round 1
Greenvale 11-7-73
Craigieburn 0-1-1

Round 2
Aberfeldie 22-22-154
Craigieburn 0-0-0

Round 3
Keilor 34-9-213
Craigieburn 0-0-0

Round 4
Pascoe Vale 31-15-201
Craigieburn 0-0-0

Round 5
Doutta Stars 13-17-95
Craigieburn 0-1-1

Angry parents have called on league administrators to drop the team back to sixth division, which has a bye round, where they believe their sons would not face weekly humiliation. The league has refused.

Parent Hayden Laundry said some of the boys have "lost the drive to play".

"The kids they play against are double their size, he said. "They just don't stand a chance".

Psychologist Dr Michael Carr-Gregg said the experience might harm the boys unless it was handled properly by parents and officials.

"It's a superb formula for turning the boys off sport altogether," he said. "We should praise these guys for participating and having a go.

"We need to use this as a way of showing children how to overcome adversity in life."

EDFL general manager Stan Pettett acknowledged the situation but said the league was "not going to change the grading mid-season".

"We want a competitive game but unfortunately it's not a perfect world," he said.

Mr Pettett said the league had advised Craigieburn to put some of their first division players into its fourth division team.

"Craigieburn is a strong club with strong teams," he said. "In junior football you would be amazed what three to four better players would do for the team."

But Craigieburn Junior's vice-president Bryan McNicol said the first division team was not strong enough to plunder for players. "If we can move a few boys around we would."

Mr McNicol said parents and players have been offered the option of pulling the team from the competition, but many were keen to continue.

"I see the boys' faces at the end of the games and it's not pretty," he said.

Is this the EDFL's problem or a Club issue. We could ask about other teams/clubs that have gone through bad patches, in B grade we all feel for what Jacana is going through .... but does that mean you don't play em as hard.

I feel for the kids and the parents but obviously the Club hasn't developed their junior teams. This could be an embarrassing lesson for Craigieburn FC to learn the hard way.

>link >>>>>> A flogging a week for Craigieburn under 14 footy team<<<<<<

N48HO303A1C.JPG

Is this the EDFL's problem or a Club issue. We could ask about other teams/clubs that have gone through bad patches, in B grade we all feel for what Jacana is going through .... but does that mean you don't play em as hard.

I feel for the kids and the parents but obviously the Club hasn't developed their junior teams. This could be an embarrassing lesson for Craigieburn FC to learn the hard way.

How the ___ can it be the edfl's problem?
God you come with some of worst crap on this forum Tess!

I remember your club had to merge with another club last year to stay alive, the club is in a growing area full of families and yes there are hillbillies but they will continue to be strong. Considering The coburg Tigers are heading out that way, they will grwo and continue too.

Every club goes through up's and downs, just shows if you know someone in the right places you can promote your team on national TV and the Hearld Sun. I put money on it, from here on the CFC will be stronger from this.
Finally Tess, what is your roll at your footy club? Because if you were at my footy club l would have some choice words for you.
Talk about what you know and done please.

How the ___ can it be the edfl's problem?
God you come with some of worst crap on this forum Tess!

I remember your club had to merge with another club last year to stay alive, the club is in a growing area full of families and yes there are hillbillies but they will continue to be strong. Considering The coburg Tigers are heading out that way, they will grwo and continue too.

Every club goes through up's and downs, just shows if you know someone in the right places you can promote your team on national TV and the Hearld Sun. I put money on it, from here on the CFC will be stronger from this.
Finally Tess, what is your roll at your footy club? Because if you were at my footy club l would have some choice words for you.
Talk about what you know and done please.

I didn't write the ____ing article you knob.

This article is the stupidest thing ive ever seen, it even made the first few pages of the herald sun. Its not like their the only team in the edfl that is struggling.. what about the marby 18s .. theyv lost by more than crazyburns biggest losing margin. This is just a bid for sympathy for the ferels down at KrAzYBuRN

exactly right this is the second time their gone to the media when they could not get things their own way and blamed everyone else

u obviously speak through ur heart rather than ur brain.

if u read the article the cburn team can move down to div6 which has a bye and it is nothing lyk the problem marbi is having. marbi is a club who has it alot harder due to a number of stronger based clubs in the area i.e abers and doutta. i think its wrong for u to acuse this as a bid for sympathy when they r 13 yr old boys who obviously hav a bit more potential than 17 and 18 yr olds at marbi who r playing clearly bcos they hav been given an incentive rather than a bit of heart to play a game u love.

u obviously speak through ur heart rather than ur brain.

if u read the article the cburn team can move down to div6 which has a bye and it is nothing lyk the problem marbi is having. marbi is a club who has it alot harder due to a number of stronger based clubs in the area i.e abers and doutta. i think its wrong for u to acuse this as a bid for sympathy when they r 13 yr old boys who obviously hav a bit more potential than 17 and 18 yr olds at marbi who r playing clearly bcos they hav been given an incentive rather than a bit of heart to play a game u love.

ohhhhh how sweeet ;)

This may be a result of the way the EDFL decided which division the junior teams would be in this year. The more teams you had in each age division decided which grade you will be in, not how good your teams were or where the coaches or committees thought their teams belonged.

Tullamarines U16 side played off in the Div 2 grand final last year and are in div 3 this year. With a couple of exceptions they are winning every game by +10 goals. The real problem though is the big clubs, who this rule was written to suit, are poaching the players saying that they need to play better football.

it is laughable. If they are so concerned about the kids mentle health then even out some kids from the A and B grade teams like every other club does.

The EDFL, and all leagues should look at the Northern Football Leagues model of having the first three matches of the season as grading games. After the three games the teams are rearranged to ensure this sort of thing does not happen.

How can three games reflect how a season will pan out?

In theory, perfect. However practically, cannot work.

You cannot have grading and expect the draw to stay the same. By that i mean the two same clubs playing at the one venue in 10s, 12s, 14s & 16s.

Yeah that works...... unless your a family with more than one kid playing.

It is amazing what happens when parents become emotional and start telling clubs & leagues how run.
I am sure if the U14 coaches got together, they would be able to manufacture some competitive games for the div 4 side. Subject to how many palayers they actually have - get a couple of 2nd year good U12 kids to help out.
This is a test for club, parents & kids, how they handle it could be a huge positive in developing a club culture for future years.
In refernce to all above posts, no one is claiming they have the right answer, but there is a structure in place let's stick to it - it is Craigieburns job to come up with a way of dealing with the situation.
Check out all junior ladders - I don't see Taylors Lakes winging about having only won two games from 57 games of footy played. Hat's off to them - stick at it.

So Crazyburn feel hard done by. This happens to every club. Could be a case of what goes around comes around. Wasn't it only a few short weeks ago that they went to the media about Roxy not clearing a couple of juniors to them after they had already poached about a dozen other kids from them, when a junior coach switched clubs. Yeah, I feel for the kids getting pumped every week, but then it comes down to how the coach communicates to them. But for them to whinge to the media, c'mon. Very good post No Rules. Time to think outside the square Crazys and instead of squealing, get 2gether and use that matter inside your skulls and come up with a solution.

Your club administration picks the division at the start of the year, possibly even after season '07. You should have the knowledge of where your boys would be at, and placed them in the correct division. EDFL policy says teams can't be changed during the season. Having to deal with getting a flogging every week just makes winning in future years that much better. Child psychologists must be so strapped for work that they need to intervene in junior football. The Marby park under 18's didn't complain, they just didn't turn up. Not the right way to do it. The right way would have been for any of those boys playing to look good and possibly get a game in the reserves. The under 14 boys should aspire to play in a higher division, or Craigieburn should pull out the struggling team all together and rotate the 20 boys through their other teams, maybe even promoting some of the better 14 A's to their lower division under 16 teams, who certainly do not have 4 on the bench every week.
It is a case of 'We messed up, but we don't want to put in the effort to fix it so let's just bitch and play the blame game with the EDFL.'
You expect the EDFL to change policy that has been in place for years, just because your club officials are ignorant, or acted ignorantly. Not on.

Your club administration picks the division at the start of the year, possibly even after season '07. You should have the knowledge of where your boys would be at, and placed them in the correct division. EDFL policy says teams can't be changed during the season. Having to deal with getting a flogging every week just makes winning in future years that much better. Child psychologists must be so strapped for work that they need to intervene in junior football. The Marby park under 18's didn't complain, they just didn't turn up. Not the right way to do it. The right way would have been for any of those boys playing to look good and possibly get a game in the reserves. The under 14 boys should aspire to play in a higher division, or Craigieburn should pull out the struggling team all together and rotate the 20 boys through their other teams, maybe even promoting some of the better 14 A's to their lower division under 16 teams, who certainly do not have 4 on the bench every week.
It is a case of 'We messed up, but we don't want to put in the effort to fix it so let's just bitch and play the blame game with the EDFL.'
You expect the EDFL to change policy that has been in place for years, just because your club officials are ignorant, or acted ignorantly. Not on.

Fair reply, have a read Tess!

How can three games reflect how a season will pan out?

In theory, perfect. However practically, cannot work.

You cannot have grading and expect the draw to stay the same. By that i mean the two same clubs playing at the one venue in 10s, 12s, 14s & 16s.

no u cant expect the perfect draw but we can hav a much more competetive competition. everyone realises there has to b a team than finishes last but theres a difference between getting beaten by the nxt bottom side by 60 points.

and its junior football so y cant different clubs share rooms?? and if teams hav problems with valubles etc leave ur bag in ur car. for yrs the cricket competitions hav been providing grading games and its simple. the league has a clear example of who will b the strong teams by looking at previous years and this is how grading games r played.. each team plays a strong team, average and lower classed team. simple and it can work with the edfl if they out in some time and effort to bettering the competition

no u cant expect the perfect draw but we can hav a much more competetive competition. everyone realises there has to b a team than finishes last but theres a difference between getting beaten by the nxt bottom side by 60 points.

and its junior football so y cant different clubs share rooms?? and if teams hav problems with valubles etc leave ur bag in ur car. for yrs the cricket competitions hav been providing grading games and its simple. the league has a clear example of who will b the strong teams by looking at previous years and this is how grading games r played.. each team plays a strong team, average and lower classed team. simple and it can work with the edfl if they out in some time and effort to bettering the competition
Maybe the kids could go up and play in craigieburns senior side?:D
Sorry Gav couldn't help myself.

tess is it true northern saints bought a under 14 or 16s player boots and paid for his rego

in return he plays for u guys

just talking to a few boys at interschool sport

tess is it true northern saints bought a under 14 or 16s player boots and paid for his rego

in return he plays for u guys

just talking to a few boys at interschool sport

I would find that hard to believe, we have found sponsors to cover rego costs over the years for players that are struggling financially (and still do now), these sort of rumours are always around about one club or another.

I'm more involved with the senior side of things now after coaching juniors at the Old North Coburg for many years, but I doubt very much that we do that. Our junior numbers are very strong at the moment, there is simply no need to.

Agreed. The YJFL have been playing the first 5 games as grading games for a few years now. The points and wins or losses still count, but the grades are re-assessed and teams are shifted into the more appropriate division. Have a read through the ladders and results of their junior footy with the EDFL's. You will find the competition is heaps better in the Yarra JFL.
www.yarrajfl.org.au
Might be time to look at the policy.

Agreed. The YJFL have been playing the first 5 games as grading games for a few years now. The points and wins or losses still count, but the grades are re-assessed and teams are shifted into the more appropriate division. Have a read through the ladders and results of their junior footy with the EDFL's. You will find the competition is heaps better in the Yarra JFL.
www.yarrajfl.org.au
Might be time to look at the policy.

Grading games do not work, are not reasonable on parents and give no indication of a teams true ability. You need a more than a few games to guage ability. Not to mention the possibility of throwing games.

If a club has a team in a certain division they must have all four age grops on that division. Otherwise you have parents running from one ground to the next and never getting to see any of the games, this in turn reduces the number of parents availanle to officiate. This causes high player drop outs and clubs begin to fold (ie Northern Football League).

The EDFL have helped even up the grades by reducing the size of divisions 1, 2 and 3. So far that has worked well, each team plays each other twice and 5 out of 8 teams play finals footy - a great initiative. Amazing that when some clubs struggle to field teams in certain age groups that a club is complaining about the way their second or third teams are travelling.

In every compettition there are stronger and weaker sides in terms of ability, let's not jump the gun. The EDFL have got this one right.

Cragieburn Eagles U-14s - Hume Leader -