Crowd so quiet.

• Thread starter Thread starter bradydaw91

At the ground it was pretty loud. The TV is rubbish for atmosphere, 7 deliberately turn the crowd noise down.
Yep, was a great atmosphere at the ground and noisy too.

Was great when on level four punt road end everyone took up the chant of Richmond! Doesn't happen often up top but in the last quarter we were rocking our way to victory.

Sent from my brain using ESP.
Not a lot of enthusiasm behind the goals for the Richmond chant. 15 mins to go some guy tried to start singing the song and got glared at. However the "we hate Carlton" chant got great air time and plenty of volume, along with some handy gesturing.

Oh wow, I just watched the highlights video, and crowd noise was incredibly quiet compared to the commentators' voices. Wasn't like that at the ground at all.
primadonna commentators wouldn't have it any other way

Was the same at dreamtime last year. It's the crowded style of footy which makes it hard for forwards to make leads and take big marks which is boring the fans a bit.
First quarter was very dour.

It's because of that shit music they play that only finishes seconds before the bounce. You need silence for at least 1-2 minutes before the bounce for the crowd to switch back on to 'footy mode' and for a few insults and chants to start flowing.

the crowd was dead silent when we were down by 4 goals. not a peep.
Although the 2nd half when we were flying it was normal type of loud for a richmond game.
I remeber at the end of the game when the song was playing thinking there was a massive number of tigers supporters considering it was an away game and also considering most of the blues fans had been in their car for about 20mins. The stadium still looked 3/4 quarters full

It's kind of shit this thing with the home team controlling the PA and video screens after every goal. When Carlton got a goal we got this barrage of shit with some stupid stars (going backwards??) across the advertising siding and PA turned up to the max with some poxy soundtrack. Then Richmond get a goal and we get some lame green background. It's just ****ed up and feels like being at bloody Subi.

Even if we get to benefit from it at our home games i'll still think it's shit.

By the way I reckon it was easily a 60:40 split of Tiger to Blues fans. For a big 4 club they seem to be travelling backwards. I think they just don't like Malthouse and can't reconcile it properly. We had the same problem when we got Walls.

The home team now gets a huge "boost" with the lights display around the ground and through the big screens. It almost made you feel like you weren't welcome as the away team.
Will take a win over noise any day though!
Like it used to be in the old days when you were the visiting team to Vic Park,Windy Hil etc.....

Part of the new "match-day experience" at the G is noise-cancelling technology for the away team's fans.
How bad was the scoreboard thingo whenever Carlton got a goal? Other than it allowed me to loudly say "Oh yeah, I forgot they do that" when they kicked their first goal in 53 minutes.

Haha!

This is so true, mate of mine said the same thing. Was really getting too me early, when they were getting the goals.

the fact that the grog squad and the cheer squad were separated last night i was at the grog squad end was going off... but i think there is also the fact that when carlton kick a goal we all sit there thinking what if....

Was the same at dreamtime last year. It's the crowded style of footy which makes it hard for forwards to make leads and take big marks which is boring the fans a bit.
It's funny you say that. Richmond fans are now prepared for us to not show up in the dreamtime game, or to be run down by Carlton or to give us no hope against the pies/cats. This is also evidenced by Richmond fans tipping us to finish in the lower reaches of the 8(which is similar to neutrals) as opposed top 4 in previous years. It seems we aren't going into this season overconfident.

was there and yes seemed a little quitter not much but there the skum jumping us in the 1st quarter didn't help see what its like this week v doggies

It's kind of shit this thing with the home team controlling the PA and video screens after every goal. When Carlton got a goal we got this barrage of shit with some stupid stars (going backwards??) across the advertising siding and PA turned up to the max with some poxy soundtrack. Then Richmond get a goal and we get some lame green background. It's just stuffed up and feels like being at bloody Subi.

Even if we get to benefit from it at our home games i'll still think it's shit.

By the way I reckon it was easily a 60:40 split of Tiger to Blues fans. For a big 4 club they seem to be travelling backwards. I think they just don't like Malthouse and can't reconcile it properly. We had the same problem when we got Walls.
I ****ing hate all the crap that gets played at an eagles game.

The AFL really are trying to make it feel like a bloody Basketball game. I watched the Perth Wildcats play at the new Perth Arena in 2013...there was literally music or some sort of sound being played over the speakers for the entire game! It was annoying as hell. Made me want to drink more...

That noise when they kicked a goal....not sure what it was like elsewhere, but top deck of the ponsford it was painfully loud.

Generally though, the attempts by clubs to 'create atmosphere' pisses me off and takes away from the genuine atmosphere the crowd generates, which (unlike the canned stuff) varies with the match situation.

people canning Carlton for the bullshit razzamatazz need to realise all 18 clubs do it.
I took my 14-year-old daughter to her first game since she was 8 and even she just asked me "Dad, why don't they just concentrate on the footy?"

Until the AFL wake up that the 2 ingredients of "Match day experience" (a crap term - can't it just be a footy match?) are:

1) The actual match
2) The ability to talk and/or celebrate with the people you go to the footy with whether it be mates or family

then this game will continue to degenerate into an American-style bs type of game. Flashing lights all around the ground on the fences and scoreboard as well as blaring crap over the speakers all the time is NOT nor will ever be a match day experience.

One of the main reasons I won't go to one-day and 20/20 matches is all the things that distract from the reason I am there - to watch a game I love. The constant barrage on Thursday night did not enhance my enjoyment of the match but diminished it.