Adelaide Crows, Centrals
PORT
RESERVES - MARIC

EAGLES
SENIORS - STEVENS (chf), WATTS (hbf), BOCK (fb), KNIGHTS (hff)
RESERVES

SOUTH
SENIORS - VAN BERLO (hbf)

STURT
SENIORS - BEGLEY (fb)

NORWOOD
SENIORS - MASSIE (centre)
RESERVES - MEESSAN

No sign of Gibson in the ressies - is he injured?

NORTH
SENIORS - LADHAMS (rr)
RESERVES - NYE (hbf)

GLENELG
SENIORS - BODE (hf), ANDREWS (bench)
RESERVES - SCHUBACK, HINGE, KRUEGER

Other points worth noting -

Doug Robertson from The Advertiser mentioned there has been a lot of disunity at West and Norwood. Lots of unhappy players and bitching at both clubs.

Former Crow David Gallagher has been selected for the VFL squad that will play the SANFL.

I'm a bit surprised that Nye did not come in for North this week. With the retirement of Heuskes I thought that it would of been an ideal time to bring Nye into the backlines. He must be close to senior selection going on his form in the reserves so far this year.

Disappointing that Meesen has been dropped. A fair enough decision, looking at his stats. Hopefully he plays in the ruck and then forces his way back as a ruckman. The forward experiment hasn't worked so far.

As for Gibson, it wouldn't surprise me if he was dropped from reserves, going by his poor form from reports. But he isn't playing U19 so maybe he is injured. Just say for arguments sake he was dropped, would he be eligible for U19's? I've never heard of an AFL listed player playing at that level before.

**** said:
Disappointing that Meesen has been dropped. A fair enough decision, looking at his stats. Hopefully he plays in the ruck and then forces his way back as a ruckman. The forward experiment hasn't worked so far.

As for Gibson, it wouldn't surprise me if he was dropped from reserves, going by his poor form from reports. But he isn't playing U19 so maybe he is injured. Just say for arguments sake he was dropped, would he be eligible for U19's? I've never heard of an AFL listed player playing at that level before.

Very disappointing. All this talk of knighting James Fantassia for his contribution to the Adelaide Football Club was a little premature. :rolleyes:

**** said:

I am fairly certain AFL listed players are not eligable to play junior football. Others will probably know for certain but I think this is correct.

SpringChoke said:
Very disappointing. All this talk of knighting James Fantassia for his contribution to the Adelaide Football Club was a little premature. :rolleyes:

I think its also a bit early to be crucifying the bloke aswell. Its round 8, Meesen is in his first year of senior football, he is a tall everyone knows its going to take time.
We had to expect this, has a young ruckman ever come on the AFL scene and taken the football world by storm? No, it takes time, I am not saying Fantasia is a living god but I think we should give him and our young players some time to develop.

Blue Red and Gold said:
I think its also a bit early to be crucifying the bloke aswell. Its round 8, Meesen is in his first year of senior football, he is a tall everyone knows its going to take time.
We had to expect this, has a young ruckman ever come on the AFL scene and taken the football world by storm? No, it takes time, I am not saying Fantasia is a living god but I think we should give him and our young players some time to develop.
...exactly.......hopefully this injects some reality into people's INs: for the AFC each week.

Meesen is NOT ready to play AFL football.....I see his relegation to the Magoos as a way of getting him in the ruck which will help to protect his fitness base.

Looking over that list doesn't exactly fill me with confidence in terms of our depth! :eek:
You would have to say that Stevens, Bock, S. Stevens, Andrews, Krueger, Shuback, Bode, Ladhams, Massie & Begley are all doubtful for next year. We seem to have the kids, the seniors and not much in between, does this tell us something about our player development over the last few years???? No wonder we moved heaven & Earth to get Stewart into this role! Let's just hope like hell it works.

DJ75 said:
Looking over that list doesn't exactly fill me with confidence in terms of our depth! :eek:
You would have to say that Stevens, Bock, S. Stevens, Andrews, Krueger, Shuback, Bode, Ladhams, Massie & Begley are all doubtful for next year. We seem to have the kids, the seniors and not much in between, does this tell us something about our player development over the last few years???? No wonder we moved heaven & Earth to get Stewart into this role! Let's just hope like hell it works.

Not to mention Clarke who will probably also retire.

Hope there's a clean out at the end of the year.

Blue Red and Gold said:
How can this be true - drakeyv2 has been telling us every week he should be playing for the Crows :rolleyes:

Hopefully he can spend a fair time rucking in the magoos and devlop some confidence. I'd rather him playing some good games than being a 'bit' player in the SANFL seniors.

Fergus said:
How can this be true - drakeyv2 has been telling us every week he should be playing for the Crows :rolleyes:

Obviously some are not as informed as others.

DJ75 said:

Can't cull too many.

M. Stevens, M Clarke, S Stevens, Massie and Schuback

Bock, Bode, Ladhams & Begley VERY lucky, Krueger TBD.

Andrews a rookie so let's not consider him.

Kristof said:
Can't cull too many.

M. Stevens, M Clarke, S Stevens, Massie and Schuback

Bock, Bode, Ladhams & Begley VERY lucky, Krueger TBD.

Andrews a rookie so let's not consider him.

Also may depend on how Nye and Hinge go. If both get promoted at the end of the year because of good form, then we have a bit more scope to delist a few more.

If not, and we decide to keep them both on the rookie list for another year, then the cull may not be as big.

GoSarge said:
Also may depend on how Nye and Hinge go. If both get promoted at the end of the year because of good form, then we have a bit more scope to delist a few more.

If not, and we decide to keep them both on the rookie list for another year, then the cull may not be as big.

I reckon Nye is the only realistic chance of being upgraded at the end of the year. I strongly believe Hinge and Griffin especially need more time, but it has to be the best bunch of rookies we've had for a long time. :)

Gibson must be injured. Disappointing to see Meesen be dropped but it might be an AFC decision. It allows the Meese to ruck all day, develop his fitness base (which is very good already) as previously stated.

Once again thanks Jerome for the info. :)

Bockchoy67 said:
I reckon Nye is the only realistic chance of being upgraded at the end of the year. I strongly believe Hinge and Griffin especially need more time, but it has to be the best bunch of rookies we've had for a long time. :)

I wouldn't know personally and rely on the info provided by others. 2/3's of the seaon remains which is a long time though, so plenty of time for the rookies to show whether they have what it takes.

From all accounts Nye handles himself ok and will probably be upgraded at seasons end.

**** said:

I've seen him in the best players a few times this year. :confused:

DJ75 said:

Regardless of the perceived lack of depth in the Adelaide Football Club NC will only do 1 or 2 trades (as he doesn’t like the trading process) and delist 4 or 5 player if that, my guess it will be 2 or 3 rather than 4 or 5 players.

Early guesses would be
Chris Ladhams
Mathew Smith
Kris Massie

And the crows will trade
Jacob Schuback for a 4th or 5th round pick (late 40’s early 50’s) possibly Collingwood or Carlton who are looking at some younger kids

crows98 said:
Regardless of the perceived lack of death in the Adelaide Football Club NC will only do 1 or 2 trades (as he doesn’t like the trading process) and delist 4 or 5 player if that, my guess it will be 2 or 3 rather than 4 or 5 players.

Early guesses would be
Chris Ladhams
Mathew Smith
Kris Massie

And the crows will trade
Jacob Schuback for a 4th or 5th round pick (late 40’s early 50’s) possibly Collingwood or Carlton who are looking at some younger kids
Mate I'm not happy with our list either but........it's difficult to advocate euthanasia at this early stage....

:D :D

Mad Dog said:
Mate I'm not happy with our list either but........it's difficult to advocate euthanasia at this early stage....

:D :D

LMAO Bloody typos; kill you every time (no pun intended) :o

Was going to say, I thought I noticed it quickly as well

:) Really happy to see Krueger back playing if only in the reserves.

Only 7 games into the season, still a chance to resurrect his career (fingers crossed)

**** said:

I think the rule has changed because certain Luke Jericho who was in his first year of AFL footy went nuts in the finals and was just too dominant. The rule got changed for teh following year.

I wasnt surprised to see Meeson dropped to the reserves. From the three games i have seen him this year he has got no where near the ball but this is mainly due to him playing up forward. Meeson is not a forward at the moment, he should be played in the ruck (the position that he played when we recruited him). Hopefully he plays in the ruck in the reserves. Maybe a couple years down the track he might be able to become a forward but i think for now we should develop him in the ruck where he most comfortable. This kid will be a good player for the crows.

As for Gibson i think the way he has playing he could easily have been dropped to the under 19s if this was possible. The games i have seen him play he has looked dis-interested and does not work hard enough. He needs to play up the ground and get to more contests. I think he has the talent and size but i think he attitude is the biggest question. If he gets this right he can become a good player for the crows.

Its only early days with these two guys and Im sure both will develop into good players for the crows. Meeson is a terrific ruckman and Gibson has the ability to be a great key position player.