Crazy Johns Stadium

Originally posted by carlyp
Well the name 'crazy johns' is just plain embaressing if you ask me! Would you mind if Shell Stadium got called Crazy John stadium..I think you would!

If a company was prepared to offer our club $5 million over 5 years for the naming rights, I wouldn't mind one bit. Our ground will always be Kardinia Park, even though for commercial purposes it may have a different name. (currently Skilled Stadium)

Originally posted by carneagles
Personally, I hope the International House of Pancakes does a deal with the WAFC. We can call it Pikelet Park.

Isn't this just absurd?

If Tina Arena put down $5 million for the naming rights, your ground could be called Tina Arena Arena!! :p

Originally posted by ScouseCat
If a company was prepared to offer our club $5 million over 5 years for the naming rights, I wouldn't mind one bit. Our ground will always be Kardinia Park, even though for commercial purposes it may have a different name. (currently Skilled Stadium)

Yeah its not the idea of changing names that has me worried, its 'Crazy John' stadium.....Id take money from any other business but not Crazy John, the name is just plain wrong!

Surely the reality is that the name will only be something mentioned on TV and in newspapers. I don't think anyone supporting WCE or Freo will stop calling it Subi.

Woosha will cop a bit though if he makes any controversial moves.

$5M off the Subi debt would be good. I hear they are likely to up it to $6M to secure the deal.

Originally posted by Frodo
Surely the reality is that the name will only be something mentioned on TV and in newspapers. I don't think anyone supporting WCE or Freo will stop calling it Subi.

Woosha will cop a bit though if he makes any controversial moves.

$5M off the Subi debt would be good. I hear they are likely to up it to $6M to secure the deal.

i heard last night on channel 10 news that the bid was upped to 5.5 million and that crazy johns weren't gonna take it up any higher, and also that it is likely to be accepted by the WAFC within the next few days as the naming rights for subi have been up for sale for a few years now, and this is the only offer that has come up - no one else seems interested.

Originally posted by RzrBlade
i heard last night on channel 10 news that the bid was upped to 5.5 million and that crazy johns weren't gonna take it up any higher, and also that it is likely to be accepted by the WAFC within the next few days as the naming rights for subi have been up for sale for a few years now, and this is the only offer that has come up - no one else seems interested.

werent Western Power interested??

I think Crazy Johns offered to throw in another 500k a year for junior football so that would make it [effectively] 1.5 million a year. I don't think they would knock that back...

Originally posted by RzrBlade
i heard last night on channel 10 news that the bid was upped to 5.5 million
That was the initial deal...the extra 1/2 mil is for junior development and not technically being paid for the naming rights...rights would still be worth $1m/year.

Originally posted by Sera
I think Crazy Johns offered to throw in another 500k a year for junior football so that would make it [effectively] 1.5 million a year. I don't think they would knock that back...

They cant afford to.... theyre too much in debt to be picky about who wants the naming rights

Crazy Johns it is then...

It would sit better with me if the name of Subiaco Oval was kept: eg. Crazy John's Subiaco Oval. That way hope commentators wouldn't bother to say the whole name and hopefully just keep saying Subiaco Oval.

Originally posted by ^Eagle^
i heard that theyre offering $10M! i hope theyr not
if they are then i cant expect WAFC to reject it

No way they would offer $10 million, thats more than double what anyone thinks it's worth.

An interesting point here is that with broadcasting, the ABC will always refer to it as Subiaco Oval, as their charter does not allow them to use "commercial" names.

Are Crazy Johns not a reputable name, Telstra aint so clean.

Ansell Stadium would be fun........

Is anyone else suspicous on this?

Most of these kind of deals happen between closed doors, yet Crazy John's and the WAFC have effectively had this as back page material for at least 3 days in the last 2 weeks. And would anyone be suprised if this just petered out to nothing. Me thinks there may be more than meets the eye here, bear with me.........

What do they both get out of this if nothing comes of it?

The WAFC get the blowtorch put onto every WA company to take up the naming rights issue. So far in talkback I've heard Bunnings, Wesfarmers, Multiplex, Western Power and Alinta Gas all openly CRITICISED for not sponsoring Subi )which is a redicluous sentiment). This may be enough to prompt one of them or someone else to take up the opportunity.

Crazy John's, a company never heard of before in this state, will be regarded as a market leader when they open their first Perth stores in a couple of months. They have put an offer on the table - fully expecting it to get rejected due to their name, and have received the best marketing campaign in history. And what's it cost them so far.........

NOT A CENT!!!!!!!

I'm not saying this was necesarily deliberately planned out this way, but I think that both parties have been perfectly happy to let the media run with this ball (as a matter of speaking).

FWIW, I say good luck to them all.

Originally posted by larrikin
Is anyone else suspicous on this?

Most of these kind of deals happen between closed doors, yet Crazy John's and the WAFC have effectively had this as back page material for at least 3 days in the last 2 weeks. And would anyone be suprised if this just petered out to nothing. Me thinks there may be more than meets the eye here, bear with me.........

What do they both get out of this if nothing comes of it?

The WAFC get the blowtorch put onto every WA company to take up the naming rights issue. So far in talkback I've heard Bunnings, Wesfarmers, Multiplex, Western Power and Alinta Gas all openly CRITICISED for not sponsoring Subi )which is a redicluous sentiment). This may be enough to prompt one of them or someone else to take up the opportunity.

Crazy John's, a company never heard of before in this state, will be regarded as a market leader when they open their first Perth stores in a couple of months. They have put an offer on the table - fully expecting it to get rejected due to their name, and have received the best marketing campaign in history. And what's it cost them so far.........

NOT A CENT!!!!!!!

I'm not saying this was necesarily deliberately planned out this way, but I think that both parties have been perfectly happy to let the media run with this ball (as a matter of speaking).

FWIW, I say good luck to them all.

I agree with everything you've said, except the good luck to Crazy John's. I reckon they should put up or shut up.

Originally posted by Voice of Reason
I agree with everything you've said, except the good luck to Crazy John's. I reckon they should put up or shut up.
All positive energy out of this should be directed at the WAFC, and that was what I meant. I personally couldn't give a **** what happened to Crazy John's, or any other Melbourne based **** box that came to Perth. The fact they have got the topic back on the table (of getting more funding to the WAFC and juniors) is great, let's hope we can get some benefit out of it.

I reckon Jester's will be under pressure to put an offer to WAFC cos they've just stopped funding junior footy and i think they are getting a bad name

Originally posted by ^Eagle^
I reckon Jester's will be under pressure to put an offer to WAFC cos they've just stopped funding junior footy and i think they are getting a bad name

There is no chance that Jesters Pies could afford a $5 million+ deal.

They could possibly afford it, but I don't think it would be in their budgets.

If Crazy Johns are dinkem about putting money into grassroots footy, why don't they sponsor the WAFL for 2 or 3 years and then see if they want to be the naming rights sponsor for Subiaco oval.

I reckon it's become comical really... I mean, Crazy Johns would have got more publicity just by making their offer, even if it's not accepted.

Originally posted by ScouseCat
I reckon it's become comical really... I mean, Crazy Johns would have got more publicity just by making their offer, even if it's not accepted.
Exactly.